Seeking Artist for Children’s Book

0842.StickFigure_StandingI wrote a children’s book complete with stick-figure drawings, which you’ll have a chance to look at in a moment. I’m seeking a publisher or agent to get it printed and published, but in order to really sell it, I need an artist to do the artwork. If anyone is interested (publishers, agents, artists), please email me at adoptingjames@aol.com.

Below I have pasted the manuscript which you are all welcome to look at. Please feel free to leave some feedback, keeping in mind that I might send publishers to this post to see if there is enough interest built up to make this book marketable.

The Giving Tree was one of my favorite picture books growing up. So it makes sense that if I’m going to make my own children’s book, it would be inspired by Shel Silversteen’s masterpiece. I’m not much of an illustrator, so stick-figures is really the best I can do. But since we’re all about stories here, this little story can’t be told without pictures. Check out A Warm Cup of String by Andrew Toy.

[Image Credit]

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

10 Responses to Seeking Artist for Children’s Book

  1. Abigail voss says:

    I really liked this story. I would have liked to see Jacob try harder to get through to the other side every time the boundary changed though to show kids that some things are worth fighting for. Maybe he tried to push through the hedge but some birds pecked him back or tried to leap the fence but got splinters etc. I also thought the ending was a bit abrupt. Maybe it just needs a ‘and they forgot to fight anymore’ type sentence or something.

    • I thought about having Jacob try to cross with different obstacles in his way, but then I thought it would have made it too long. We’ll see – that would be a nice touch, I think. And I’ll have to see what I can come up with for a more final last sentence. Thanks.

  2. I really like it. I agree that perhaps Jacob should try and cross a little harder, or perhaps mention how Trevor reacted to Jacob – he built more and more boundaries and then they are quite abruptly friends again. I like how the ending kind of mirrors the start though. I also may know an illustrator, I shall talk to her about your book 🙂

  3. grannyK says:

    I had a little different take on it. I thought Jacob wanted to make amends, but was just stubborn enough to NOT try too hard. He was sad and was hoping Trevor would make more of an effort, too. I know people who hate a situation they are in but are just bull-headed enough to not give the proper effort to make things right. A lot of us want to be right and hate to admit we might have been wrong. I really do like the story!

  4. tlee81 says:

    I’ve got a friend who might be interested! I just shared this page with your on FB.

  5. kindism says:

    I actually love your little stick figure drawings, but I understand that little children might expect a bit more.

  6. ByronGordon says:

    Don’t get me wrong – I love the story – but what age range are you shooting for? It almost seems a little heavy for little kids. Not a parent, just an uncle so take my less-informed opinion for what it is worth. The story is awesome though, and I’m a big fan of the stick drawings (that’s my art level too 🙂

    • I think it’s simple enough that pre-k’s can follow the story, but children books should be good enough to stick with us through adulthood (hence, The Giving Tree). So the deeper issues would be recalled later. Plus, I feel like it’s a good story to get parents and kids talking.

  7. oneintercessor says:

    There is a beauty in simplicity. Your drawings might be a huge hit. Try sending to a few companies and let them tell you you need better art… 🙂

Leave a Reply

