A Father’s Love

handsofGodParentI always thought it would be easy to be a baby.

I mean, I know I was one once, but I honestly don’t remember a thing about it.

Think about it:

No taxes

No dishes to wash

No homework due

No fight up the corporate ladder

Just lots of food, lots of cuddling, and lots of pampering.

I used to think it would be nice to be a baby, but since taking Baby A. into our home, I’m realizing that it’s not so easy.

Poor girl can’t even hold her own head up. She’s completely, and 100% dependent on us.

For everything.

And if she has an itch on the back of her hand, we have no way of knowing about it.

She’s thinking, Stop rubbing my belly and scratch that darn itch! 

(Except what’s really going on in her mind is, Poeihaoiehagpoei papoe apoeiemb!)

Here I am shoving a soggy bottle in her face, and for all I know she just wants a better look at the picture on the wall behind her.

And don’t even get me started on diaper changes. Imagine being soppy down there, then stripped bare and exposed to the elements, and then having a cold wipey rubbed all over – and all this done by an amateur, and somewhat clumsy, father.

So already, we’re not perfect parents, but we’re doing the absolute best we can.

It’s nice though, that God is a perfect Father. And though we don’t know every single need our baby has, we know the basics.

And God has provided us with the patience and love that we need to see her through every obstacle in her little fragile life.

Seems to me we as Christians have a pretty good resource to tap into for extra help.

And when we need that extra bit of love and patience at three in the morning, I’ve been learning that prayer over my child is a pretty good tool to have to remind me that my job is to love Baby A just as God loves me in my fits of rage.

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

26 Responses to A Father’s Love

  1. Morgan says:

    A Beautiful Inspiration :) Thank You!!!

  2. Pingback: A Father’s Love | Chronicle of a Wayward Son

  3. Congrats on your new role. I am so glad our Heavenly Father understands our baby language in prayer better than we understand our children at that stage.

  4. I have learned much about our Lord from our daughters… from their birth through today, some 35 and 30 years later. I pray the Lord will continue to reveal Himself to you as He shows you the beauty and design of your daughter. So thrilled for you, it is an amazing journey.

  5. Pingback: Love of a Father | The Prince

  6. Charlie says:

    Every once in a while I will sit back and look at my own kids, at how imperfect they are, but how much in awe of them I am, and am immediately humbled at how God must look at me the same way. That I am so completely imperfect, yet He still looks at me as His own.

  7. Shannon says:

    We will be in your shoes in 48 hours or so! Our foster baby is scheduled to come home on Friday! He’s two weeks old today! Isn’t it nice knowing we have a Heavenly Father who knows what we need even before we do?! God bless you all!

  8. Great thoughts, thanks!

  9. Either i am very emotional or this struck a chord with me. Everyday my overwhelming love for my little one makes me cry when i see fathers adoring their little girls because my daughter has been denied that love from her own father. We live in a beautifu but equally cruel world. Do pray for us please. God bless. Sy

    • Prayers sent your way. She has a strong lovign mother and that alone is enough to be thankful for. Blessing to you. Stay strong and love her double much. One thing I’ve learned and I love my father dearly and with all my heart he is the greatest man I’ve ever known. But mothers love is equally beautiful, equally strong and of equal importance. One is all that is required to be enough. :)

      Your daughter is blessed to have such an awesome caring mom. The world isn’t cruel to be honest. But it isn’t equal or fair. Some have no mother and no father. Some have one or the others and others have both. Your’s has a strong loving mother and if that was all I ever knew it would have been enough.

    • I just said a prayer for you and your daughter. God bless you, too.

  10. You are her example of the Heavenly Father on earth. She will learn a fathers love from you. She is lucky to have such a father who cares and loves her so much. Not all are so lucky and I pray for those but for babies like baby A. I say thank you god for such an awesome loving home for your daughter.

    Just remember as she grows up your time and love will continue to set the example of the Heavenly Fathers love here on earth. She will “hate” the fishing trips and years later will look back and wish she had more of them. I hated every minute forced to fish for boring fish, though I liked the eating part of the fishing. It wasn’t till years later I realized it wasn’t about the fishing. It was about the time and love.

    You’re going to be a great dad just keep simple and remember to be that example. Most of all treasure every moment they grow up so fast and there is never a second chance to go back and spend just a little more time with them. Lots of love, quality time, listen to her, teach her and you will find you grow as much as she does.

    Blessings to mommy, daddy and baby A!

  11. Isn’t it amazing how God has given us living examples to help us understand our Heavenly Father. Parenthood is full of spiritual lessons for those who chose to learn them.

  12. nefretette says:

    Thanks for the post. I heard that ideal parent doesn’t exist. Everyone makes mistakes and learns how to do the best. Hope our children will be good and wise people.
    My almost 11 years old son told me that childhood is easier for the reasons you wrote. And because children can make mistakes but adults mustn’t.

  13. Congrats to the both of you on this new journey!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,275 other followers

