Big Week For Baby A

get-attachment.aspx

So last week our foster daughter and Sarabeth went to Florida to visit her family. According to Sarabeth, our little girl did wonderful on the airplane, so if you’re stuck on a plane with a crying baby and an overwhelmed mother, you can bet it’s not my wife or daughter.

Well, Baby A did two things this week which I’m thankful she didn’t do in Florida while I was at home here in Kentucky.

Two days ago, Sarabeth was holding Baby A and the dachshunds began licking her feet and Baby A just laughed, and laughed. Part of me thinks she began laughing so hard because she figured out that she could laugh! Probably one of the best sounds I’ve ever heard.

And this morning, just moments ago, Baby A rolled over. First onto her belly then onto her back.

Needless to say, Sarabeth and I are very proud. In fact, after I write this post, I’m going to probably start drafting up her college resume.

Baby A, proficient at giggling and rolling over. My aspirations include being an attentive audience member at local comedy clubs and teaching fire drills (“stop, drop, and rooollllll”).

On the grand scheme of things, I’m sure these aren’t really big happenings. I’m sure back in colonial times it was like, “Look Pa, Junior just took his first step.”

“‘Bout dog-gone time. Hand him that there pile of wood and he can take it out back and chop it for the fire.”

But then, is it such a big deal when we do the things we do? Like, get a job, or pass an important exam, or earn one of those Fortune 500 Company jackets? To us, those are pretty significant deals.

But I wonder what God thinks. After all, have you ever created an entire cosmos? Have you ever begotten a living creature (or made one out of the dust)? Have you ever walked on water unassisted, or calmed a storm, or healed a blind man with mud?

Yet, God is pleased with us. Just like Sarabeth and I are pleased with our daughter for the littlest of things (but mostly for going to sleep!) – things that we’ve been doing ourselves for 30-plus years. Things that human beings all over the globe, all across the span of time have been mastering since the Garden.

All of Heaven rejoices when we enter into adoption by God as His child. A great cloud of witnesses hangs over the mist to marvel at our spiritual accomplishments and cheer us on to further endeavors, challenges those ghosts have likely bested while they were like us.

So, yeah. I’m pretty proud of my little girl. But then again, I’d be just as proud if she never rolled over.

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

14 Responses to Big Week For Baby A

  1. barbtaub says:

    When I had my second child, I wondered if we’d be as excited when she hit the same exact milestones her big sister had already passed. But you are absolutely right—those miracles are just as thrilling as if they were historic firsts. A word especially popular with Jewish grandparents is nachus, which means the joy and pride one gets from the accomplishments of others (usually children and grandchildren). And each first brings just as much nachus as any that went before.

    May Baby A bring you both much nachus in the days to come!

  2. Good thoughts here. Our greatest accomplishments really are child’s play to God. We get all excited at our successes and show them off to our Heavenly Father just like we did when we were kids and God dotes on us even more than our earthly fathers could. That we would bring Him such pleasure is perhaps the most amazing thing of all.

  3. there is nothing like a baby’s laughter. I am certain it makes our Lord smile and laugh aloud too. Great post, thanks for bringing a smile to my face today.

  4. Laili says:

    Congrats! You are now nominated for the inspiring blogger award!

  5. So wonderful. I love a baby’s giggle. It’s so happy and carefree. Like you commented–I think the baby loves to hear her own giggle.
    You are so blessed to have her in your lives.

  6. Val_ToWriter says:

    Isn’t it amazing how wonderful it is to see a baby develop. Even if they’re only doing appropriate things for their age, it elicits such joy! Yes, I think God smiles when we do “good”, and I think he still loves us, even if he regrets our mistakes. Good parents work with their children even when they have problems (big and small) and are sympathetic, caring and constant. They may offer advice and set boundaries. God is our Father, and I don’t think he carries a paddle in his hand to punish us, but is ready to lend an ear an give us comfort when we seek his advice or share our problems.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,281 other followers

