Pee, Puppies, and God

photoThey had it. They had my trust.

Then they lost it.

And I had it.

I had had enough. It was time to start locking them up again.

We have three dachshunds living with us. One of them, the small red one, is Pixie. She’s ours, and just turned four.

The other two, Roxy (black) and Sydney (chocolate), are on loan from Sarabeth’s sister and brother-in-law who are missionaries in a country that frowns on dogs. So, for their mortal safety, they left their most cherished possessions in our care.

The neighbors think we’re nuts. And it’s not like these are timid, quiet pups. These dogs, all three of them, bark at every wind-blown leaf that crosses their path. Once they start, there’s no stopping them.

Not only that, but Pixie has a grass allergy, so to prevent rashes from growing on her tummy, she has to wear a onesie. (And a doggie-sweater for the winter).

Yup.

We’re those neighbors. Step aside, smelly old cat lady! The Toys have one-uped you!

Can you imagine just trying to get to your car to go to work each morning and the neighbor’s dogs are barking hysterically at you – some dressed in clothes, others simultaneously pooping – as if you were the freak?

Well, there they are. Our three Musketeers. The three Amigos. Larry, Curly and Mo. Ready to bark at a moment’s notice, then scamper away in terror if you get too close.

Ridiculous.

Well, every time Sarabeth and I left the house together, we’d lock them up. I hated photo-3doing that, especially when we all know the sun was about to shine through the windows. Man, how they love that sun beam! Who am I to take that away from them?

One day, I decided to leave them out of their cages for a trial run, and see how they do.

By and by, they had earned my trust, and we rarely, if ever, came home to pee or poop on the floor.

There was no more need to lock them up when we left the house. I declared them free dogs.

Until our schedules got a little different. Suddenly, we weren’t just leaving the house to go to work or to church. Other things came up, job schedules changed, I was needed for book tours and signings.

And the dogs retaliated.

Sometimes we’d come home to not one, but two or three separate pee spots. (And I prayed they hadn’t pooped and that it was no longer there to be cleaned.)

I had had it. They had lost their privilege. They could no longer be left out when we leave the house.

It breaks my heart every time I have to lock them up, because I know that they’re choosing this. It’s their decision to lose out on their freedom.

And every time I lock them up, I’m reminded: What kinds of freedoms and privileges have I lost because of my disobedience to God? In what ways does His heart break when He must discipline me?

We’re all locked up in some way or another, because we’ve left broken hearts and broken promises throughout our lives. We’ve abused power and our freedom.

But at least I know God isn’t giddy about our loss of freedom. He’s hurt.

I believe He’s willing to work with us to grow us and shape us and help us mature so that we just might be able to earn different blessings and privileges from Him.

Let’s start picking up after our own messes, and maybe we’ll regain trust with people and God.

Check out more of our dogs on Sarabeth’s blog, thedachshundblog.

photo-1

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

3 Responses to Pee, Puppies, and God

  1. mrhugo2013 says:

    Haha that is hilarious! I have three dogs and people think I’m mad 🙂 Gotta love them though even through the pee and the poo!

  2. swamiyesudas says:

    Highly appreciate Your bringing out the ideas that we are Responsible for our actions, and that we Hurt God by our misdeeds. But.

    Your saying: ‘they’re choosing this. It’s their decision to lose out on their freedom,’ Highly questionable, at least from the Christian point of view. And You have compounded it by prefixing it with ‘I know.’ Animals having the Freedom of Choice?

    Their peeing and pooing extra under the circumstances show their Anxiety. It could be compounded with Anger, of course.

    You have used a ready example. If You would say, ‘It almost seems as if they are choosing…’ etc, then it would be both Good and Right.

    Regards.

Leave a Reply

