Playlists and Truman

itunes_logo

I love creating playlists on my iTunes. In fact, you can say I’m a little obsessed.

Last summer I got it into my head to create a playlist of every (worthy) song and score from all the Disney movies I enjoy from Snow White to Wreck It Ralph.

I also put together a playlist of all the songs referenced or sung in my favorite show, The Office. I even have one called “Old School Christian” which features a lot of Audio Adrenaline, Newsboys, Supertones…

One of my most recent playlists is called “Songs From Every John Hughes Movie.” Yes, I’m talking Breakfast Club, Pretty in Pink, Farris Bueller’s Day Off, all those classic gems that encourage teenage rebellion and fighting The Man.

And now, I’m working on one which contains songs from every state, you know, in case we ever take another cross-country road trip. (“Alabama Pines” for Alabama; “Stephanie Says” for Alaska; “Blue Shadows (on the trail)” for Arizona, etc.) It’s a fun break from writing and editing.

But we keep playlists in our life, don’t we? We categorize things, compartmentalize, and corral certain events into certain areas of our heart. Some things we share with others, and some we keep secret. Some things we bring to God, and others we hoard.

A lot of times we’re embarrassed to talk to God about certain things because we feel like we’ve been so successful at hiding them from Him – keeping them locked away in our playlist of “Secret Things.”

Remember The Truman Show? You can keep your Paranormal Activity and Saw movies, because The Truman Show freaked me out enough. It convinced me that was Truman, and that everyone was plotting to keep the cameras a secret from me. And everything in my life, everything I did, was being recorded on camera for the world to see. 

Except when I did bad things.

Oh, because ironically, when I made conscious decisions to sin, the cameras would just happen to be broken – there would be a malfunction in the system, and so my sins were still kept secret from the world. And from God.

Convenient, huh?

But if I happened to feel particularly giving one day and I gave a taco to a homeless man (you have lots of chances to do that in California), the whole world was tuned in and God was giving me the big thumb’s up with a sparkle in that pearly-white smile.

Funny how we can deceive ourselves so much, isn’t it?

Even now, several years later, I have to catch myself and think, Wait a min. Nothing is kept from God – not even my innermost thoughts or intentions. 

With God, the cameras never turn off. And He knows every single song in my files of playlists.

“Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.” Hebrews 4:13

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

17 Responses to Playlists and Truman

  1. Thankyou for the reminder. It is easy to think we can hide things from God as we would a fellow human being.
    Wow ! Really is an assurance to me how gracious God really is.
    Thank you very much.

  2. lauramacky says:

    I love this post so much. A lot of those deceits or negative self talks are our own tapes from childhood. I could never do anything right, so unless I did something spectacularly well, I always felt I was a disappointment to God. At least that’s my case growing up without much love being shown or given and a mother that left when I was in my teens. But I’ve discovered God loves me just as I am and has always been there. He’s strong and steady. Thank you for reminding me. :)

  3. Alyce-Kay says:

    Love this! When I was a kid, I imagined I was always being watched on TV … much like the Truman Show (a little paranoid, maybe? or grandiose?). I love your perspective here. Will you share your playlist with songs from every state? I’d love to listen in.

    http://isaiah3020.wordpress.com/2014/01/08/how-to-teach-children-to-complete-a-chore-2/

  4. Love your playlists! I love the movie Truman also… but, something I have always told myself, If I can’t be honest with people I see, how can I be honest with God, whom I cannot see? It doesn’t make sense to anyone but me, but it keeps me honest. Great post. Thank you!

  5. Ethan says:

    Great post! It’ amazing how these lessons can come to us through the mundane things of everyday life.

  6. Music is amazing, isn’t it? At times it can be potent and visceral, like a drug, in that once it passes into our brain, it alters our consciousness, immediately bending our mood, changing how we feel.

    Music. It can be mystical. It can seem enchanted.

    But its just the vibration of air molecules.

    It doesn’t really make sense, why. Why music does what it does.

    But we are just drawn to it.

    Isn’t it amazing how music and memory intersect? The way a song can transport you to another place and time. How when you hear a song that was once popular on the radio, you feel, for an instant, as if you are back in that moment, dealing with what you dealt with.

    Because music and memory are so closely related, I think this is why we feel compelled to collect and collate music. We don’t want it just passing through the ether. Those songs are a part of us. We want to hold on to them.

    I don’t know why we have music.

    I don’t know what it means.

    But all humans have it. Across space, culture, and time.

    It is just a very human thing.

  7. One of my greatest pleasures in life (I have quite a few), is music. I have a very carefully chosen playlist on my iPod, since I first got it in 2009, but can’t add any more music to it unless I synchronise it (meaning – delete the music that’s already is in my iPod). So no new music :(
    I posted the music of my favourite list called love (very original, ha?) in my blog. U r welcome to read and hopefully enjoy: http://sharonharpaz.wordpress.com/2013/09/28/%D7%94%D7%9E%D7%95%D7%96%D7%99%D7%A7%D7%94-%D7%A9%D7%9C%D7%99/

  8. gmcgarrity says:

    a great post to read and to get deep in thought :)

  9. Reblogged this on quirkywritingcorner and commented:
    There are a few times I hoped God turned his head, but I doubt that he did. In the Book of Acts it has “God winked”, meaning he knew what was going on but chose not to do anything about it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,178 other followers

