The Best Christmas Songs You’ve Never Heard Part I

Christmas-Carols-1

We’ve all heard “Rudolph the Red-Nose Reindeer” and “Silent Night” a billion times. But have you ever heard these Christmas songs? Give these a listen and add them to your holiday-travel playlists for your trip over the river and through the woods. Then, please share your favorite Christmas songs that we might have never heard before so we can add it to our collections.

“An Evening in December” by First Call – This song is particularly special to me since my wife introduced it to me when we met. Apparently it’s been in their family for years. Just get your hankies out before listening to it, because it’s hard to have a dry eye by the end. In fact, the entire album by First Call (“An Evening in December vols. I & II”) is perfect for Christmas enjoyment.

Intro to “Mickey’s Christmas Carol” - Nostalgia for those who grew up watching this, and a fresh new treat for those unfortunates who haven’t seen this Disney masterpiece.

“Heaven Everywhere”, “Christmas Is”, “Marshmallow World” by Francesca Battistelli - This is one of the few CDs where I purchased the entire album. I haven’t heard much of Francesca Battistelli outside of this Christmas album, but I’ll definitely be visiting her other work throughout the year. 

“You’re Here” by Francesca Battistelli - This is sort of an alternative to “Mary Did You Know”, and I think it’s just a bit more intimate as it’s sung by Mary’s perspective and celebrating the fact that Jesus is finally here.

“Joy to the World” by Train - This is actually a pretty cool reimagining of the Christmas classic as they intertwine some of their own songs into the mix.

“Something in the Air” by Grayson Sanders and Jono - Apparently this was featured in a Coke commercial, but it’s great, nonetheless. #CokeBeatsPepsi!

I’ve got some more songs, so check back later in the day for an update.

And don’t forget to please share YOUR favorite Christmas songs we’ve never heard in the comments below!

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

31 Responses to The Best Christmas Songs You’ve Never Heard Part I

  1. Lori says:

    Carol Of the Bells Has always been my favorite. But this group of young men leave goose bumps!
    Liberia Official

  2. thomasjford says:

    I do love a christmas song! The well known ones are well known for a reason I think, but you can find some hidden gems if you try. Why don’t you seek out Sufjan Stevens xmas records, they are pretty good!

  3. I was already sharing it on FB before I got to the end of your post! This was GREAT and so timely for me. I was just lamenting the lack of new music on our Christmas playlist. Not a problem now!
    A good one to check out would be “God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman” by Callie and Colette on Youtube. I like their version VERY much.

    Another good one is Lanae Hale’s “Carol of the Bells.” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YeG0IczWZAA&feature=share&list=PLC054586F0C8B921B&index=3

    And anything by Audrey Assad. :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8hzUH62AJJg&feature=share&list=PLC054586F0C8B921B&index=21

  4. Love First Call! I first heard this song 23 years ago and sang it to my first baby before and after he was born. With my second child 18 years later, I sang the same song as well. I don’t like a lot of Christmas songs, but this one I love the most.

  5. Queen’s “Thank God It’s Christmas” is one of my favorites, and one that I’ll be including on the blog I’m doing as a 33rd-anniversary surprise for my wife.

  6. StephNic says:

    There are some great Christmas songs out there… One of my favorites is “Labor of Love” by Andrew Peterson. In fact, the whole album (Behold the Lamb of God) is great! Another favorite is “Hallelujah (Light Has Come)” by BarlowGirl!

  7. suzjones says:

    Loved all of these… thanks so much everyone for sharing. :)

  8. Pingback: Christmas Songs You’ve Never Heard Part II | adoptingjames

  9. This is great! here are some we love: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nOA3uvGecNs Linda Eder doing a Lion King-ish version of “Do you hear what I hear”, Jars of Clay doing Drummer Boy, Mariah Carey’s “Joy to the World” –all of these LOUD, you know how we are! And Stevie Nicks doing Silent Night. Yum.

  10. Pingback: The Best Christmas Songs You’ve Never Heard Part I | The Nerd Life Stories

  11. Reblogged this on quirkywritingcorner and commented:
    good singing

  12. Pingback: 25 Days of Christmas Songs | Girl dans la Cité

  13. Pingback: 5 Awesomely Hilarious Christmas Songs | Sexy Moxie Mama

  14. Pingback: Twisted Tuesday’s Mix Tape: Holicraze | Cheri Speak

  15. Pingback: Christmas Songs | Happiness Campaign

  16. Pingback: The Best Christmas Songs You’ve Never Heard Part III | adoptingjames

  17. Pingback: Worst Christmas Songs Ever | Livin La Vida Broke-a

  18. Pingback: Music Thursdays: Geek Alabama’s Top Christmas Songs | Geek Alabama

  19. Pingback: Sexy Moxie Mama

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,195 other followers

