Dressing Up

sm_0027This last weekend, I had the privilege of attending the famous Con Nooga Convention in Chattenooga, Tennessee as a guest author promoting my book, The Man in the Box, and serving on several different discussion panels giving advise to aspiring authors.

It was a great time. So a big thanks to my publisher Blackwyrm for sending me there on their dime and ticket.

The target crowd was mostly sci-fi/fantasy audiences. I was surrounded by Star Wars booths and replicated Dr. Who phone booths (no pun intended), and Walking Dead paraphernalia. There were a lot of life-sized, fully-working R2D2 droids gliding around. I of course put in a word for the engineers  to get a Wall-E robot next year so I’d feel a bit more at home. Regardless, I was still pleased to see that many people were interested in my book. I sold quite a few copies!

Anyway, I’ve always seen pictures of people dressing up to go to the opening night of certain movie franchises. Perhaps you’ve even stood in line next to an Elf as you waited to get in to see a Peter Jackson movie. I remember having to look over a pirate hat to watch one of the Pirate of the Caribbean movies.

I always thought dressing up was all just fun and games.

But apparently the people who dress up take it seriously.

Very, very seriously.

And I couldn’t figure out why for the longest time.

I had been asked more than once over the weekend if I ever dress up. (Apparently my ironed button up and fitted jeans didn’t convince them that I was of a different planet from them.) But one person asked, “Why not?”

I just sort of shrugged and said, “I was never one to even dress up for Halloween.” (I always liked Jim Halpert’s costumes the best.)

And then this person asked a question that made me realize why people dress up.

“You’ve never been so inspired by someone or something that you feel like if you can just look like them for one day, you might just get to feel like that person you most admire?”

I considered this, then thought that I probably wouldn’t be so cool dressing up as George Washington.

“Aren’t you just that passionate about anything?” This person asked.

That conversation got me thinking.

“Clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ.”

Romans 13:14.

We’re supposed to be dressing up like Him every day.

I might not ever don the cape of a Jedi or go grocery shopping dressed as Batman, but I am commanded to dress like Jesus every day. 

I’m supposed to act like Him. Talk like Him. I’m supposed to be “so inspired by Him that I feel like if I could just look like Him for one day, I might just get to feel like that Man I most admire.”

Don’t I admire Him enough to act like Him?

I don’t know that I do, sometimes.

A lot of times I want to be Andrew.

And more times than that I want to be somebody else. Like maybe Martin Riggs or John McClane because of their guts, or Bill Gates because of his money, or George Washington because of his character.

Sarabeth’s sister suggested a while ago that we all dress up as characters from The Hunger Games when we go to see Catching Fire this fall. And as out of our element as that is, we actually considered it for a second. (Imagine me, with blue lipstick and tinted blue hair and big shiny teeth!)

But how often do I get up in the mornings and think, “I’m going to be like Jesus today”?

I don’t think I do that very often. And that’s what usually gets me into a lot of trouble.

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.” Colossians 3:12

[Image Credit]

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

5 Responses to Dressing Up

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Great post, thanks for the perspective and inspiration – I needed it today.

  2. ocelot81 says:

    Cool, I almost live in Chattanooga once I was there for 2 weeks and I really like that small town 🙂

  3. Congratulations on the new book!

Leave a Reply

