Welcome Home, Baby A!

baby hand

First off, happy Valentine’s Day to everyone!

I don’t remember when I’ve been so happy. Sarabeth and I have been waiting for a baby for a long time.

We learned about our foster daughter a week ago yesterday and took her home from the hospital a few days ago.

A question Sarabeth and I ask each other often is, “What’s your favorite thing about her?”

“Everything,” is always the answer. And we’re not at all exaggerating.

You parents know what I’m talking about.

I don’t need to describe the feeling of her wrapping her hand around your finger.

Or her not taking her eyes off you while she eats.

Or how she reaches for you when she’s crying, and tweaks your nose when you get up close for a kiss.

Or how she wraps her toes around your arm when you’re holding her.

It’s a feeling unlike any other in the world.

Now that Baby A. is home, we love the midnight feedings because that means we get to get up and hold her, and sing to her (Shawn Mullins, the Temptations, and Beach Boys have given us dads some pretty great go-to nighttime songs).

Because she’s still just our foster daughter, I told Sarabeth that if I’m ever angry having to get up to take care of her, to just remind me that Baby A could be somewhere else and not here in our house.

And our dogs! Our two dachshunds, one still a puppy, are so curious about her. I think our little girl has gotten more kisses this week than all the babies in the world have gotten this month.

Luckily she doesn’t seem to mind.

I don’t want these days to pass. I don’t want her to gain another pound or grow another inch.

But at the same time, I’m so excited to watch her grow, and learn, and play, and laugh, and run.

I hope, and pray, that we will have her for all of that. I hope I will get to teach her to drive, chase off curious boys, and walk her down the aisle.

But look at me, getting ahead of myself.

For now, I’m just happy to keep her tummy full, her ears full of music, her eyes fixed on her mommy and puppies, her heart full of comfort, and her hand warm with my finger.

For as long as we possibly can.

Help us new parents out by liking my debut novel on Facebook. (If I get enough likes on it, a bigger publisher will want to publish it.) Liking it will also give you a chance to win a free autographed copy of the second, bigger, better edition coming out soon (so don’t buy it just yet)! 

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

103 Responses to Welcome Home, Baby A!

  1. Fraukje says:

    Congratulations! Keep on enjoying it to the fullest!

  2. ricklittreal says:

    Congratulations!! Man, I am so happy for you and your wife. What a blessing! It’s also a huge blessing for Baby A to be surrounded by a loving family like you are. Praying for you this morning that God will pour His love into you as you pour it out on your sweet little girl.

  3. stump3d says:

    That’s sweet. It always makes me smile when I get to know examples of involved fathers. From the way you plan to become involved in Baby A’s life, I can say that she’s already pretty blessed. :)

  4. Congratulations! What a sweet gift, both her to you and you and your wife to her

  5. Open Closet says:

    Congratulations! I am so happy for you both, you sound like very loving parents, and Baby A. is very lucky you will be taking such great care of her! Babies grow up so fast, and soon she will be crawling around and getting into everything—so enjoy every minute while it lasts :) Blessings to you all!

  6. Congratulations! You and your wife love the baby so much that I hope you get to adopt her.

  7. Congratulations!! No sweeter gift. Our family welcomed a Baby M into my sister’s home five years ago. He was made for our family. Blessings to your family. Enjoy her!!

  8. Congratulations. Enjoy your house full of love!

  9. djholli920 says:

    This made me tear up, I can not wait until God’s perfect timing of a precious child of my own! I am so happy for your amazing blessing!

  10. Kim13 says:

    I am so overjoyed for you both! What a wonderful Valentines day gift…pure, unconditional love!

  11. Grats, she will be loved and you will be blessed. As a mom every day is better than the last even though they grow. Mine will be 15 in May and he is still my joy, my blessing and the greatest gift God has ever given me. Enjoy them they get better!

    /major hugs for the new family and all my prayers for the best future together ever.

  12. theadisolanki says:

    I wonder if you played smart or if you played clever. You described your daughter very well and thus, you made us crave to see her. Now, I doubt if you uploaded an incomplete picture of her to let us create our own image of her by what you have written or if you just want to leave us hanging by the cliff.

  13. Morgan says:

    OH so beautiful :) What a great way to celebrate the Holiday of Love !

  14. Brought a tear to my eye. Congrats mom and dad! Enjoy your sweet little bundle. What a very happy Valentine’s day for you.

  15. Enjoy every minute! So happy for you both!!!!

  16. Terese says:

    Congratulations! Praying you will someday walk Baby A. down the aisle on her wedding day!

  17. Happy Valentine’s Day and Congratulations! :D

  18. Jess says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day! What’s a great time to receive such a special gift! :-)

  19. Titanimom says:

    What wonderful news for you and your wife! Happy Valentine’s day with your newest blessing. Hope you get to do all of those things with her too. My husband and I are just finishing up our certification process to foster/adopt. It has been great to read your thoughts/posts on your journey.

  20. So happy for you! Happy Valentine’s Day! :D

  21. Becky says:

    Ohhhh, this is so great! I am so happy for you and your wife and Baby A! She is so blessed to have such wonderful arms to hold her and to love her. I understand what you mean about not wanting them to grow, and yet wanting to watch every minute that they grow! I hope and pray all the best for you and your little family :)
    Becky

  22. Tomi says:

    Awwwww congratulations. This is such amazing news. God bless you all.

  23. How exciting! My wife and I fostered for several years with the intention of adopting to add to our family. We have (now 15 yr old ) triplets but we’ve always wanted a large family. The adoptions never worked out, but that’s ok because that meant the children we were fostering went back to their families…which is how it’s supposed to work.

    Thank you for sharing your joy. Prayers to you and your family!

  24. Every minute that you are able to shower Baby A with love and kindness, food, warmth and comfort will be a blessing on her life. Congratulations and BLESS OU BOTH for caring enough to foster a child.

  25. Joe Seylange says:

    Congratulations on the new baby. Although I have no children, I have close to 30 nieces and nephews. They bring such great joy to their Uncle Joe. I read through a couple of posts and enjoy your theme of movies about true love. You have some great material here.

  26. Mel says:

    Congratulations to the both of you! Soooo happy to hear that your child has arrived! :) blessings, Melinda.

  27. Congratulations. There is nothing better in life than a new baby in your life. I teared up reading how she’s making you feel. Yes, we parents get it. Enjoy every moment. She sounds like she’s in great hands. I sincerely hope all your wishes and dreams come true. People like you deserve that. All the best and happy valentines day.

  28. cindyhfrench says:

    You know I am so thrilled for you both! This is so very awesome!

  29. Oh, congratulations! An answer to a first prayer and now we will pray for the forever and ever prayer. Enjoy each sleepless moment, I am thrilled for you and your little family. <3

  30. Cheri L. says:

    Such wonderful news! These are precious days. Take lots of pictures and continue in your wise decision to treasure every moment. I am praying for your family.

  31. Congratulations to you both! And may the beauty of it stay within your hearts forever. Namaste

  32. Congratulations to the happy family – that is now COMPLETE!

  33. Adrian B says:

    Congratulations!!!! Beautiful moments, enjoy them.

  34. Congratulations. The time passes so quickly, enjoy each moment.

  35. Mazl tov!!! It’s good luck in Hebrew. Enjoy raising her and save these precious moments, as babies tend to grow very quickly, and before you know it – you walk her down the aisle. I pray that when this happy event comes, we’ll read about it in your blog. I love your writing and happy to follow you. Wishing you three all the best .

  36. Jazmin Or says:

    Congratulations! She is a lucky baby to have you as her parents

  37. No way to compare this with any other feeling on earth. Enjoy every second!

  38. snow05 says:

    Thank you for this beautiful post. My heart is with you and your wife and baby A. My husband and I have been trying so long for a second child. I can only imagine the joy and uncertainty that comes with foster care. God bless you and your family and may Baby A. be with you as she walks down that aisle.

  39. That’s so exciting! Enjoy the miracle of her and of parenting.

  40. Debi Smith says:

    So happy for you to finally experience this even if you don’t know how long it will last!

  41. laurabennet says:

    congratulations! What a wonderful gift from the Lord. Glad you are savoring this precious time.

  42. Julia Fry says:

    Hi, I love your love of Baby A; it’s wonderful to read. I hope she does get to stay with such adoring parents. I wonder how it is that you map out a life for her in the way you have. I get that you’re saying you want to be there for her during important milestones in her life but what if she’s gay and the curious boys aren’t there but curious girls are? And what other biological preferences or life choices might she have/make that are different to your expectations? With love, Julia.

  43. Teresa says:

    Congratulations! I think your dreams are wonderful. I think dreaming about a future filled with great moments is not the same as mapping out her future, and I think all parents do this. I am so glad you have this opportunity to dream of the future.

  44. Vera says:

    Congrats!!! My heart is full of warmth by reading this. Welcome to parenthood :) It’s a grand ride :)

  45. CONGRATS!!!! So Happy for You!

  46. I am more excited for you than words could express! Thank God for such an amazing blessing! :D

  47. lorlyn63 says:

    So very happy for you and Sarabeth! Thanking God for precious Baby A and blessings to all three of you as a new chapter in your lives begins!

  48. Stop it! You’re making me broody! And I only want the boy band to be a four-piece (I just can’t choreograph for five).

    Enjoy these heavenly moments with your new daughter. Just breathe her in and hold your breath forever.

  49. I’ve been MIA from reading blogs lately and saw your post today and had to look back to read about Baby A! Congratulations – looking forward to much more from her. Prayers for you guys!!

  50. Pingback: A Little Treat For You Writers | adoptingjames

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,281 other followers

