Life with My Foster Parents

baby_drinking_bottleHi everyone. So you all read my last post, right?

Thank you for liking my dad’s book’s Facebook page if you did. It makes him look real good to publishers and literary agents if lots of people show interest in his work.

photo-16If you haven’t liked it on Facebook yet, then I hope you choke on your fire.

Sorry, I mean pacifier. My dad doesn’t like calling it “passy” because he thinks it makes him sound girly. So he’s always like, “Want your fire? Here’s your fire.” Then he goes and calls me “girl on fire.” He says it’s a reference to a book I’m not allowed to read until I’m older.

He also calls swaddling “waddling.” I think that’s what ducks do, right? He’s always saying, “Time to waddle you up like a duck.”

What a weirdy.

But Mom’s great, though! She’s so much better at putting me to sleep and calming me down when I’m fussy. Dad thinks I calm down when he makes up weird songs, but really I just want to gather more dirt on him for these blog posts, so I’ve got to listen to what he’s singing. (The other day I was refusing to burp, so he started changing the lyrics to “Let it Go.”:

“Let it go, let it go

Don’t hold it in anymore.

Let it go, let it go

Open up and let if flow…”)

Anyway, it’s been fun here. Dad’s been turning on old movies when he’s feeding me in the middle of the night (apparently he bores easily). And Mom is the ultra best cuddle-buddy in the world. I like her; she’s prettier than Dad. And funnier, too.

Dad says girls aren’t funny, but that Mom is the exception. Her and Tina Fey, whoever that is. I’ll have to check in on that.

Anyway, I hope you all have a great weekend, and, maybe even a warm one! I’m not so sure what warm weather is like, but I’ve heard great things about it. Apparently we’ll be going for walks and stuff. Sounds better than “going to sleep” all the time.

But listen, this is important. Please like my dad’s book on Facebook. And if you have liked it, share a picture of it on Pintrest or something to spread the word. Here’s a couple links you can post on your Pintrest board:

This one or this one or this one or this one. (Here’s my dad’s Pintrest page he just started… and he thinks calling it a “passy” is girly…)man in box

He hasn’t read his book to me yet because he says I have to be a little older. But apparently it’s about this guy who’s life is coming apart and he finds solace (my dad teaches me a lot of words) in this fantasy world he discovers inside a cardboard box. It’s his escape from his family and reality. Which, I don’t get. Why would a guy want to escape from his family?

But apparently there’s giant bugs, monsters (what are those?), and jungle animal attacks. He says it’s like a darker Narnia, or a bigger, better Neverland.

If you’re getting tired of hearing about this book (who isn’t?), take heart. He just finished his second book. It sounds pretty good. And sad. He was weeping like crazy finishing it up the other day. I don’t know, maybe he was just so happy to be done with it.

Gotta go.

Literally. I’ve got to go. Just hope we have more clean diapers somewhere.

Like my dad’s book on Facebook here, and watch for updates on the newer, bigger, better edition coming soon!

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

21 Responses to Life with My Foster Parents

  1. Melanie says:

    I love these posts! So funny!

  2. kmae says:

    These posts are so great! Love them. Also looking forward to finding the time to read your book. :)

  3. leavingmyoldlifebehind says:

    this is cute, but “girls aren’t funny”? ouch… not a good message to send your daughter

  4. I love these posts! I can’t wait to read the new revision of the man in the box!

  5. She’s a good writer! Nice to see you’re training her early!,

  6. Your little girls is turning out to be quite the charismatic publicist! I very much enjoyed this post, as I’m sure I will your books. Thanks for stopping by my blog, and best of luck to you!

  7. That is one articulate baby.

  8. L and his fab o l boys!

  9. tdoran80 says:

    This…is the epitome of Awesome! Well done…I’m also very interested in your book as well :)

  10. Thank you for this blog! And thank you for following my blog, means a lot to me!

  11. really enjoyed reading this….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,290 other followers

