Summer Smoothies! (Guest Post from My Wife)

SmoothiesIt’s summertime and that means smoothies and fruit drinks! We love blending things at our house when it’s 90+ degrees out and our dinners are usually fresh salads with fancy dressings.

Anyway, my wife was kind enough to write a guest post for you all today about some of our favorite homemade smoothies. Feel free to share your own recipes below in the comments section so we can all have some new drinks to try this summer! Oh, and don’t forget to follow my wife’s awesome blog while you’re at it (you might find some more recipes from her later on): From Flats to Lofts.

I lived on Jamba Juice for about two months once. My wisdom teeth were coming in sideways,JambaLogo-PDFX-Prime-CMYK but I had to wait until I could take a week off of work to have them removed. (Plus I may have procrastinated going to the dentist for a couple of weeks after they started hurting because I’m a chicken.) It was cold, and didn’t require chewing, so it was the perfect lunch option – day after day after day…

But, then I didn’t eat for a week, and couldn’t drink out of a straw anyway, so I sort of stopped my daily trip to Jamba Juice. I was now $25 richer at the end of each work week. And really, once the pain went away I was pretty much grossed out by the thought of another smoothie. This lasted for several months, and when I finally wanted one again we were about to move from Seattle (Jamba Juice everywhere) to Louisville (Jamba Juice nowhere to be found).

So, I started to make my own. It is simple enough – just fruit and liquid. The two we make the most are blueberry and peanut butter.

 

Blueberry:SONY DSC

1 frozen banana (slice it before you freeze it)

1/2 cup frozen blueberries

1/2 milk

Blend ingredients together until smooth and enjoy!

 

Peanut butter:peanut butter

1 frozen banana (slice it before you freeze it)

½ – 1 cup chocolate soy milk

1 large scoop of peanut butter

Blend together – adding more banana or milk if needed until you get the consistency you want.

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

16 Responses to Summer Smoothies! (Guest Post from My Wife)

  1. Sahar says:

    Smoothies are one of my favourite summer treats! Especially when I am outside with a book… Thank you for this :) Have you ever tried exotic fruits, like mango? YUM!

  2. OMG, those look delicious! :D

  3. Morgan says:

    YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

  4. I hate going to the dentist too. Thanks for sharing these recipes.

  5. spatialgurutyler says:

    Any idea why the posts are coming through garbled like below?

    >

  6. Pingback: Wordpress Blogs - Wordpress Blogs .NET

  7. Perfect! Needed something new. Great guest post (say thanks to your wife!) — Michael

  8. megdanielle says:

    Yum! We use Greek yogurt in ours for some extra protein. You can never have too many smoothie recipes.

  9. Reblogged this on quirkywritingcorner and commented:
    The last time I made a smoothie, I didn’t start with frozen fruits. I guess it makes a difference.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,269 other followers

