President Obama Adresses Planned Parenthood

plannedparenthoodI try to stay quiet on political issues on this blog, but there are just a few things that I cannot stay quiet about. Besides, it’s not hard for any regular follower to read between the lines on where I stand on many issues.

Last week President Obama took the initiative to be the first sitting president to address the controversial industry, Planned Parenthood.

He opened up commending Planned Parenthood’s historic standing as the first health clinic nearly one hundred years ago in Brooklyn, New York. (I suppose it would have been an ill-fitted reminder that Planned Parenthood was founded by a Nazi sympathizer who wanted to do away with the “black” and “yellow” peril. So I won’t hold that against him.)

He stated that Planned Parenthood has one core principle, and that is that women should be allowed to make their own decision about health.

He’s partially right, there. Women should have just as much right as men to make their own decisions about health.

Every person, man or woman, should have a right to check-ups and medical exams and, if needed, proper medical treatment. And every person does have a right, as well as accessibility – even outside of Planned Parenthood.

I understand that these things cost money, and oft-times lots of it. That’s why my wife and I save, and don’t spend frivolously, so that we have the money to go to the doctor if need be. You should check out her newest blog post about great ways to build a savings. But, unfortunately, many people believe we not only have the right to healthcare, but rather, free healthcare.

Don’t get me wrong. I applaud the cancer screenings, the counselors (hesitantly), and that insurance can no longer deny coverage because of preexisting conditions through Planned Parenthood. These are good things, and I do recognize that our healthcare system, even before Obamacare, has been seriously flawed.

Planned Parenthood provides these great services, but what is at the core of their industry?

President Obama, in his speech, never once used the word “abortion.” Instead, he replaced it with “contraceptives” at least seven times, and at the very least made two other very clear pro-abortion references (to which one of them received an overwhelming applause out of the blue) in the twelve minutes he spoke.

I dare him and Planned Parenthood supporters to use the word abortion in their talk of “birth control” and “contraceptives.” I’m not even asking that they call it murder.

I’m just asking them to call it what it is. Abortion.

Termination. Of life.

Of rights.

Termination of the right to life.

According to the president, one out of five women turn to Planned Parenthood for healthcare. For many of them, it is their primary healthcare. He pleaded for “more young women … more college students to come through [Planned Parenthood’s] doors.”

So why, then, if Planned Parenthood provides free healthcare, would the president pass a law that people shall remain on their parent’s healthcare until they’re 26?

Someone should look into that.

Planned Parenthood and like institutions not only offer the services of the termination of babies, they provide life-long guilt and regret.

They rob the world of would-be greats. (Did you know Steve Jobs was almost aborted?)

They rob prospective parents of a child. (I believe the answer to saving lives is more people making their voices heard through adoption.)

This is the institution our president swore will never go away, and he will stand beside as president of the United States in every way he can. One news analyst commented that President Obama supports Planned Parenthood more than any other institution in the country.

After a few vicious jabs at the Conservative party and their efforts to stop abortion (so much for doing away with party lines, huh?), President Obama said of the current president of Planned Parenthood, Cecile Richards, “It’s the only organization she’s been at where her opponents literally get up every day trying to figure out how to keep her from doing her work.”

Count me in as one of them.

Cut the defense budget. Americans will have enough after another attack.

Keep spending our money on frivolous things. Though it will be painful, America can pay it off.

But the buck stops here at abortion. On this I cannot stay silent.

Can you?

If not, then the question I raise to you is,

What do we do?

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

24 Responses to President Obama Adresses Planned Parenthood

  1. Elisabeth says:

    YEESSS!!! Our president and Planned Parenthood’s disregard for the sanctity of life is sickening. President Obama cried publicly over the 23 lives lost at New Hope, yet never even mentions the 3,000+ unborn children murdered every day in perfectly legal abortions. Our society picks and chooses who gets the right to live and yet we somehow think we are m

  2. Elisabeth says:

    Sorry, bumped the “post” button too soon. What I meant to say is:

    Our society picks and chooses who gets the right to even be born and yet we somehow think we are more “advanced,” “civilized,” and “humane” than the ancient cultures who practiced human sacrifice and crucifixion.

    The question of what to do about it is simultaneously simple and complicated. We need to change how this culture views life, but that will not happen until major changes are made in how we act, think, and regard ourselves and, more importantly, others.

  3. TechChucker says:

    I find it amazing that pro-abortion folks don’t seem to think that keeping it in your pants is a choice. That apparently isn’t a choice adults are capable of making, but choosing to end an emerging life is.

    • It’s true. To them, it’s a right, not a privilege. To many, it’s even expressed as a need. So abstinence is not an option to them, much less possible. So my question is, then what? What do we do? What do we say to them on the topic of abortion? How can we convince them to stop killing their children?

      • TechChucker says:

        No idea, they’ve dehumanized a baby in the womb. It’s a zygote or a fetus. I get that’s the scientific term, but it always becomes a human. So it’s still a human no matter what stage. I don’t know that we’ll ever be able to convince them otherwise. Those of us who believe it’s wrong are even being treated like we’re some new form of racist.

  4. lala1966 says:

    the sad thing is that In my experience, no matter how much we blog about these issues and the real reality about them, no one will read what a person has to say about abortion if they even have an inkling of the writer being against it. People that calloused don’t even allow themselves to realize what they are really standing for. The President has already shown that he bases his decisions on what liberal organization and people are calling for, not for what is best for America!

    • You’re absolutely right. I was very hesitant to write this post to begin with for that very reason. (I lost a bunch of followers today because of this post, lol.) We can post, write, blog, shout, all we want. But the truth is, they have their mind made up. So what then, as I asked the previous blogger, do we do? What options do we have? What pro-life muscles are there for us to flex or work out?

      • lala1966 says:

        I don’t know what we can do. I have been thinking about that for a long time. I say let’s keep writing about it. Let’s keep the real facts about what an abortion is in their faces and pray. ♥

  5. deshipley says:

    I’d like to know at what magical age we become human beings with rights and choices worth protecting. If not at conception, if not once we have a heartbeat, if not once we’re born, then when? I’m not sure who our president and Planned Parenthood think they’re pandering to, but I do not feel protected. I feel like they view my life as cheap, to be exploited or terminated at their convenience. Maybe — *maybe* — they have themselves fooled. But not me.

  6. mpbuzzard says:

    In response to TechChucker and this blog post: I believe that NO ONE is “pro abortion.” I think the words we use in this discussion are important because the discussion itself is. Even the women who do choose to have an abortion do not identify with this term. “Pro choice” is a more accurate phrase; I would stretch so far as to say that the majority of women did/do not want to have abortions, but felt perhaps obligated, pressured, etc to have one. Most women do not have abortions because they “want” to; “pro abortion” implies this “want.” Having one goes against a lot of maternal instincts that some women choose to ignore for various reasons. Therefore, “pro abortion” is a misnomer. If we are intelligent in the words we use, we can bring intelligent ideas to light in this topic like our blogger has.

    • Would you continue to call them “Pro Choice?” Or rather, according to your *I believe* accurate summary of pro-choice’ true opinions, what do you think would be best to call them?

    • MishaBurnett says:

      I think it’s safe to say that an industry that makes a billion dollars a year from aborting children in “pro-abortion”. They don’t make money from selling a “choice”, they make money from selling an abortion.

      • mpbuzzard says:

        I think that an “industry that makes a billion dollars a year from aborting children” does not quite encompass “Planned Parenthood” which, though providing abortions, provides myriad other services as well. True, that a company or an industry could potentially be “pro abortion.” But companies and industries are different from the individual. I suppose I was speaking personally, individually in response to Techchuckers previous comment about “pro abortion folks,” and how I feel like “pro abortion” is a misnomer. I agree with the idea that he is making, though the way in which he says it is not quite right. “I find it amazing that pro-abortion folks don’t seem to think that keeping it in your pants is a choice.” That doesn’t quite line up, right? I absolutely think that “keeping it in your pants” is a choice while simultaneously identifying with the term “pro choice” (emphatically not! pro abortion) I am haggling over semantics, true, but semantics are important in this case. (In a similar vein, I think that Obama’s omission of the word “abortion” is telling of our culture, and our fear of words and their power to offend. So what if the word “abortion” offends, call it what it is.) So, yes, I do think that “pro choice” is more accurate. Notice that (pro) choice and (pro) life are not opposites. “Pro Choice” encompasses some of the gray area involved in this discussion that Techchucker conveniently eliminates in his illogical comment. I will continue to use the phrase that I identify with. However, in using it, I am not so ignorant to think that Techchucker will change the phrase that he identifies with, and I do not wish that. I believe that a person should use the words that they choose. I was trying to outline this idea (perhaps unsuccessfully) in my previous comment. So, after all that, use the words that you choose; my comments have simply been a way for me to explain my disagreement.

      • MishaBurnett says:

        Interesting, though, how abortion is the only “choice” issue out there. Someone, like me, who chooses not to own a firearm but supports other people’s choice to do so isn’t considered “pro-choice” on guns. Someone who believes that marijuana should be legal but doesn’t think that everyone should be required to smoke it isn’t considered “pro-choice” on drugs. Someone who believes that no one should be forced to hire someone based on a racial quota isn’t considered “pro-choice” on affirmative action.

        When you say “choice” you mean “abortion”. It’s just a euphemism, and it’s a misleading one. You aren’t in favor of allowing the child the choice to live.

    • dmhenry says:

      http://www.abortioncarenetwork.org/news/pro-abortion…with-a-heart
      http://www.deeplyproblematic.com/2009/07/i-am-pro-abortion-not-pro-choice.html
      http://www.tumblr.com/tagged/pro%20abortion

      And there are more. There are lots of people who are pro-abortion. These examples are people who simply think using a euphemism is like admitting there is something awful about abortion, but there are others out there who literally think abortion is wonderful and that it’s not at all tragic, nor should it be hard.

      • mpbuzzard says:

        @Mishaburnett: “When you say “choice” you mean “abortion”. It’s just a euphemism, and it’s a misleading one. You aren’t in favor of allowing the child the choice to live.” This is an interesting, and vaguely accusatory statement. When I say “choice” I mean choice, though you are right, not the child’s. Of course not the child’s. Because a baby in the womb does not have the brain power to choose at all. If it knew it were going to be born addicted to heroine, or with a violently abusive dad, or all the other horrible scenarios you could fathom, do you think that it would still choose to live? Maybe, I don’t know. This is an interesting train of thought to me that no one will know the answer to. I digress. I will be crass, for a moment though, and throw out the popular saying “Mother knows best,” to ponder. Why do we use this cliche? I am absolutely not afraid to use the term “abortion.” I realize that “choice” and “abortion” are two different concepts. I also have not stated the IDEAS that I am in favor of, or against; making that assumption about someone you don’t know, across a comment thread on the internet is brash. Maybe I agree wholeheartedly with you, maybe I am playing devil’s advocate to get the wheels turning. I am speaking directly to the terms and the language we (everyone) use(s) in this discussion on what I think is a very simple level. I do not agree with the TERM “pro abortion” for previous stated reasons. It is interesting (and thank you Dmhenry for this) that the one of the “pro abortion” websites, (http://www.deeplyproblematic.com/2009/07/i-am-pro-abortion-not-pro-choice.html) the lady who is writing states that she has never had an abortion. Perhaps she would not be “pro abortion” if she had been through one. Or perhaps she still would, that is speculation. The first website,(http://www.abortioncarenetwork.org/news/pro-abortion) makes it a point to include this: “Where women who choose abortion, and those that provide care, are no longer harassed or shamed by the choices they make. We recognize that true choice includes parenting, abortion, and adoption.” Notice the selection of the words “choose” and “choice.” So yes, I will concede that there are people out there that are “pro abortion,” but I am not one of them; I am “pro choice.” (Though, Misha, “pro choice” is not the term we as a society use for marijuana, and guns, etc, it is indeed what I am, and what you are if you…[what would you rather I say?] support people’s right to choose to smoke, or own and shoot guns) In pointing this out, however, it seems pertinent to the argument that terms not be confused with one another. Ideas without language can hardly be considered ideas at all.

  7. When I was a child I loved to visit the maternity floor at the hospital and look at the newborn babies. Then I moved on to another area. They had on display premature babies in jars in different stages of growth. It fascinated me to look at the tiny fingers and closed eyes, then move on to see the babies grow larger and more “life like.” Today such display would be considered barbaric. I am not advocating for such a display but I did know what a baby looked like in the womb. I never doubted it was a child.Abortion has become such a charged word even the abortion folks don’t like to say it.

  8. dmhenry says:

    This may seem like a defeatist attitude, but the pro-aborts are going to win. They already have actually, and it’s not going to get better. Here in Canada abortion is unrestricted up birth. That means if my baby was born today, killing it yesterday was not murder. At least you aren’t that bad in the US. And if you take prophecy seriously, it’s only one of many, many ways that society is going to go into the trash can. By all means, fight it. Just know that it will only get better when evil is removed once and for all from the planet.

  9. You’re so right and it’s so sad. We have to eat this elephant one bite at a time. Start with the women even if we can save one life, change one mind!

  10. Sarah says:

    In response to the original question of “what do we do?” I believe that we must start with love. And I don’t mean that in a warm-fuzzies-“it’s okay!” kind of way, exactly. Just–I know women who have had abortions, and they wrestle with that guilt, and they keep it hidden, because they are afraid what a pro-lifer will say if they find out.

    I don’t know; my thoughts are a little vague. But I do think that far too often, pro-lifers are viewed (and portrayed) as selfish women-haters who don’t believe in showing support to single mothers or poor people. So often I come across the inane argument of “pro-life people only care about babies in the womb; once they’re born, they’re on their own!”

    So I guess what I’m getting at through this rambling is that while legislative action is good, reaching out to those around us, helping to care for single mothers, supporting those who seek to adopt, providing support for pregnant mothers, and speaking kindly and with love–I think that those things are things that we can all do, every day, where we are, and that those things can help women see that choosing life for their baby will not mean choosing poverty and isolation for themselves.

  11. Reblogged this on Cozy Books and commented:
    Yes. I agree with this in its entirety. I do not condemn people who have had abortions, because I know that they will have to live with their decisions and I think that is enough. The right to life is one that should not be violated or trifled with–ever. I try to remain politically anonymous online because I don’t want to offend, but I do not really care about offending on this issue. Life is a blessing and we should value it. Always.

Leave a Reply

