Follow Up All Your Shopping with Something Free

man in box

I just received the incredible news that my novel, The Man in the Box is the first of my publishers’ free ebooks to hit number 1! And it’s the most popular book right now in contemporary fantasy! 

Honestly, I don’t know what all that means, but that’s what my publisher relayed to me. So, yeah, I’m pretty thankful for that and to everyone who picked up a free copy and made that possible.

But as great as I (and most everybody who reads it) thinks it is, I’m just not satisfied with it. If it were a movie, it’d be filled with continuity issues and minor plot holes, and that’s not good enough for me and my readers deserve better. I set out to write the best adventure/suspense novel I could, and it’s still just a step or two away from that mark of perfection.

This is not to discourage you from picking up a free ebook copy of The Man in the BoxToday is the last day it’s free, so get it, and keep it at number 1. But for those who do read it but get a little hung up on the mistakes and some awkwardly-worded sentences, (don’t worry, I do, too) I just wanted to let you know that I’m currently revising it.

Kind of like George Lucas remastering Star Wars. Plus, I’m adding new scenes and new characters to really help charge the action and tension. So download a free copy, get a feel and an idea for the book to help you decide if you’ll want to invest in the revised edition when it comes out in a few weeks.

What is The Man in the Box about? 

The Man in the Box is about an average family man, with a wife and kids, who gets overwhelmed with the dullness of life. He inadvertently discovers an imaginary world inside a cardboard box in which he is hailed as a god. Naturally, when he comes back home, he longs to return to that world. And as he goes back and forth, he becomes increasingly addicted to his fantasy world, forsaking the responsibilities of being a husband and father.

What are people saying about it? 

“Simple stories distract us. Good stories stir us. Powerful stories move us. Andrew Toy has written a story that rips the shroud covering the silent beast crouching near all of us, the life of emptiness and despair. He creates a compelling narrative truth of life as it is and as we want it; and he offers a peek at a hope for us all. I urge you: Relax in your favorite chair, pull up a footstool, and read The Man in the Box. Be prepared for the peaks and valleys of adventure, fantasy, real life, and war.”

-Sam Williamson, Founding Director, Beliefsoftheheart.com

“Expect dinosaurs and giant creepy-crawlies. And if that kind of thing scares you, then you’re like me, which means you’ll go ahead and read the book anyway, with no one to blame but yourself for all the flinching you’ll do … There was no going to bed until I’d reached the end. The suspense had me on the edge of my seat with worry about how everyone was going to get out of this, heart thumping out of control the whole time, except for that one minute where it almost stopped.”

-Danielle E. Shipley, author and blogger

Neat thing about this book is that while it is fast, fun, and easy to read, it also has the depth to be discussed and debated. Is it a biblical allegory? Is it the author’s way of telling the story of his own personal addiction in a creative code? An interesting look at addiction and its effects; you can’t blame the main character for getting drawn in. I often found myself wanting him to return to his addiction so that I could experience it with him!

-C. Vega, Amazon reviewer

More reviews here and on Amazon and Goodreads

Who is This Book for?

Anyone who’s ever wished for a better life. It’s recommended for ages 13 and up as a few scenes might be too violent for children.

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

24 Responses to Follow Up All Your Shopping with Something Free

  1. marquis784 says:

    Congrats! Great news!

  2. Clicked on the link, downloaded “Man in the Box.” Thanks sharing, look forward to reading it.

  3. Cindi says:

    Congrats! I just downloaded it to my Kindle; I look forward to reading it!

  4. Thanks for sharing! I’m looking forward to reading your work :)

  5. Heart Mommy says:

    Just downloaded it! I look forward to reading it.

  6. Hooray! Can’t wait to read it!

  7. Congratulations, great news!

  8. Imaan Bux says:

    Wow that’s amazing, good things are on its way!

  9. Fantastic Congratulations

  10. Kama says:

    Sounds interesting. I don’t remember reading a book with daddy as a main character for a long time, so probably one day I’ll get to it. For now buying a book on Amazon is not possible.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,185 other followers

