Country Music Part I

country-music

I was a big fan of country music from my freshman year at high school up until about two years ago. After listening to so much of it, though, I came to the realization that they all sound pretty much the exact same. There’s just not much variety in that genre. But there are still a few country songs that I like to return to every once in a while and that actually stand out from the rest. Here are a few of my favorites:

Letter to Me by Brad Paisley – Did you know that Anne Banks from the movie Father of the Bride is married to Brad Paisley? Anyway, this song is fun and relatable for any guy who grew up as an all-American. Takes listeners through the ups and downs of adolescence as Paisley writes a letter to himself and sends it back it time to when he was seventeen. It’s also a reminder to us to appreciate what we have now, right before us.

Sweet Southern Comfort by Buddy Jewell – It’s a little more hokey than most people might care for, but the lyrics are majestic, and takes listeners back to the small town America that most of us missed. This song makes me cry over the kind of life I wish I’d lived, catching catfish on the river, playing in the mud, and sitting under weeping willows. Not that I’m not thankful for the life I did live, I guess the grass is just greener on the other side.

Have You Forgotten by Darryl Worley – Yeah, it’s’ a controversial song, and makes an unpopular political statement, but man, seriously! I think we have forgotten how it felt that day, “to see our homeland under fire and her people blown away.” Never forget. Thank you, Mr. Worley, for your courage in making this song.

My Front Porch Looking in by Lonestar – I’ve purposefully listened to this song no less than a hundred times. Another song that encourages its listeners to love and appreciate their blessings. Love, love, love this song, and always makes me thankful for my wife when I hear it.

Chicken Fried by Zac Brown Band – The only other country song I love more than “My Front Porch Looking In” is this song right here. I’m sure you’ve heard it on the radio a dozen or so times. But give it another glorious listen. Just do it. And see if you can’t sit outside in your jeans with a cold beer just once more before the winter hits. Or maybe we’re too late, but spring will be here soon. Also, I love the tribute they pay to our heroes on the front lines. After all, that’s what gets me coming back to country music every now and again.

 

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

15 Responses to Country Music Part I

  1. you listed some good ones here…

  2. My Front Porch Looking In is one of my favorites. It just makes me feel good when I hear it. :) I don’t listen to a lot of country, but you have some great ones here.

  3. Genevieve says:

    These are some of the best ones out there.

  4. bwbyars says:

    I definitely love “Country Fried.” Country music has a reputation as “divorce” music, but seriously I think the best songs are the ones that are just about life. Having said that, I especially like Brad Paisley. My funny bone can’t resist “I’m Gonna Miss Her.”

  5. This song was only on the radio for a couple months, but it remains one of my tops: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iCGx-HOrerQ

  6. maxwild74 says:

    These are fairly new songs I enjoy the classics.

  7. I am a fan of Lonestar but I have to admit that I did not get what the song was about until I saw the lyrics on the screen. brilliant.
    I love country music and when we came to the States a few year back that’s all we listened to. Yes after a while it tends to be repetitive because of playlists. I wish there was a country based radio in the UK!
    thanks for sharing these tracks. I have discovered some artists I did not know and I will check more out about them…
    great post

  8. I love the songs you put together for this! I’ll reblog on mine, and I’ve already posted it to facebook. Thanks.
    One of these days I’ll learn how to do more with my computer besides a glorified typewriter.

  9. Reblogged this on quirkywritingcorner and commented:
    I love country western. You can’t help but move whatever the song.

  10. Jamie Peters says:

    Having lived in Boca Raton for several years, listening to the 103.1 WIRK has become a daily ritual for me. I start my day with a cup of coffee and a side of the WIRK ‘Morning Show’. WIRK is a stay at home mom’s best source for great entertainment. Tune in today or stream online at http://www.wirk.com!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,269 other followers

