Realizing Life

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The holiday season seems to come at us faster and faster every year. I feel like we just put away the 4th of July fireworks and now I’ve got pumpkin ice cream in my freezer and Egg Nog in my fridge.

The dust hasn’t even settled on the rolls of wrapping paper from last year.

Having just turned a new decade, no one needs to remind me how quickly time flies. But I still need the reminder.

As you gather around the Thanksgiving table with your family next week – whether you like them or not – I want to challenge you to really take the time to relax, and breathe. Enjoy your families, regardless of the circumstances. One day Uncle Fred or Grandma or Dad aren’t going to be sitting at that seat, and you’ll miss them.

If you feel that the holiday season has become mundane, soak it in anyway, because one day, you’ll look back on it all and miss it. And if you do this, your attitude will change.

If you’re like me and hate shopping, go with your spouse anyway this Christmas season, and have fun. Don’t throw a fit, or pout, because one day, you’ll regret soiling would-be sweet memories. Take in every moment – the good and mundane – fix the bad ones, and don’t continue to leave behind regrets of lost memories.

I’ll leave you now with a chilling passage from the third and final act of Our Town, the haunting Pulitzer prize-winning play by Thornton Wilder. Emily, the young, hopeful bride from the preceding act has died and is in the grave observing a very dull day in her early life.

Emily - I can’t. I can’t go on. It goes so fast. We don’t have time to look at one another.

She breaks down sobbing…

Emily (cont.) - I didn’t realize. So all that was going on and we never noticed. Take me back – up the hill – to my grave. But first: Wait! One more look. Good-by, Good-by, world. Good-by, Grover’s Corners… Mama and Papa. Good-by to the clocks ticking… and Mama’s sunflowers. And food and coffee. And new-ironed dresses and hot baths… and sleeping and waking up. Oh, earth, you’re too wonderful for anybody to realize you.

She looks toward the stage manager and asks abruptly, through her tears:

Emily (cont.) - Do any human beings ever realize life while they live it? – every, every minute?

Stage Manager - No.

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

35 Responses to Realizing Life

  1. vrichardram says:

    The time you speak of will pass .. just as quickly as you wait on that adoption call. Before you know it , school,, graduation . college and grand parenting. God Bless for caring enough to adopt..

  2. Lukraakvars says:

    Yikes!! Chilling indeed! I am the type of person who turns into the Grinch around this time of year… this is making me rethink my motives and actions. Thank you and may you and your family be blessed with every good blessing that our heavenly Father has to give!

  3. Shoes Summerfield says:

    Great post! Thank you for sharing. It’s a good reminder to appreciate *everything* and so often we don’t. I appreciate this one today; as I know I’ll be dragged (no, wait…i am going to willingly and joyfully go) to the crowded streets and shops this weekend! :-D

  4. librarylady says:

    Thanks, this hit me right between the eyes. Life flys by so fast anymore, and I need to remember to be in the moment. Great post for this time of year.

  5. I actually LOVE this time of year! I like to cheer up the “Scrooges” too :)

  6. gapark says:

    Good reminder to be in the moment.

  7. Excellent! I didn’t want that post to end. Thank you! :)

  8. Becky says:

    Thank you for the gentle reminder. Every year, this is my goal, to slow down, try and appreciate every moment, and don’t get caught up in the “busy-ness” of the seasons. It just works better that way :)

  9. Fantastic photo of the pocket watch.

  10. directorb says:

    Wow. A very sobering reminder of how precious every moment is. I heard something recently that spoke of how important it was to accomplish everything you were meant to each and every day. Like you said we never know when a loved one might be gone or a moment that we can never get back.

  11. Great post, love the ‘Our Town’ quote. Just starting to add a ‘thankful’ to each of posts. We all need to smell the roses.

  12. You’ve been nominated for the Liebster award at http://aghostdancer.wordpress.com/2013/11/22/liebster-award/ thanks and keep writing.

  13. Pingback: Friday Pick 77 | talktodiana

  14. Patty B says:

    although I am already enjoying your post I wanted to let you know it was a nice surprise to see you recommended on talktodiana’s Fri picks. Your blog is always heartwarming and encouraging.

  15. Astrid says:

    Thanks for following me. I like this post. It makes it clear that we need to be grateful for every moment. I don’t get along iwht my family that well, but I’m going ot take this message hoe this year.

  16. aharriette says:

    Reblogged this on heels for jeans and commented:
    Great for family and friends-re blogged

  17. aharriette says:

    This post just altered my demeanor-eish, no more droopy faces.

  18. Feral Soul says:

    It’s a shame everyone doesn’t think like this.

  19. Wow, I really connected with that seeing as though I’m having a midlife crisis. Awesome!

  20. Pingback: Life Suck? Then Religion could be Stealing Your Joy! #christianity #atheism #freethinking |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,185 other followers

