So You Wanna Write Part 7: That Opening Scene

blue velvet curtain opening sceneThat first click of the keyboard.

That first scrawl of the pen.

That first scene.

You have an idea of what your story will be about. You know who your characters will be and you know what time period it will be set in and where it takes place. Heck, you may even have your premise written out. (We’ll talk more about these subjects in later posts.)

But for now you just want to get started. No more putting it off. You’re writing this book and it starts now

But how do you start it? Do you open with a dark, mysterious scene? Do you open up with a traumatic scene from your protagonist’s childhood? Do you maybe start with a scene that takes place in the middle of your book that you’ll come back to later?

No matter what you decide to start with, keep this in mind:

It will likely not work. Your opening will probably stink and have no connection to the rest of your book. (Now, there are definitely exceptions to this, I realize.)

 

Almost every movie I’ve watched the commentary for nearly had a completely different opening.

My book The Man in the Box had so many different openings that my wife said that she didn’t want to read another draft until the book was finished. She actually kept getting the different versions mixed up and could no longer critique it with a fresh eye.

Another example that comes immediately to mind is the opening scene to Monsters University. You’ll recall that when Mike shows up to college, he’s traveling by himself on a crowded bus. mike-wazowski

The filmmakers actually had a completely different opening scripted and animated where Mike’s parents drop him off at school. The Pixar guys said they were very happy with the opening, and that it was very funny. But one day during a board meeting someone spoke up and suggested that it would make a much bigger impact if Mike arrived at school by himself, to give the impression that it was him against the world, with no one there to support him.

The point is, as happy as you might be with your opening scene, you’ve got to ask yourself, “Does it do the most service for the rest of my book?” You’ve got to be willing to change it.

Even if you can’t come up with an idea, start writing! You’re going to back and change it anyway.

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

10 Responses to So You Wanna Write Part 7: That Opening Scene

  1. Jennifer Marshburn says:

    I’ve really been enjoying this series. There is a lot of helpful advice in here that most of us have had to find out by trial and error. Great idea putting it all out there for new writers!

  2. Reblogged this on Justine's scrapbook and commented:
    So you want to write part 7

  3. scarmich says:

    THANK YOU for writing this series. I’ve had it in my mind… a couple of ideas for a book. However I haven’t gotten much of anything else other than research down on paper, because i’m afraid I won’t like it. This post just gave me the go to at least start because it’s okay if I don’t like what I write. It’s not set in stone and it can be changed! :)

  4. Desiree B says:

    Love this post! To be completely honest, it took me awhile to teach myself that it was okay to write horribly. But once I got over that rut I started having fun again. :)

  5. Tanyell says:

    This has been an excellent series! I have really enjoyed reading it and gaining knowledge. I have always had a love for writing and this series is giving me the courage to actually pick the pen back up and pursue this love full force!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,027 other followers

