Remembering D-Day

d-day05During World War II, one of the innumerable government agencies, the Writer’s War Board, couldn’t come up with a working definition of the word democracy. Here’s what E.B. White wrote in the the New Yorker:

Surely the Board knows what democracy is. It is the line that forms on the right. It is the don’t in don’t shove. It is the hole in the stuffed shirt through which the sawdust slowly trickles; it is the dent in the high hat. Democracy is the recurrent suspicion that more than half the people are right more than half of the time. It is the feeling of privacy in the voting booths, the feeling of communion in the libraries, the feeling of vitality everywhere. Democracy is a letter to the editor. Democracy is the score at the beginning of the ninth. It is an idea which hasn’t been disproved yet, a song the words of which have not gone bad. It’s the mustard on the hot dog and cream in the rationed coffee. 

Don’t forget today, those that died for our freedom and our right to democracy. Don’t forget, especially, those brave souls that braved the beaches of Normandy and turned the tide of the war, facing off with evil and defending what is good and right and true and honorable.

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

11 Responses to Remembering D-Day

  1. I never forget reading about it in the newspapers and wondering which of the boys I knew were there on that beach.

  2. Scott Sholar says:

    We cannot imagine what that day was like when the beaches were stormed at Normandy. The Lord was with our boys in our fight against the evil empires of Germany, Italy and Japan. Unfortunately, we have put people into power in our country, now, who hate the very freedom that these soldiers gave their lives for. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Jane Dough says:

    Well done! Thank you for the follow! Be well – Jane

  4. My grandfather told me he just barely missed D-day by the skin of his teeth. He said malaria saved his life.

  5. I would never be late with a “Thank You” note—so I should have been more prompt with: “Thank you for following my blog, “What to Do about Mama?” Since “everyone is a potential caregiver,” I hope that you find the information to be useful in the event that you need to draw upon it someday. I would not say caregiving is an “inspiring” topic, but I do think my book of the same name is a good addition to any reference shelf. Better yet: be prepared. Read it before you think you need it.
    Barb

  6. swamiyesudas says:

    Blessings on them. Though I am from India, I do believe that those who dared to lay down their lives for Just Causes, anywhere and everywhere, made the Whole World a Better place.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,272 other followers

