The Best Father’s Day Movies

Father’s Day is coming up. The holiday holds true for many people in different walks of life. Maybe you’re still living with your father, or you’re far away from him. Maybe your father died. Perhaps, even, you’re a father yourself now, as this will be my first Father’s Day as a dad. As you well know, there are many movies about father/child relationships. I’ve compiled a short list of some of my favorite movies about dads and their relationship with their kids.

After all, if you’re struggling with planning the perfect Father’s Day, keep in mind that sometimes the best thing a father can have is a couch, a box of pizza, and a movie.

Big-Fish-movie-poster

Big Fish – This may be my favorite Tim Burton movie; it’s a bit weird, but not at all creepy. It’s the story of a grown son trying to put together his dad’s fabrications of life in the truest sense.

Best line: “A man tells his stories so many times that he becomes the stories. They live on after him, and in that way he becomes immortal.”

bill cosby

Bill Cosby, Himself – This is a hysterical standup done by Bill Cosby. As engaging as any 90-minute movie, and funnier than most comedies I’ve seen. Cosby takes the audience on a whirlwind adventure from dating to marriage to childbirth to kicking the kids out of the house. It’s impossible not to crack up, especially if you’ve “been there.”

Best line: “We [parentes] don’t want justice. We want quiet!” 

dan_jpg_627x325_crop_upscale_q85_jpg_627x325_crop_upscale_q85_jpg_627x325_crop_upscale_q85Dan in Real Life – A sweet movie about a widowed father trying to raise his three daughters while visiting the extended family. Steve Carrell shows a bit of his serious/charming side in this one.

Best line: “Love is not a feeling, Mr. Burns. It’s an ability.”

despicalbe meDespicable Me – Another Steve Carrell favorite, more on the silly side. Despicable Me is considered, in our house, to be nearly as good as a Pixar movie. Maybe it’s the whole adoption thing we like so much. After all, three adorable girls can soften even the hardest of hearts, right?

Best line: “It’s so fluffy I’m gonna die!” (That was for you, Sarabeth)

fiddler on roofFiddler on the Roof – And while we’re talking about movies with dads raising three daughters, I’ll throw in this gem. What man can’t relate to Tevye, who just wants a little more money, who just wants to keep his wife’s affections, and who just wants to keep his daughters at home? I’ll admit, as funny as this movie can be, some scenes are pretty tough to get through, especially if you have daughters of your own.

Best line: [To God] “If money is a curse, then smite me with it!”

MSDFAOF EC079Father of the Bride – If you haven’t seen this a million times already… I just don’t know what to say to you.

Best line: “This was the moment I’d been dreading for the past six months. Well, actually for the past 22 years.”

finding nemoFinding Nemo – Search the entire ocean to find my lost son? No problem. Letting him grow up… eh, not so easy.

Best line: “Well, you can’t never let anything happen to him. Then nothing would ever happen to him. Not much fun for little Harpo.”

GoofyMovieA Goofy Movie – You know, I’ve met some people who didn’t like Lord of the Rings (they’re not my friends). I’ve also heard of some people not liking pizza. But I have never heard of anybody – ever – not liking A Goofy Movie. My dad, in fact, would sit and watch this with me growing up, and getting him to watch any cartoon was like pulling teeth. Yeah, this is the ultimate Father’s Day movie.

Best line: Goofy: “You look just like I did at your age.” Max: “Please don’t say that, Dad.”

mrs-doubtfireMrs. Doubtfire – Dress up as a woman to see your kids everyday? Er, um, sure thing. I think most dads would get this. Robin Williams at his absolute best here. (BTW, they’re working on a sequel… what do you think about that?)

Best line: “My first day as a woman and I’m getting hot flashes.”

parenthoodParenthood – Another Steve Martin favorite and directed by Ron Howard (what a pair, huh?). This is the movie that inspired NBC’s awesome show Parenthood. Just a good flick about how parenthood never ever ends – and there’s never a break. (Ironically, don’t watch this with the kids around.)

Best line: Karen: “Do you really have to go?” Gil: “My whole life is have to.”

shrek-forever-afterShrek Forever After – In an effort to erase the deplorable Shrek the Third from existence, Dreamworks puts together a valiant effort in this fourth installment. Shrek is in over his head with this whole fatherhood thing, and he gets his wish to have everything back the way it was before he got married.

Best line: “Are my kids cute or do they make people uncomfortable?” 

What are your favorite movies about fathers? List ‘em bellow, I’d love to hear them!

 

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

21 Responses to The Best Father’s Day Movies

  1. I’m a classic film fan and if you haven’t seen it, Life with Father is wonderful. Starrs William Powell as the imperious father of a family of 4 boys. Irene Dunne is his lovely, if bit scatter-brained wife when it comes to finances. Elizabeth Taylor is in it too, as a visiting cousin. It was a successful stage play before the movie version came out. Powell was nominated for an Oscar for his work-really a great film that the whole family can watch.

    • Sounds like a fun movie! Any idea where I can find it?

      • Hmmm. You might try and see if Netflix streaming has it yet, or via Amazon-it may be on their instant rent. Your local library may have it on dvd, It may be on Hulu or Youtube. Other than those ways to rent it, or see it, you may have to buy it. It is a really great movie, good for a family’s dvd library.

  2. mwitasblog says:

    Thanks. Beautiful.

  3. Garfield Hug says:

    Happy Father’s Day James! Hope you have a great celebration with your adopted children and dogs :-)

  4. What a terrific Father’s Day post!!!! I would love to reblog it tomorrow (Saturday) for Father’s Day!! What do you say? Vickie

  5. Reblogged this on Dianna Donnely and commented:
    Happy Father’s Day! My father has been gone for 9 years now and the movie “Big Fish” always makes me think of him. Nice selection of movies James. THANKS!

  6. Reblogged this on Romance, suspense, & chocolate and commented:
    While looking around online for something that inspired me to write about Father’s Day, I happened upon a wonderful blog post written by Andrew Toy. There are several reasons I like this so much. One, this is Andrew’s first Father’s Day. Happy Father’s Day, Andrew. Two, I thought his “best father” movie picks were outstanding. But aside from that, there was one line in particular I really loved. “…sometimes the best thing a father can have is a couch, a box of pizza, and a movie.” Can it really be that simple to entertain dad on his own very special day? Turns out, for some, it is.

    So here is Andrew’s post. Enjoy his awesomeness! And Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there who work hard for their kids seven days a week!!!!

  7. Enjoy your first Father’s Day.
    I could never get past Father of the Bride’s attitude that Martin should just accept the $1,000 wedding cake as something beyond question. Parenthood and Finding Nemo are awesome and I look forward to catching Despicable Me.
    I’d throw in Frequency for Jim Cazaviel saving his father through time travel. Or Back to the Future for Michael J. Fox doing the same.

  8. Pingback: Thank you Daddy for taking me skiing | lizmollyoldershaw

  9. This is sooo nice. Thank you for sharing.

  10. Pingback: Father’s Day Jumble – 2014 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

  11. Happy father’s day to you! Love all the movies you’d posted. :)

  12. Pingback: Thank you Daddy for taking me skiing | My Broken Brain

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,319 other followers

