Rescue Me

captain-phillips-movie-624x346Sarabeth and I just watched Captain Phillips last weekend.

I’m telling you, I haven’t been that on edge in a movie since Mission: Impossible III. 

At the end of it, as I was trying to catch my breath, Sarabeth made a very astute observation. She said, 

“It’s amazing how far we’ll go just to save one American.”

She’s absolutely right. While other countries couldn’t give a rip about their citizens, our military will go to the ends of the earth to bring back our own.

I needed to see this movie, because it’s been a long time since I’ve felt proud to be an American.

It’s crazy though, because God is the same way with His children, and we can say the same thing about Him.

It’s amazing how far He’ll go just to save one of His children.

Aside from His Son dying for us and breaking free from the grave for His glory and on our behalf, He doesn’t just stop there.

He keeps a careful eye on us. When we stray, He searches us out.

I’d say that He’ll go to hell and back to save us, except hell wouldn’t be hell if He went there.

But He’ll go wherever you are. 

You may not be held captive by Somali pirates, but you might be held captive by your sin, or your addictions.

If so, and you’re God’s child, and you’re pleading for help, take heart, because He’s coming for you.

In Captain Phillips the SEAL Team tells Captain Phillips to stay where he is, to not move from the very seat he’s sitting in.

That’s what we’re to do. We’re to be still and know that He is God.

Don’t try to save yourself. It won’t work.

Just sit still, and pray.

God is coming after you, wherever you are.

It may be that you don’t want Him to. It may be that you’re happy in your sins. That’s all well and fine, and if you’re not a Christian, He’ll let you have at it, turning you over to your desires. (Not such a controlling, dictating God, is He?)

But if you’re His child, He’s coming after you wether you like it or not. No father will leave the mall without his child (hopefully).

And God won’t leave you enslaved to your sins if you ask Him for help, over and over and over again. Who knows, a rescue mission may already be under way.

Just stay still and wait.

And pray.

 

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

29 Responses to Rescue Me

  1. Amen! We serve a saving God. His quality is salvation. His character is reconciliation. If we wait for Him He will always show up! He is Faithful and True.

  2. Shared on my facebook wall. Will also reblog here on W/P….wonderful message !!

  3. Reblogged this on stitchinggrandma and commented:
    A wonderful message to share today.

  4. Thank you for connecting with me via WordPress. I really love your site and this post specifically. Just what I needed to motivate me today. God is good all the time!

  5. Elaine says:

    Great message!

  6. Waiting to see this one – now I know I definitely should just watch it!

  7. LUGS says:

    Amen!! Psalm 46:10 my life verse… :) Thank you, nice post.

  8. LubbyGirl says:

    I live a sheltered life – never heard of this movie, but I love the way you relate the story line to real life with our LORD. Maybe I’d better check it out (the movie, that is).

  9. This is a great post! Your writing is inspiring and intriguing! Keep up the good work. :)

  10. lorlyn63 says:

    I have yet to watch this movie, but have heard great things about it.

    Yes, being still is a difficult thing, but the dividends of remaining still and allowing God to work in our lives – well the payoff is substantial and rewarding! Thanks for this writing James – I enjoyed it a lot! :)

  11. emmabanana says:

    I went to watch this movie when it came out in the UK last September-ish and thought it was amazing. Generally not my type of film but I really really enjoyed it. I’m not American but I agree that it is amazing how far people will go to save just one citizen, I thought it was a really touching film, had me in tears a few times especially towards the end!

  12. I haven’t seen the movie, but it sounds good. I love the message of your blog.

  13. Reblogged this on quirkywritingcorner and commented:
    It’s good to know God is always near.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,325 other followers

