3 Words, 7 Letters, One Cosmic Offense

vomitingBeing a father has caused me to be extra careful with the words that I use in the house. There’s no need for my foster daughter to hear certain words, and there’s certainly less need for me to use them.

There is a phrase that you might use today that is the most deplorable phrase to God’s ears – worse than all the obscenities that might raise the MPAA rating for a movie.

A phrase that is frequently used on television that is acceptable viewing for children.

Your friends might go along with it, your family members might not notice it, and your pastors might not call you out on it, yet it’s the most vile exclamation that can come out of your mouth.

It might as well be vomit.

We are so used to the stench of this phrase we go about our lives hardly noticing it.

Using this phrase is the same as urinating on the cross of Jesus, and spitting on the face of God.

While the children of God are going to church, tithing, and praying for the lost, they are defecating in God’s holy temple by saying these three disgusting words.

You don’t have to read very far in the Bible before getting to it. It’s found on page 62 in my Bible.

James, towards the end of the Bible, implores us to watch our tongues, but this one phrase is forbidden in the ten commandments.

“You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain, for the Lord will not leave him unpunished who takes His name in vain” (Exodus 20:7).

Brothers and sisters, we are to be set apart from the world, even if it means refraining from “cute” little phrases we acronymically type into our phones and ipads as friendly texts.

When I hear someone confess to be a Christian and then defile the Lord’s name, I automatically can’t help but question their salvation. After all, if they can’t refrain from using such a simple seven-letter term in their best moments, then what other sins are they giving into in their worst moments?

(On the flip side, when I hear someone say, “Oh my gosh” – a very deliberate and countercultural phrase, it gives me pause to look for further fruit in their lives.)

We must treat the name of God as reverent and holy. The very thought of Him ought to bring us to our knees in awe, not curse in jest.

If God means so little to you that you’re willing to just throw His name around like a deflated beach ball – which lacks value of any kind – ask the Lord to change your heart toward something you have viewed as being so trivial and inconsequential.

Ask Him to help you realize that the world has influenced you for the worse, and that using His name in vain is offensive to Him.

He will forgive you, if you are His child and you ask Him to, and He will never remember it if you repent of it, as He does with all sins. That is an absolute promise.

But if you want to go around continuing to use the Lord’s name as a curse word, just remember the next time you yell, “Jesus Christ,” out of pain or anger, you will someday finish that sentence with “…is Lord,” and He will reconcile His namesake.

That is another promise.

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

11 Responses to 3 Words, 7 Letters, One Cosmic Offense

  1. Lrw says:

    I agree with you as far as it goes, I don’t like that phrase either. But you definitely take it too far, especially since “God” is not the name of the Holy One. Rather, that is more of a circumlocution for His name [s] (actually He has seven. )

  2. afsheenanjum says:

    I agree , Such a thought opening post.
    Keep writing and keep spreading peace.
    May Allah bless you , ameen

  3. Janice Boekhoff says:

    Love this post, because it brings attention to a heart issue that comes out in our speech! I usually say “Oh my goodness” if I feel I have to say something.

  4. OJB says:

    You’re serious? Really? You really think some (fictitious) entity who allegedly created universe cares about such trivia? You Christians crack me up!

    • Well, yes. He cares about the most seemingly invaluable things, which ought to encourage all of us, that He would even care about the trivial things in our lives.

      • OJB says:

        And yet he doesn’t seem to care too much about the big things: famine, disasters, disease, etc. This god person really needs to get his priorities sorted out!

  5. I absolutely agree with you. I cringe inside every time I hear this, especially when it is someone who I really would not expect to hear it from.

  6. OJB says:

    Are you really saying that by just saying “Oh my God” that your god will punish me? I suppose at least it saves me having to “urinate on the cross of Jesus” or “spit on the face of God”. That is so much less convenient! Come on, can’t you see how petty and silly this is? In the unlikely event that an entity like your god exists I’m sure he is far above carting about anything so pathetic! Oh my God! (even though I don’t have one).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,326 other followers

