A Boy and His Tiger

squeezitIf you were a child of the 80s or 90s, many different things sum up your childhood.

Things like pigs and slammers, Squeezits, Raven’s Revenge, Rugrats, and Steve Urkel’s cloning machine.

To know these things is to be a part of a club, a very special and inclusive club. I say inclusive because most of us are now trying to introduce our won kids to dumbour generation’s favorites. The 80s and 90s are hard to let go of. Just look at all the reboots in Hollywood: the anticipated Dumb and Dumber To, to name one.

And on TV: Girl Meets World, Fargo, an upcoming Saved by the Bell movie.

Judy Bloom and Goosebumps are constantly getting makeovers. Ariel goosebumpsis still the most idolized princess in the Disney realm, and I would bet most kids could sing the Fresh Prince theme song.

But there’s one piece of nostalgic lore that holds a special place in all of our hearts. They were a couple of misfits, one a figment of the other’s imagination. They both had stripes, one with two feet, the other with four and a tail. They both loved adventure and sledding in the snow and building fortresses and people-eating snowmen.

Do the words Get Rid OSlimy Girlbring back any memories?

What about the adventures of Stupendous Man?

Or the third-grade teacher, who was everyone’s teacher, Mrs. Wormwood?

When you opened the newspaper on Sunday mornings you could find yourself in outer space SpacemanSpiff_Smallwith Spaceman Spiff or be caught up in a game of Calvinball. Or you might be turning a cardboard box into a “Cerebral Enhance 0-Tron.”

The possibilities were always endless with Calvin and Hobbes, the comic strip about a young boy and his stuffed tiger.

I remember the day it was announced that Bill Watterson would be drawing his last comic strip, and it was devastating, like the day John candyCandy died or I first heard the word “terrorist” in the wake of the Oklahoma City bombing.

Everyone had to have their dosage of Calvin and Hobbes. And if you return to them today, they’re just as endearing, hysterical, and thought-provoking as they were then.

There’s a documentary on Netflix instant watch called Dear Mr. Watterson posterwhere the filmmaker attempts to track down the beloved creator and mastermind of the comic strip.

My favorite thing about the film is that it showcases the impact Calvin and Hobbes had on the world, and continues to today. Our generation of readers are faithfully passing down Watterson’s legacy to our own kids, and I’ll certainly be sharing my collection with our daughter when she’s older.

What kind of impact did Calvin and Hobbes have on you as a kid?

 

o-GROWN-UP-CALVIN-AND-HOBBES-facebook

pyre0

HowItShouldBeCalvinGrowsUpAndHobbesIsStillAwesome-57931

calvin_and_hobbes-yawn[1]

Calvin and Hobbes in Snow

 

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

31 Responses to A Boy and His Tiger

  1. sjoycarlson says:

    Hahahaa what about 3-D doritos and Pepsi Clear?

  2. Von Simeon says:

    I watched the documentary last week and wow! The flood of memories. Happy times going through pages and pages. I had two of the compilation books and I remember reading through them on my own, in whatever crevice I made my secret place. Calvin and Hobbes justified not just having an imagination, but running and playing with it for hours on end. With Calvin and Hobbes, I may have been alone, but never lonely.
    Thanks for this post!

  3. flygirl140 says:

    I have been wanting to watch the documentary! I love Calvin and Hobbes and spent hours hidden behind the bed giggling my way through the stack of coffee table books. I always wished it snowed where I lives so I could make grotesque snowmen! Way to keep the story alive!!

  4. You should check out the book “Looking for Calvin & Hobbes: The Unconventional Story of Bill Waterson and his Revolutionary Comic Strip” by Nevin Martell. My husband read it and really enjoyed it.

  5. Debs says:

    I love Calvin and Hobbes! When I was young, my dad would read those comics to us, repeating our favorites over and over again! I have many fond memories of laughing until the tears streamed down my face because of that boy and his tiger. To this day, I enjoy reading Calvin and Hobbes, and I really appreciate the many layers of humor that I didn’t pick up on as a child.

  6. Great post, brought back a lot of good memories…I too am a big fan of Calvin and Hobbes. A few years back I bought the boxed set and it’s one of my most prized possessions! Thanks for writing about this and other fun flashbacks to the 80s and 90s!

  7. Vera says:

    I need to watch this

  8. Netflixed. Well past kidhood by the nineties, but I loved that strip.

  9. dugger50 says:

    As I age I look back at those years wondering why I didn’t realize how great they were, thanks for reminding me!

  10. Calvin and Hobbes has been a constant, much like the Simpsons and still gives me a giggle when I need it.

  11. locksley2010 says:

    Always loved the fact ‘Calvin and and Hobbes’ said and did the things that as I child I thought to myself…. much like Tommy, Chuckie, Phil and Lil even Angelika in ‘Rugrats’.

  12. Thanks for reminding me of the awesomeness of “Calvin and Hobbes.” Also, “Saved by the Bell Movie”?! For reals?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,242 other followers

