What I Learned From Michael Scott

969352_559944844057684_817672203_nOn March 25, 2005, Jerry Seinfeld, Tim Allen, and the cast of Friends stepped out of sight of adoring fans to make room for the newest addition of what would become a multi-Emmy-winning sitcom, unlike any the United States had ever seen before. And it would continue for nine years, taking its final bow on May 15, 2013.

Admittedly, NBC’s The Office has been lagging for the past two years, but being diehard fans of the show, the Toy household is still sad to bid farewell. With the season finale airing tonight, I thought it would be appropriate to tip our hats to this prime time phenomenon.

I’d like to point out that with Michael Scott being the heartbeat of the show, I think it’s fair to say the show died the night he left us with the words, “Let me know if this ever airs.” The last two years have been merely a memorial service, trying to recapture the life that once existed, like harnessing the ghost of a once-lively person – but couldn’t. Some jokes given by the cast of eulogists were good, and many were bad. But tonight, we gather for the long-awaited burial.

I hope and expect to use up every hankie in the house.

I’m not ashamed that I think Michael Scott is one of the most depth-filled, widely developed, funniest TV characters of all time. (Okay, truth be told, if Sarabeth would let me, I would have a poster of him hanging up in our bedroom.) But just because you’re funny doesn’t mean you’re bright. And so, in honor of the show’s ending, I thought it would be fun to take a look back and remember some good times with the world’s best boss.

(Forgive me if this seems out of place on my blog, but I just can’t help paying homage to my favorite show. Office fans, read,  remember, and laugh.)

WHAT I LEARNED FROM MICHAEL SCOTTMichael1

Don’t promise an entire class of kids that you’ll pay their college tuition until you have the funds to do so.

Don’t write an age-sensitive joke in a woman’s “bird-day” card.

Don’t conduct a meeting on obesity dressed in a fat suit.

If you’re going to fake-fire someone, make sure you have the punch-line right. (“You’ve been X’d, punk!”)

You can’t declare bankruptcy by yelling it.

Giving mouth-to-mouth resuscitation to a dead bird does nothing.

Clear it with your boss before you announce in front of the whole company what branch is closing down.

Don’t invite your friends/colleagues over to a dinner party if you’re forced to sleep at the end of the bed in your own house.

Don’t hold a roast in honor of yourself. It actually might hurt your feelings.

It is, in fact, a “dog-eat-dog” world, not a “doggie-dog” world.

Abraham Lincoln never said, “I will attack you with the north.” (Though it has long been our favorite Lincolnian saying in our house.)

If the building is presumptuously on fire, and you’re a man, and the manager, don’t be the first one to run outside like a frightened little girl.

If you’re going to a job fair to represent a paper company, you might want to have some paper with you.

Don’t hold the pizza delivery guy hostage just so you can get your discount.

Watch out for indoor ponds.

Goodbye Office. We will miss you and forever continue to watch your DVD’s.

Feel free to add your own favorite Office moments.

[Image Credit]

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

6 Responses to What I Learned From Michael Scott

  1. deshipley says:

    I never watched a full episode of the show, but every glimpse I caught of Michael Scott (while waiting for whatever program was coming when “The Office” went off at the turn of the hour) made me laugh. Some characters you don’t even need to know, you can just tell they’re great.

  2. Toby Flenderson was the best part of the show…FALSE. The relationship between Jim and Dwight was the best! Loved the pranks. What kind of bear is best? Black bear. Bears eat beets. The show will be missed!

  3. pinkbekah says:

    The Office did indeed take a dive when Michael Scott left, but I think this last season has been great, especially the past few episodes.

  4. shopdelightfullysweet says:

    I definitely tip my hat to this post! “The Office” holds so many great memories for me from college (the last birthday i spent with my college roommate we did an Office-themed bday party, complete with camera guy! she looks just like Pam, she played her and everyone else was casted accordingly!), though I always say I’m not “big into tv.” I heartily agree with the beginning of this post how the show went down hill. I was majorly bummed with this season, but had to give it some viewing time for nostalgia-sake! Another great post!

  5. Pingback: “There’s a Lot of Beauty in Ordinary Things” | adoptingjames

Leave a Reply

