So You Wanna Write Part Part 9 – The “M” Word

Momentum-smallThere is one thing, in all the world of writing that makes all writing possible.

In fact, it makes nearly everything possible – but especially writing.

It jolts things out of stagnation. It forces forward movement. It propels. It ignites.

I’m talkin’ about a little thing called, “momentum.”

Momentum is something every writer needs.

We may have all the greatest ideas in the world for the greatest books ever to be written, but without momentum, we have nothing. And those thoughts, or ideas, don’t mean squat.

“Dear Publisher, I have some great ideas for a book…”

And do you want the know the number one killer of momentum? I have no facts to back this up, but from my own experience, the number one killer of momentum is the Internet.

The Internet, though useful for boundless things, actually holds creative people back. The Internet is a hinderance to those who might otherwise have been leaders and visionaries and great authors.

So the best way I’ve found to gain momentum and to actually write is by powering down the computer (yes, even Word), grabbing what’s called a journal and a pen (or pencil), and write. Free from distraction, free from the demands of games and Youtube videos and iTunes, and free from the tedious task of researching and spellchecking and free to just write. 

That way, when I go back to dictate my words from page to screen, that momentum is already flowing by the time I type that last sentence, the creative juices are flowing, and I just keep on writing.

Power down = Momentum

Now turn this computer off and go write.

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

25 Responses to So You Wanna Write Part Part 9 – The “M” Word

  1. aliynflynn says:

    This is so very true. I still do most of my writing on the computer, but on the days I leave the browser open, I get a lot less done. Closing the browser for my writing session sometimes yields double the writing I would have had leaving it open.

    • That browser can be a great time-waster at times. Very wise to keep it closed while you write :)

      • aliynflynn says:

        It’s funny, because just this morning I had opened it up to do some quick research on a region of space for my writing, and the next thing I new I had taken a journey across the galaxy via web. Granted, the writing I did afterwards was very productive, but still, more time passed then I wanted to.

  2. Grace Grogan says:

    That is what finally got me out of the “researching the parts of a book” phase and into the actual laying out a draft table of contents and the writing of the introduction, preamble and first two chapters.

  3. pastedreams says:

    SO true. Humans are tactile and to be truly creative and open we need to have that pen between our fingers, the brush of our hand on the page (doesn’t typing just feel more removed?).

    • Shandra says:

      Agree! There is something about a pen, paper and notebook (napkin) which stir the creative focus of Humanity.

    • It does, a tad. Sadly many people have lost that creative feeling that flows through a pen, but I don’t think there’s too much wrong with the keyboard as a substitute. Just a new day and age, I guess.

  4. Shandra says:

    Absolutely agree. I’ve always journaled —longhand. After a season ‘saving time’ by writing straight into my electronic device I’ve accepted its simply a better use of my focus and limited time to longhand. Be taken the advise of several published friends to carry a yellow legal tablet everywhere with unforeseen benefits 1) I feel very ‘official’ :) 2 with its bright color I can find it in my deep dark carry all bag 3) it never flashes that momentum breaking ‘low battery drop everything to plug in NOW” . Thanks for your insights in this writing series. Shandra

  5. I get what your talking about but oh my I actually hate writing as in the physical act i am such a fast typer, my hand is useful now with writing its unreadable and my hand gets sore so quickly, gawd knows how i did it at school x

  6. liamiman says:

    Not sure I agree. I’m not writing a book, but I do use the internet to spark ideas when I’m bereft of any for a blog post, so is there a difference?

    A lot of times, I’m able to relate a news story, an item from an advice column or someone else’s blog post to a personal story and I’m off and running.

    And I use the memo function on my phone for those times when I don’t want to lose my momentum. Does that count as a “journal” ? :)

  7. Pingback: Wordpress Blogs - Wordpress Blogs .NET

  8. I think you may be onto something here lol

  9. I completely agree. I waste a ton of time keeping my emails down to under 300. I’ve tried to delegate specific times to do blogs and other emails, but that didn’t work out.
    After finishing this, I’m going to make a snack–a new recipe with coconut, yum. Then I’ll work on getting my novel completed. This is the 2nd edit, but I had to make a lot of changes so I can expect at least 2 more before it’s ready for the publisher.

  10. You say this as I am wasting my time on the internet. It made me laugh so hard because its true. The internet is a creativity and time sucker.

  11. Lisa Rosier says:

    Thank you a million times — I’ll be doing exactly just what you’ve suggested. So I’m off — pen, paper and camera in hand — and I cannot wait! Back to publish soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,282 other followers

