My New Year’s Resolution

new-years-bucks-county

2013 may have brought a lot of tears for you.

Maybe it brought a lot of prosperity and happiness.

Maybe it was the year you met God. Maybe it was the year you fell from Him.

Maybe you got married, had kids, got a promotion.

Or got fired.

2013 means different things to everyone.

For me, though, whether it was a good year or a bad year, I resolve to let 2013 be the worst year of my life.

I lost my temper one too many times this year. I snapped at my wife too often. I yelled at God.

A lot.

We also got a new puppy this year, and we upgraded most of our electronics. I read 30 books and discovered a bunch of new music.

We visited Nashville, Ohio, North Carolina, Florida, and other states.

We attended no weddings, but also no funerals. And we celebrated the birth of several friends’ babies.

But regardless of all that, I resolve to let 2013 be the worst year.

And 2014 is going to be the best. Because I will snap at my wife less, date her more, and although I don’t care much for Louisville, Kentucky (compared to other parts of the country), I will live like this is our last year here and we have to see and do everything.

So come on, 2014. Bring it on.

The apocalypse may happen this year, whether by biblical proportions, or by zombies, but 2014 will still be the best.

Why?

Because of two things.

My attitude

and by praying more.

Share your New Year’s resolutions below and encourage all of our readers to make 2014 the best year ever.

Win a free autographed copy of my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. Click here for details. (“There was no going to bed until I’d reached the end. The suspense had me on the edge of my seat with worry … heart thumping out of control the whole time, except for that one minute where it almost stopped.” -Danielle E. Shipley, author and blogger)

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

35 Responses to My New Year’s Resolution

  1. Morgan says:

    Fantastic Post, Friend :) Blessings and Joy for a Happy New Year !

  2. Erick says:

    Great positive post…I’m going to try to have a better attitude about waiting…there is a lot that can be learned by having to wait…it doesn’t have to be a waste!

  3. My son’s hockey coach always says, “Leave it on the ice.” Move on, look ahead!

  4. Do the next thing – stop looking over my shoulder or to the end product. Do the next thing in front of me and enjoy the moment.

  5. lauramacky says:

    I pray to allow God even more into my life so that I may gain a greater perspective on my life. I pray to be a better me than I was in 2013 and with God by my side, I know I will have the strength and support I need. Happy New Year!

  6. directorb says:

    Awesome post! Our attitude can affect so much. Thanks for sharing, and Happy New Year!

  7. Wow amazing post! May God Bless you :D

  8. T. Roberts says:

    I’m glad that you’ve resolved to make 2014 your best year yet and I pray for you that it will be just that!

  9. aiofflight says:

    #10. Laugh more, laugh louder, laugh harder.
    #12. Hug someone at least once a day.

  10. I have resolved to resolve…something. For though the tears are not very rare, the soul is given a power when they are there.

  11. Benmo says:

    Thanks for your insight and inspiration!

  12. Mummy A says:

    Thank you for the post! Attitude is everything and may 2014 be a great year for everyone because of our attitude in seeking God’s pleasure.

  13. Very inspiring! Happy New Year!

  14. LuAnn says:

    A wonderful post! May you and your family have many blessings in 2014. :)

  15. narami says:

    Have a blessed 2014! & Thanks for the follow!

  16. Happy new year, love the positive attitude!

  17. cleopatra59 says:

    Enjoyed reading your new year’s resolutions. Hope all goes well with the adoption.

  18. Great post! My resolve this year is to refuse to complicate following Jesus. Embracing the good and simple Gospel…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,184 other followers

