How We Got Prim

Slide1

Marriage can sometimes seem like a war, and many times the battle takes place at Compromise Creek, where really, compromise is the only solution.

A little give and a little take. And in the case of this post, a little puppy.

It got to the point where I would completely tune out whenever Sarabeth showed me puppy pictures from the Internet. I felt like a jerk, really – a cold-hearted monster. I mean, who doesn’t like puppies?

In my defense, I didn’t see the point in looking at a bunch of pictures of puppies if I can’t hold them and play with them. It’s like watching the Food Network – how can I enjoy it if I have no idea what all these great-looking foods even taste like?

For a while I was against the idea of getting another dog. I thought one should be sufficient. I love our dachshund Pixie, so why would we need another one?

So I finally broke one day and said, “Here’s the deal. If you find a dog you want, show her to me and we’ll discuss it. Until then, stop showing me dog pictures.”

And the deal was made. Of course, I was thinking she wasn’t going to find one. But, of course, I was wrong. So very wrong.

She found a blue and tan dachshund puppy and there was a list of people waiting to have her. I thought, I’ll look like the compromising good guy and agree to it. Chances are, someone else will get her. Mwah, ha, ha!

Two weeks later I mailed in our deposit, and the next week we were heading out into the country to pick up this little squirt I planned on having no attachment with.

I didn’t really connect with her on the drive back, as I was focussing on getting home before dark, but Sarabeth certainly made a connection with Prim in her lap for two hours.

My connection with Prim came when I took her out to the grass for the first time and she peed – outside. And then she followed me, bouncing and tripping and stumbling over the grass.

Then I was hooked. And I’m sure I’ll never be the same.

I’m pretty bad at this, but it’s kind of like this with God. We can’t make a connection with Him just by reading the Bible or going to church. We also need to pray, and take the effort to communicate with Him.

I think the greatest compromise of all time was when He said, “I’ll die for you, if you’ll just talk to Me. Connect with Me.”

Also, if your spouse ever wants a dog, don’t say no. Just give a little, and a little puppy will give a lot back …hopefully in the grass.

Check out Sarabeth’s blogs for more pictures of Prim: The Dachshund Blog and From Flats to Lofts

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

5 Responses to How We Got Prim

  1. PigLove says:

    Snorts – daddy felt the same way with me until mom brought me home and I was snorting all over the place. Now, it’s like I’ve been here forever. XOXO – Bacon

  2. Pingback: Welcome to new friends: Andrew and Sarabeth Toy adoptingjames | | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!

  3. Pingback: Perspective | adoptingjames

  4. Pingback: Morning Demons | adoptingjames

  5. Pingback: The End of the Vacation | adoptingjames

Leave a Reply

