So You Wanna Write Part 6: Live Your Topic

59f287c6720acce890cb7ffed9aee965_research-imageSo you’ve got your idea. Now, you’ve got to nurture your idea. You’ve got to feed it, and help it grow. You can only do that so much with your own limited experiences.

So how does one go about this?

You’ve got to fill your mind with as much genre-friendly information as you can.

Technically it’s called research. But to me, that’s a dirty, word . So instead of research (or the R-word), were’ going to call it living. 

Throughout the entire course of writing your book, you’ve got to live your topic.

The year and a half it took me to write The Man in the Box, I constantly read books that were similar to its setting/genre. I read Jurassic Park, Hunger Games, John Carter of Mars, among many others.

And if you read Box, you can see inspirations of those novels.

I’m currently writing a young readers novel set in war-torn Europe. So for the past year or so I’ve been reading and watching anything I can get my hands on about the Holocaust or the German’s point of view of the war. The knowledge I’ve gained is invaluable and will make my book that much richer and accurate.

I wrote yesterday about writing what you know. I can’t go back in time and live during WWII. I can’t know what it’s like to live in a bunker awaiting your next suicidal mission. I don’t know what it’s like to be starved or tortured in a slave labor camp. I can’t imagine the feeling of stepping foot inside a gas chamber knowing I have just minutes left of life as I’m being pushed and shoved by dozens of other naked, frightened men.

But I can get an idea by reading Night by Elie Wiesel, or returning to the classic account of Anne Frank’s diary.

So you’ve got to chew and gnaw on your subject’s genre. Do the research (or living), take notes. Even if you’re writing a fantasy born completely of your own imagination, you’ve still got to study the greats that came before you. Dissect their work and figure out for yourself what made them so popular, or not popular.

You’ve got to live out your topic or subject matter. Writing isn’t just making stuff up on the spot or taking the craft in your own untrained direction. You’ve got to hone your skill, live out your subject matter, surround yourself with the setting your writing about.

You know what sets Pixar movies apart from virtually every other movie in Hollywood? The creators and artists spend years researching (living) their subjects. Research (living) is a key ingredient in their movies (did you catch that?). Without research, those movie gems would just be like another Dreamworks cartoon.

Draw on real life. Take advantage of history books. Figure out those universal themes that keep pulling in generation after generation of new audiences, and then learn to retell it in your own way.

Live your topic. Study your subject. By doing this, you bring your story to life.

 

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

22 Responses to So You Wanna Write Part 6: Live Your Topic

  1. afope says:

    Thank you for this!

  2. Love it. Just wrote about this. Some people call it life I call it material.

  3. Read Code Name Verity. Great World War II book.

  4. My wife and I really needed to read this! You have great posts!

  5. Hardethaewoh says:

    This series is a sweet eye opener… & All this while I never thought of this. Thanks!

  6. I love it when “research” is really just me reading good books and watching good movies then analyzing them in my mind to find out what makes them so good. Thats fun.

  7. Yes! Live your topic! I like to visit the places I write about and live through the characters.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,057 other followers

