The Greatest Action Movie Ever (My Top 10 Movies No. 5)

All right men, and women who want to make your men happy, pay attention to this post. So far in my list of top ten movies, I don’t have action flicks listed. I have pointed out favorites of mine such as 127 HoursCatch Me if You CanFinding Neverland, Cinderella Man… all biopics for the most part.

But every now and then my testosterone overcomes me and I need to watch a movie charged with adrenaline and explosions. But I’m still me, and I demand a good story to accompany the action. I’m not much of a Fast and Furious kind of guy, nor do I give a rip about James Bond and all his glacier-surfing and ridiculous hijinks.

Growing up, I absolutely was hooked on the Lethal Weapon series with Mel Gibson and Danny Glover. Despite the violence and ultra-multiple use of the F-word, I still haven’t been able to bring myself to get rid of them. I doubt I ever will, to be honest.

But as far as the best action movie I’ve ever seen in my life? Hands down it’s Mission: Impossible III. Hear me out, you skeptics and Tom Cruise haters. Just give me two minutes to convince you to watch it.

mission_impossible_iii_xlg

I can do (and have done) without the first Mission: Impossible movie. Didn’t hate it, but didn’t care for it either. The second one, however, was a complete insult to my intelligence and to this day, I have considered it one of the worst movies I’ve ever seen.

Needless to say, it took a looooot of convincing to get me to see M:I-III. 

The genius of the movie is that it takes no more than 59 seconds to hook you. M:I-III is the great J.J. Abrams’s big screen debut as a director. He pulled a Christopher Nolan (Dark Knight trilogy) and completely disregarded the franchise’s previous two entries and started fresh.

The villan, played by the ultra-talented Phillip Seymour Hoffman, is a total and complete joy to watch, as he commands your attention in every single shot he’s in, as usual. And Tom Cruise’s Ethan Hunt is extremely likable and relatable.

And not being one to get all drooly and ga-ga over sleek technology or fictional weaponry, I’ve got to say, this movie has some really clever espionage toys.

Since its release in 2006, I have yet to see an action film that compares to this one (though admittedly, I don’t watch many), but its follow-up, Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol, comes dangerously close (directed by Pixar’s Brad Bird).

So stay cool in the house this week, pull up M:I-III (and Ghost Protocol) on Netflix and settle in for one amazing, intense ride.

Rated PG-13 for intense sequences of frenetic violence and menace, disturbing images and mild sensuality

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

One Response to The Greatest Action Movie Ever (My Top 10 Movies No. 5)

  1. belsbror says:

    Yes. Great movies, all 4 Mission Impossible(s). 😀
    What do you think of Angelina Jolie’s Salt? Happy watching.

Leave a Reply

