My Grouchy Morning

grumpy_pop

It’s our tradition to have the news on in the mornings while eating breakfast.

Sometimes I must not get enough sleep, or I’m just a grouch. This morning was especially bad, as I made one sarcastic comment after another about the world news and the people that are screwing everything up.

Sarabeth doesn’t appreciate these comments much, even though I personally think they’re pretty legit – and hilarious. (“They’re neither of those things” she says as she looks over my shoulder as I write this.)

It’s bad enough not being a sociable morning person, but to be a sarcastic and grumpy one – that’s just got to be hard on our spouses. It’s no wonder the pups prefer to snuggle with Sarabeth instead of me.

I forget to rejoice in each morning and be glad, for this is the day the Lord has made.

Instead, I interpret that verse, “This is the day the Lord has made. Let us wait until we’re fully awake to be glad. Until then, be snappy and grouchy and insensitive and sarcastic. Even at the behest of my lovely, joyful wife.”

Sigh.

Guess it’s time to rub the milk off my mouth and go apologize. In fact, let’s all do that.

Let the grouchy cynics of the mornings unite.

If you were insensitive to your spouse this morning, fix things up, and do something nice for them today and apologize.

And tomorrow, when we wake up, let’s really rejoice and be glad, because it’ll be another day the Lord has made.

And it’ll be Friday. So really, that leaves no room for grouchiness.

 

 

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

34 Responses to My Grouchy Morning

  1. thompsons5 says:

    I needed to hear this. Thank you.

  2. Helen says:

    For me eating and watching bad news do not go together – and why start a brand new day with ‘the news’?!

  3. barbtaub says:

    Poor Sarabeth has ALL my sympathy.

    I grew up in a family of news hoarders. At an early age, we barricaded behind the cereal box. This was followed (less satisfactorily) by the daily newspaper, then smartphone, and now iPad. Somewhere along that path, I married into a family of news sharers. I’m sure even as a child, they were committing sins such as reading the back of the cereal box OUT LOUD to each other. Then there were letters full of news clippings, breakfast phone calls with the latest international emergency or conspiracy theory, animadversions on the state of the world, diatribes against politics du jour. And don’t even get me started on being subjected to YouTube videos, live chats, and google talk before I’ve been properly caffeinated.

    The words “justifiable homicide” have come up.

  4. Pingback: My Grouchy Morning | 2l2phant

  5. Adelemm says:

    Haha, this struck a chord with me. I don’t even have the mental capacity to be grumpy in the morning. I am in fact just plain useless. My (perky-in-the-morning) husband tries to tell me things, asks me to pick up milk on the way home, wants to know my thoughts on decorating the bathroom… The response he gets to all the above is a dumb stare (who is this person? What do they want from me?), or at best an urrrhhh sort of noise. Thanks for the follow, I’ve enjoyed reading your blog so far and will be back for sure!

  6. Elaine says:

    Oh this was a funny post to read! God bless your wife! Some of my older family members who are no longer with us used to have the habit of listening to their local radio station every morning at breakfast and it was fun to listen to one of my aunts and uncles in particular who would comment on every single thing that was said on the radio, whether it be regular news or the hometown events, birthdays of people in town, honors earned by others, etc. Sometimes there were some very grumpy comments made, especially by my uncle! :D

  7. Donna Marie says:

    Hilarious! Why? This is me almost every morning. Thanks for making me smile!

  8. cleopatra59 says:

    I’m more like Sleepy in the morning because I never have enough sleep.

  9. jnitro519 says:

    True! there are mornings that you just dont feel like it. no excuses, once in a while u are allowed to grouch and be irritated and be grumpy… But dont wallow in it. try as might as u can not to stay that way… Long day is ahead. you dont want to be negative the whole day. Spread positive vibes. ull never know whos really having a grouchy morning if they cant help it. thanks for this good reminder.

  10. Stephen W. Preston says:

    Yeah I know, I’m a grouch and that often makes me the biggest jerk to my beautiful wife. I sometimes take her for granted.

  11. realchange4u says:

    So true my brother.I can definitely get my feathers ruffled over the news. My remedy is I do not watch it. My sweet wife does and shares with me which this is ok for me this way I am not being grouchy all the time. Thanks for sharing good for us to hear there are others like us.

  12. To be honest, I never understood grouchy people, even if I am not a morning person. Especially, I can’t understand grouching at one’s spouse. I wish people would wake up happy in the morning, despite the bad news in the media. It’s all about proportion, isn’t it?

  13. agrudzinsky says:

    29 Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. … 31 Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. 32 Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

    — Ephesians 4

    I guess, it’s a good idea to shut up if what we want to say isn’t helpful or encouraging. Unfortunately, I often do not follow this advice. Thanks for reminding.

  14. Cassandra says:

    My husband is constantly watching the news. It overwhelms me. I will watch local news in the morning, for traffic and weather. The rest overwhelms me. :/

    I also was not a morning person for the first 2/3 of my life. Now that I have to get up so early for work, I find it hard to even sleep in on weekends.

    My hubby seems to wake up grumpy very other morning. LOL

  15. mrsgillies says:

    It’s the opposite for me. I am a grumpy night person.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,325 other followers

