Just Two More Weeks!

Thanks so much to Dream Punk Geek for asking me some questions about my book which comes out in just two weeks (save some Christmas money to get it for the bookworms in your lives)!

What is the title of your book?

The Man in the Box

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I love mixing fantasy with reality. But it seems like that concept has been overdone, especially for kids. So I thought, “How can I not only improve on this concept, but make it appealing to adults?”

What genre does your book fall under?

Fiction, suspense, adventure, thriller, fantasy, and one reviewer even said mystery. It’s really a genre-blending, actually.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A man discovers his childhood fantasy world inside a box and leaves his family behind to pursue it.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Funny thing. I actually wrote the book with Steve Carrell in mind. I never told anyone except maaaaaybe my wife. Apparently I did a pretty good job with that because one of the first things a reviewer said was, “I can totally see Steve Carrell playing the lead role in the movie.”

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’ve tried self-publishing. I don’t recommend it. It is being published through BlackWyrm Publishers, and comes out November 30. It’ll be free for the first week on Amazon and Kindle.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

The first draft? About a year. But two years to work my way up to the twelfth draft.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Well, it draws from a lot of inspirations like The Hunger Games, Jurassic Park, and King Kong. A reviewer even compared it to Lord of the Rings. As you can imagine, I was quite flattered.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

If you’re a kid who likes adventure stories, this book is for you because of all the action (and there’s a lot). If you’re a husband or father, this book is for you because you will relate to the main character’s struggles. If you’re a wife or mother – you guessed it – this book is for you, because you will recognize some of the family’s dynamics playing out here. And if you’re a pastor or churchgoer, this is not a preachy book, but it’s for you as well. Pastors might consider referring to this book as an example of the inward struggle raging within us.

Like the Man in the Box facebook page here for updates.

[Image Credit]

About Andrew Toy
I'm in the beginning stages of starting my own publishing company that's unlike anything you've ever heard of in the industry. The direction of AdoptingJames is taking a 90-degree turn and will be more writing/publishing-focused. Stay tuned for huge updates and exciting news!

2 Responses to Just Two More Weeks!

  1. Can I get the book on my iPad?

Leave a Reply

