10 Movies About Adoption No. 3: Lilo and Stitch

WallpaperIf you Google a list of adoption movies, Lilo and Stitch isn’t likely to be there. True, it was overlooked by many since it came out durring Disney’s sub-par years, but it’s actually a little gem wedged between the direct-to-video Cinderella II and the deplorable Country Bears. So because of Disney’s track-record the studio was setting for itself at the time, it’s easy to see why many opted out of watching this movie about a destructive alien invading Hawaii.

But it’s good. It’s not a masterpiece, or unforgettable, but it’s a good flick to pop in while the kids are still up and about.

In it, the alien Stitch ends up being adopted by Lilo’s older sister (sorry – spoiler alert). But I think it’s a good reminder that families can be made up of many different nationalities and cultures. And besides that, people outside the world of adoption often can’t imagine adopting a “destructive” or “wild” child, which is essentially what Stich is.

Our seven-month-old is going through a very grouchy stage right now. She’s frustrated that she can’t move on her own from point A to point B. So she cries all day long. Toys don’t make her happy, pacifiers don’t pacify, and don’t even bother trying to put her to sleep – you might as well try taming a rabid zombie.

But still, that doesn’t matter. We love her even when she’s kicking and screaming and blowing bubbles so forcefully that it sprays all over the spinning ceiling fan. And so what if she’s a little loud because she’s teething (or not teething)?

But there’s a line in Lilo and Stitch that we often use in our family, as I’m sure most other fans of the movie use as well:

“Ohana” means “Family” and “Family” means no one gets left behind.

I’m sure our little girl will cause us some headaches and give us ulcers in the coming years, but she’s still our family, and once she is adopted, always will be.

Some foster parents are amazing enough to take in older kids – kids that society has deemed as “troubled” or “a nuisance” – like Stitch. But they’re still worthy of our love and care. They’re still as valuable as anyone else. And they still need a family just like anyone else.

And they’ll probably require a lot more love and attention than other kids, but I think in the end, it can be worth the effort.

This is my family. I found it, all on my own. Is little and broken, but still good. Yeah, still good.

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

12 Responses to 10 Movies About Adoption No. 3: Lilo and Stitch

  1. Laili says:

    I <3 this movie! I love Stitch so much. He is amazing and did what he knew to do, all the while Lilo taught and showed him how to be different–he learned of his potential, what he could be if he wanted. Lilo had an amazing amount of patience for a child and just loved him because he was hers–nothing else matter. Everyone has limits and for someone who has gone through tragedy; she is such a resilient character. But Stitch does, basically, a 180 with his actions and personality, all because he realized that he found his family and did not want to give them up. I own it and just love it. If you really enjoy the movie, Chris Sanders also helped with "How to Train Your Dragon" and you might like that too.

  2. Right on! Those are the two quotes I love the best in the movie. I can’t help but to tear up a little when I watch that part when Stitch is forced to leave behind his family and asks permission to go say goodbye to his new family. Finding a place to belong and the meaning of family makes this movie such a great watch along with Stitch and just how cute he is even if he starts off as a mega troublemaker :)
    Great post!

  3. A friend of mine adopted two sisters and a brother; ages 10, 12 & 13, The kids finally had a supportive, stable home and family after years of being bounced from bad foster care to bad foster care They were welcomed with open arms to this very large extended family. A year later, my friend’s husband died suddenly from a heart attack. The first question from the kids to my friend was “Are you sending us back?” They, until that moment, never experienced “Ohana”.

    It was a tremendous struggle, but family, chosen or otherwise, is forever, The youngest graduated high school this year.

  4. Helen Heard says:

    I love Lilo and Stitch! Oh my goodness, I cry every time i see when he goes out to the woods, and says “I’m lost.” The quote you ended your post with is one of my favorites! My parents adopted me from South America 28 years ago. I applaud anyone that decides to take a child in, and raise and love them as their own!

  5. Hi there, I posted an article for you about adoption from a Christian child’s point of view and I was going to send you the link, but I seem unable to do so from my phone. So if you have a spare 5 mins some time you can pop over where you’ll find it listed as the third one down. (Providing I don’t add any more blogs) It’s entitled, ‘A Heart For Children: Adoption & Fostering’. I hope it blesses you. Thanks for keeping us updated with your fantastic blogs.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,366 other followers

