A New Service for Writers

Old book and penAuthors.

A different breed. Quieter than most in social settings, likely because they’re plotting more interesting stories in their heads.

Always analyzing things.

Angrier than most would get at a bad movie.

Socially awkward at times because they presume certain characteristics of individuals they’ve just met, based solely off their looks.

Talking or mumbling out loud when no one’s around.

Fast pacers.

A blank page, when seen by anyone else as ominous, is seen as a challenge to authors.

I know this, because I am one. I’ll often sit up in bed in the middle of the night mulling over an idea I’m trying to run with. This scares Sarabeth sometimes.

A topic about how we would survive an alien invasion is more interesting to me than who played at the Super Bowl.

I know what it’s like to be an author.

“I want to write this, but I don’t know if I should.”

“Am I the only one that likes this idea?”

“Where is this story going?”

If you’re an author, you’ve thought all of these thoughts and more. Being an author is daunting. I know for me, the question that haunted me the most was, “Will anybody like this book besides me?”

Authors are (or should be) inventors of stories and ideas. Do you think the guys who invented the naked troll dolls or the Gia plants ever wondered if their ideas would catch on? I’m sure they did. Just like every author.

When I finished my first book, The Man in the BoxI was almost skeptical to lend it to family members and loved ones to look over because I knew their opinions would be biased.

And authors – serious authors – ought not to seek biased opinions. We need criticism, hard as it may be to swallow. Sometimes we need someone to read our partial manuscripts and stop us from continuing the mess. Or at least someone to tell us where the story took its drastic detour.

We also need encouragement if we’re writing something promising. We need affirmation and direction. In short, we need a coach – an unbiased opinion of our story and a back-seat driver who tells us to slow down or speed up or turn right or abandon the trip altogether.

I am adding a new service to my existing editing services. You can find the information here. In short, I will read your manuscript and coach you on how to make it better, tell you what’s missing, why it’s lagging, what can be improved upon, or be your cheerleader and suggest agents and publishers for you to contact. I’ll even help you form that query letter you keep getting rejections from – I know how daunting that can be.

So check out the information here, and email me if you’re interested in me taking a look at your work. I look forward to hearing from you!

adoptingjames@aol.com

[Image Credit]

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

5 Responses to A New Service for Writers

  1. Mike Limon says:

    Hi Andrew! Great post. You have written what most of us are thinking. One thing that I always ask myself is would I be interested in reading what I just wrote? If so, then I believe I have just written something worthwhile. I have this urge to get the words out of my head, and to put them on paper. To me, that is very gratifying. Thank you for offering this service. I am sure that it will help many writers.

  2. kenyanvoice says:

    Well put there. it is like you were right there in my head.

  3. Lovely post I’ve been thinking of picking up the pen again officially and not just micro blog worthy stuff — I’m a former playwright and short story writer. I say former only because those passions were briefly overshadowed by obsession with photography. I’ve been trying to figure out just how to incorporate them both without feeling I need to give up on. I do have an idea in the works and will need to put word to paper. I will be contacting you shortly! Cheers.

  4. Reblogged this on Getting to Know Danielle Benji and commented:
    I thought I would re-blog this for those who can use it as well as myself.

Leave a Reply

