The Best Christmas Songs You’ve Never Heard Part III

SONY DSC

We’ve all heard “Winter Wonderland” and “Little Drummer Boy” thousands of times this Christmas alone. If you need some fresh new songs to play in the car that still capture the Christmas spirit, take a look at the list. They’re all available on iTunes.

Click here for PART I and Part II.

“The Bells of Christmas” by Loreena McKennit – Remember the movie where Tim Allen becomes Santa Claus? This song that plays while he sees the North Pole for the first time will definitely send Christmas shivers up your spine.

“How Many Kings” by Downhere – I really like this Christian group; their EP album is one of my favorites in the Christian genre. This Christmas song they put out a few years ago, is admittedly missing that “Christmas sound,” but the lyrics are certainly fitting for the season and very thought-provoking.

“Breath of Heaven (Mary’s song)” by Point of Grace – It’s not Christmas until I hear this little ditty I grew up with. I remember my mom playing it whenever we had a Christmas party at our house or while we just sat around drinking egg-nog and frosting our Christmas cookies.

“When a Child is Born” by Wilson Phillips – It’s got that old-school feeling, but still makes a little magic inside.

“A Strange Way to Save the World” by 4Him – Eat your heart out, Mark Lowry.

“One Quiet Moment” by GLAD – These guys, like First Call, are just awesome! Original Christmas songs, and powerful vocals that will rock your world.

“We Need a Little Christmas” by Glee – I don’t watch Glee, but select songs from their Christmas CDs are worth giving a listen to. This is one of them.

“Jesus Joy of the Highest Heaven (A Children’s Carol)” by Keith and Kristyn Getty- Sarabeth and I went to their Christmas concert last year, and I can’t recommend their whole CD enough. I wrote about it here.

“This is Christmas” by Plus One – Sarabeth plays this CD a lot during Christmas. It makes me think of our early years together, so naturally, I get very giddy inside.

“Glorious” by Melissa Etheridge- I heard this song on a Christmas episode of Parenthood. 

“In Like a Lion (Always Winter)” by Relient K – And what’s Christmas without a little Narnia 

 

 

 

 

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

32 Responses to The Best Christmas Songs You’ve Never Heard Part III

  1. cbaltazer says:

    Reblogged this on Audible Thoughts. and commented:
    I’ve been listening to the same songs my whole life this is not too bad of an idea :)

  2. Elaine says:

    Thank you for sharing this music, Haven’t listened to all of them yet but I love Jesus, Joy of the Highest Heaven! May I have your permission to share it on my blog?

  3. nantubre says:

    Love love love!! Thank you for posting this! I’m going to reblog too…

  4. nantubre says:

    Reblogged this on Nan Tubre Writes . . . and commented:
    Oh ya’ll, please check out these ‘different’ Christmas songs first posted by adoptingjames on WordPress… These will certainly put you in the mood!

  5. I discovered Loreena Mckennitt years ago always enjoyable thanks for sharing this.

  6. Adrian B says:

    Beautiful songs. Merry Christmas to you and you family.

  7. Great song selection, I always hear something new!
    I like Andrew Petersen’s “Labour of Love”….

  8. jennypugh says:

    Thanks for posting, as I haven’t heard any of these songs. I have favourited the links for parts 1, 2 and 3 to listen to :)

  9. Breath of Heaven has always been one of my all time beloved Christmas songs. I think Amy Grant’s rendition is probably my personal fave.

  10. Pingback: 20 Alternative Christmas Songs (Part 1) | supermastitis

  11. rhchatlien says:

    I love listening to little known Christmas songs. My favorite Christmas CD of all time is On This Day Earth Shall Ring. It has some wonderful selections: http://www.amazon.com/This-Earth-Shall-Songs-Christmas/dp/B000000MTJ/ref=sr_1_1?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1386686476&sr=1-1&keywords=on+this+day+earth+shall+ring

  12. Charli Mills says:

    Enjoyed your selections! Listening to Christmas music is one of my favorite aspects of the Christmas season. So uplifting!

  13. Pingback: 89. Plain, Mundane, and Common | apple hill cottage

  14. Pingback: It’s Christmas Time in the City… | Fika After Fifty Digital Photography and Art

  15. Bill Sampsel says:

    Like the best christmas songs I’ve never heard. If your bloggers would like to hear another little known song that I wrote, you can find it here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhrHrRzri1c

  16. Pingback: The Unconventional Christmas Playlist | Cumuloquoise Blog

  17. Pingback: The 5 WORST Christmas Song Remakes | Daily ReHash

  18. Pingback: Christmas Spirit | Theatre Woes

  19. Shane says:

    Hi, I just saw that you used a Bible Video from The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints for the “Breathe of Heaven (Mary’s Song). I hope you got permission to use it. Probably not. Well, I’m not going to report you, but just keep in mind.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,046 other followers

