A Chilling Christmas

First off, thank you to everyone who downloaded a free copy of my bookThe Man in the Box, yesterday! We gave away 600 e-books in the last three days! If you missed out on the free e-book give away, you can still get it here and help us reach our goal of 1600 by 2013! Please… keep spreading the word about it, and if you’ve read it, let me know your thoughts and post a short review on Amazon.

img04Sarabeth and I are reading A Christmas Carol together. This is the fourth consecutive year we’ve tried to do this, but this time I think we’re actually going to make it, now that we’ve made communal reading a regular habit throughout 2012! I’ve read it several times and I’ve got to say, it’s still one of the best books that has ever been written.

While A Christmas Carol focusses on the kind and charitable acts we can bestow upon each other, it, in some ways points us to the little scene in Bethlehem where God sent His most precious gift to us to save the lost and one day redeem the earth.

A perfect time for us to ponder over the good we’ve done for others (or lack thereof).

Not that our good deeds earn our ticket to Heaven or make God want to hug flowers and frolic through fields of lilac. But they still might mean the world to those “fellow travelers to the grave.”

Ponder this eerie passage from A Christmas Carol which haunts me even through spring and summer, and has kept me up some nights.

(Scrooge has just been visited by Marley’s Ghost – not the dog. He has been warned that he will be visited by three spirits in hopes that he might change his ways. Marley flees the room through Scrooge’s window and he follows. He looked out…)

The air was filled with phantoms, wandering hither and thither in restless haste, and moaning as they went. Every one of them wore chains like Marley’s Ghost; some few (they might be guilty governments) were linked together; none were free. Many had been personally known to Scrooge in their lives. He had been quite familiar with one old ghost, in a white waistcoat, with a monstrous iron safe attached to its ankle, who cried piteously at being unable to assist a wretched woman with an infant, whom it saw below, upon a doorstep. The misery with them all was, clearly, that they sought to interfere, for good, in human matters, and had lost the power forever. 

Think about it. We, right now, as living, breathing people, are not as powerless as we think. And one of those powers that each of us has been bestowed with is the power to help others.

Please share your thoughts of this haunting passage in the comments below. How does it make you feel like Christmas? Does it inspire you or scare you? How so? And, please share with us your favorite movie version of A Christmas Carol (we’ve all got one!).

Please help us reach our goal to foster-to-adopt by joining our campaign: 2016 by 2013.

[Image Credit]

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

7 Responses to A Chilling Christmas

  1. crzydjm says:

    You’re correct; we have the ability and power to help others. It’s unfortunate that it doesn’t happen as often as it should though. Merry Christmas!

  2. Reblogged this on artslogic and commented:
    today in pictures

  3. irishsignora says:

    The 1984 version starring George C. Scott is my absolute favorite. We have the children’s book version of the Dickens tale, and it’s one of the first books that comes out of the Advent reading box every year. I can’t wait until the tiny people are old enough for the real book. Peace be with you — Kelly

  4. moj8668 says:

    That’s always been one of the passages I re-read and re-read! So many of us are moved to acts of charity at the holidays. The challenge is to think of those in need in June!

    My favorite version of the movie? I’m torn. Love the Muppet version (the musician in me loves the songs!). For a more “authentic” rendering, I have to go with the Patrick Stewart version.

  5. tf141soldier says:

    Wow, now I really really really want to read this freakin’ book of yours.

    It’s kind of a funny thing – I never was a Charles Dickens fan. I dunno, it’s like with Victor Hugo: I immensely enjoyed one or two of these classic authors’ works, but there wasn’t anything else that I was into from either author. That being said, I still proudly own A Tale of Two Cities.

  6. ahamin says:

    Hello there,

    I have been visiting your blog and I admire your search for that special and lucky kid who you already love. So I wanted to share this award with you.
    http://ahamin.wordpress.com/2012/12/06/a-new-award-for-my-blog-2/

    Liebster Blog Award, Liebster is beloved in German, so I guess it belongs to you after all.

    Best of wishes for the both of you,

    ~ A. H. Amin

  7. iamforchange says:

    I love your pages and your form of self-expression, it is a pleasure to have you share your gifts through your pages Thank you. I have nominated you for blog of the Year please visit my page Blog of the year awards and nominations Thank you! Revised
    Posted on December 9, 2012

Leave a Reply

