A Message From My Daughter

photo-16Hi. My daddy’s taking a nap.

I’d be crying right now just to see how long I can keep him awake, but my throat’s a bit sore, so I decided to hack into his blog and write a secret post without him knowing.

(By the way, I feel like I should be named James… I’ll see if I can get him to explain that some time.)

Here’s the thing. My daddy’s too proud to admit it, but he’s a  little stressed right now.

You see, he’s got over 10,000 people following his blog, but only 333 people have liked his book’s Facebook page. 

And that makes him sad.

His book’s been published by a local publisher, which is good. But bigger publishers, like Random House or Harper Collins won’t buy it if there’s not enough generated interest in it.

And 333 likes on Facebook is hardly enough interest to get them to publish his book.

He just turned in the final revisions for the second edition yesterday (he said he had made the classic first-time-author mistake of rushing it through the press too quickly). But he’s spent the last five months fixing it up and making it 100% better, and bestseller-worthy.

Which is weird because it already has an almost-perfect rating on Amazon and Goodreads.

I guess my dad’s a sort of perfectionist. I wonder if I’ll get that from him.

My mom is too, so I probably will.

Anyway. My daddy really believes with all his heart that his book can be a major bestseller.

(“I know all writers say that,” he insists as he paces around the house. “But this is seriously one of the best fictional books since… I don’t know… Jurassic Park!”) 

And if it becomes a bestseller, then that’s good news for me, because then I can brag to all my friends in the church nursery that my daddy’s a bestselling author.

Then they’ll say, “Well I’m too young to read his book. It’s too suspenseful and action-packed for someone my age.”

Then I’ll say, “Don’t worry. He’s working on a young reader’s novel that you’ll get to read in a few years.”

So please like my daddy’s book on Facebook. (I looked it up: it’s not enough to just “like” this post. You’ve got to actually click on THIS LINK.)

Plus, I hear there’ll be a drawing for 10 people to win a free autographed copy, so what do you have to lose?

He wrote up a book trailer a couple of days ago, so go check it out to see what it’s about. It looks too intense for me, but I’m sure you’ll like it.

Love, Baby A.

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

49 Responses to A Message From My Daughter

  1. lauramacky says:

    This is just too cute for words! Good luck too!

  2. anumie says:

    I love this! Taking my butt over to Facebook right now!

  3. S dot Love says:

    So adorable! I wish you success with your book!

  4. Fantastic idea – I gave it a ‘like’ just for the originality! Will be looking into your book – wishing you loads of luck with it!

  5. Dude. DUDE. Your dad’s gonna see this and know as soon as he wakes up. Worst kept secret EVER. 1 out of 10.

  6. bring bread says:

    Have you submitted your manuscript to a literary agent?

  7. Who could say no to you, baby-that-should-have-been-named-James? DONE!

  8. Lovely. I was smiling why reading it

  9. I’ll get an autographed copy! They are always better than not autographed. Why? Well cause the author took 5 extra seconds of his life just for me! See something to cherish though that takes 5 seconds from you :( Dang it…

    /hugs to the new parents and baby A. Keeping you all in my prayers for the best of everything for you all.

  10. Super cute. Your daughter is as articulate and engaging as her dad. I’m hitting FB now!

  11. Usually this kind of thing immediately triggers my gag reflex . . . but somehow you managed to make this post super-fun and charming. But you have to admit — you’ve walked right up to the edge of the line where “cute” turns into treacly and embarrassing. Bravo, my friend.

  12. locksley2010 says:

    Liked, good luck and all the best!

  13. Andrew,
    I adored your (or baby “A’s”) post… But more so, I wanted to tell you that I can hardly wait until the 2nd edition of your book is published! I just read the first 5 chapters on the amazon preview and WOW! It really pulled me in. I only meant to be on the computer for a few minutes, but spent the next (I’m not sure how long exactly, but much longer than expected) reading part of your book. So HERE IS AN ANNOUNCEMENT: CLICK THE AMAZON LINK IN THE POST ABOVE TO READ THE PREVIEW TO BABY A’s DADDY’S BOOK!!!!! Ok, I know all caps can be annoying, but it does get people’s attention and it’s for a good cause… ;)

    Secondly, I wanted to say that although you have an obvious talent for fantasy/fiction, I can imagine that the future might present a golden opportunity to write about your life experience if you happen to adopt baby A and she was “James” all along. With over 10,000 blog followers, just the title of the book “Adopting James” would be sure to bring in lots of readers. Here’s the thing… God is the best author of them all… And He often provides more twists than we could ever dream up for a good plot line. So let’s wait and see what happens next and perhaps you can document an unforgettable story…. May everything you do be in service to bringing glory to God. You are all in my prayers my brother in Christ. :)
    -Moanti

    • Thank you so much for the encouragement and compliment! I hope you absolutely love the revised edition! (And be sure to start over on chapter one as there’s plenty of new scenes added pretty early on!)

  14. Pingback: The Bark Collar | adoptingjames

  15. Adorable post – best wishes!

  16. Well, as I’m sure others did, I just needed more words and the actual-for-sure-link to which one to “like” to get ‘er done. Had liked your page, but not the book page. It’s getting there. I’m going to post the book trailer on my facebook page to my reader friends. Also, how do I go about hosting you as a guest blogger on my blog? My article about how reading fiction improves your brain (http://particularpassions.wordpress.com/?preview=true&preview_id=5547&preview_nonce=5cbbb3dbf9) got a lot of activity. So to follow with a book promote would make sense. Fill this newbie in, please.

  17. Ooooh! Cuteness!
    And I would “like” it, but I don’t have Facebook… *sigh*

  18. Pingback: Life with My Foster Parents | adoptingjames

  19. japhethwg says:

    It would be nice if there were somewhere else to “like” your book other than Facebook. I’m not on FB and I refuse to create an account there. So, I tend to miss out on things like this. The only reason I’m not on FB is because I hear too many horror stories about viruses and malware, and I really do not want to subject my computer to that. So, just some things to think about and perhaps finding a better place for us anti-Facebook people to “like” your work.

  20. Pingback: It’s Not Easy Being Green | adoptingjames

  21. Benmo says:

    I’ve only read a few, but I’ve discovered I like reading “baby blogs!” By the way, I liked your Facebook page and recommended it to five of my friends. Then I followed the link to Amazon, read the first two reviews and BOUGHT the Kindle version. Good luck! I’ve done all I can do to help, other than change a diaper or two…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,289 other followers

