Write “Mississippilessly”

Spray-Tan-02Do you remember that scene in Friends where Ross keeps getting 2’s sprayed on his face in the tanning booth? It’s probably one of my favorite scenarios in the series.

In the scene, Ross goes to a tanning salon where he is told to count to five after his front has been sprayed, then turn around so his back can get sprayed.

Once the first spray goes off, he begins counting:

“One-Mississippi. Two-Mississippi. Three-Miss-“

And the spray goes off again before he turns around.

The result is Chandler sarcastically suggesting he went to the sun to get his tan.

We’re like that sometimes with our writing, aren’t we? We get stuck in a system, or what we think is our “groove.” We think the only way to count is “Mississippily.”

When really, all we need to do is let go of some of our inhibitions or habits and let the story (or blog post or essay or article) tell itself. We just need to be there to dictate the words.

I’ll sometimes follow an outline when I write, but then when the story starts taking its own course, I get nervous thinking that I shouldn’t be straying from the outline. But I’ve got to be willing to go with the flow and see where the story is taking me.

Think about the steps you can take today to write “Mississippilessly” and let your story take on a life of its own, without you getting in the way.

 

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

5 Responses to Write “Mississippilessly”

  1. Lisa Lo Paro says:

    This is one of my all time favorite episodes too! It always has me snorting with laughter!

  2. liamiman says:

    Great advice. Thank you.

  3. This and the episode with Ross’ teeth have to be two of my favourite Friends episodes – Ross is such a character! I love how you’ve compared it to the process of writing and thrown some advice into the mix – such a great post. :)

  4. Rachael says:

    You have been nominated for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Please check the link for the details of the award and the badge/image you may use for your site. Just know that for those people you choose you may either pass on the same image or create one of your own.

    http://writingraci.wordpress.com/2014/07/07/blog-award/

    (ps, you are by no mean’s required to participate, but I thank you for your posts! I appreciate you!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,366 other followers

