Linus Nails It

lucy-linus-agency

“Remember when we were all sitting around the Christmas tree, opening our presents? That’s when you said it.”

“That’s when I said what?”

“It was beautiful. You said, ‘Why do we have to be nice to each other only on Christmas? Why can’t we be nice to each other every day?’”

Lucy then storms off, shouting, “You drive me crazy!”

And Linus, having won more TV and beanbag time, concludes in It’s Christmastime Again, Charlie Brown, “Joy to the world.”

Linus seems to nail it every time, doesn’t he?

So, brothers, sisters; husbands, wives; mothers, daughters…

The next time you grow impatient with your loved one, think back to two days ago – the look on their face when they watched you open that Wii console, or that rare edition of your favorite book.

I’ll think about how self-sacrificing my wife was getting me that 40″ LED Smart TV I’ve been bugging her about for over a year. And that ice cream maker. We don’t have room for an ice cream maker in the kitchen, but she knows how obsessed I am with ice cream, so she got it for me anyway.

I think that’s one way we can keep Christmas in our hearts all year long.

Remember December 25th, and how loving our family was in getting us things we don’t need or deserve.

But they went out of their way to get us those things anyway.

Because they love us.

Yes, that’s right, Linus: Joy to the world, indeed.

Win a free autographed copy of my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. Click here for details. (“Expect dinosaurs and giant creepy-crawlies. And if that kind of thing scares you, then you’re like me, which means you’ll go ahead and read the book anyway, with no one to blame but yourself for all the flinching you’ll do…” -Danielle E. Shipley, author and blogger)

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

9 Responses to Linus Nails It

  1. Elaine says:

    Lovely post and so true! Linus does have it right! Happy New Year to you and your wife!

  2. Good point. Look for ways to give love. It’s about the little things.

  3. Morgan says:

    Everything I know I learned from Linus…well, nearly :) Brilliant post !

  4. Pingback: Linus Nails It – Beautifully put! | saturn1ascends

  5. I suspect the intentions were less than pure. Ironically that profound statement won him some much desired time away from Peanuts’ biggest jerk. But the message is the important part, even if it’s lost on certain people.

  6. this post makes me smile. thanks.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,194 other followers

