2012 Christmas Wish List Part 1

John Adams, the second president of the United States was notorious for giving out only books as gifts. Sarabeth has learned to do the same for me.

Since April, 2011 I’ve read over 60 books. For the next three days, leading up to Black Friday, I’m going to make some of your Christmas shopping easier for the book lovers in your lives and provide you with twenty of the greatest books I’ve read in the last eighteen months.

For Theology readers

Adopted for Life, Dr. Russell Moore – A fantastic overview of what the Bible says about adoption and why every Christian is called to easing the plight of the orphan one way or another.

Radical, by David Platt – The most challenging book I’ve read on forsaking the American Dream in order to invest in greater things to come.

For fiction lovers

Anne of Green Gables, by L.M. Montgomery – A nine-book series that is perfect for kids and grown ups alike, that will whisk you away to yesteryear.

Little Women,  by Louisa May Alcott – Possibly my all time favorite fictional book. A must for writers who would like to improve their character development skills.

For History buffs

America: Volume I, by William J. Bennett – An overview of American history from the eyes of the presidents. Begins with the settlement of Jamestown and ends just before the Great War (1914).

The Story of World War II, by Donald L. Miller – A moment by moment account of World War II filled with photographs and first-hand accounts from soldiers, enemies, victims, and survivors.

For Biography addicts

The Hiding Place, by Corrie Ten Boom – A haunting account of a family’s attempt to save  Dutch Jews from a Nazi roundup.

Walt Disney, by Neal Gabler – Highly fascinating, detailed, and entertaining. No one is a true Disney fan until they’ve learned who exactly Walt Disney was.

For Part 2 of this list, click here. And please feel free to list your favorite books in the comment section bellow. (Note that I have the right to delete any recommendations that I deem inappropriate.)

[Image Credit]

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

13 Responses to 2012 Christmas Wish List Part 1

  1. nowwhatsmyname says:

    I do give books as Christmas gifts to my kids and friends. I have this idea of keeping the printed books alive in my own little way and as long as I can. So far, no one groaned. At least none, when I’m nearby. 😀

    • There’s still a lot to be said about printed books. I still get them for myself and Sarabeth. If you want a good kids series, check out Bone by Jeff Smith. They’re graphic novels (which, I’m not at all into … but there’s a major except to be made for these brilliant books). They’re much in the tradition of Disney and Lord of the Rings combined.

  2. Yevette says:

    Love your fiction list. Anne of Green Gables is wonderful.

  3. lilbluegirl says:

    anne of green gables is a nine book series..??? O.o i din;t know that..!! 😥 i only read one.. and got it as a present from a friend of my father’s… >.< so good memories…

  4. Pingback: 2012 Christmas Wish List Part 2 « adoptingjames

  5. Pingback: Christmas Wish List Part 3 « adoptingjames

  6. Pingback: Customer Etiquette: 10 Tips on How to be a Good Customer « adoptingjames

  7. Mike Limon says:

    I like your list. I am currently reading Studies in the Life of the Christian by Henry Thorne, The Holiness of God by R. C. Sproul, Basic Christianity by R.W. Stott and How to live a Holy Life by Charles Elbert Orr. Another classic I like is Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson.

  8. Pingback: Christmas Wish List Part 4 | adoptingjames

Leave a Reply

