We Know Jack

JackPosed001.jpga22df4a0-1d83-4a04-9e57-9ac19bc3d088Larger

The Nightmare Before Christmas is a fun treat for this time of year for many, twisted as it may be. But upon further reflection of the little claymation film, I came to the conclusion that it’s really not that twisted at all.

Upon a casual viewing of the film it could be pretty disturbing seeing Santa get kidnaped by young trick-or-treaters and a boy pulling a shrunken head out of a Christmas box and a giant python gobbling up a Christmas tree.

The thing is, though, The Nightmare Before Christmas describes our daily existence quite clearly.

In the movie, Jack the Pumpkin King is discontented with his life and the world around him. Everywhere he looks is death, and ghosts, and monsters. But when he inadvertently stumbles upon Christmastown, his eyes are opened to something different, something better. Snow, presents, and “good feeling all around!” And he’s anxious to share his findings with the citizens of Halloweentown.

Since the Fall of man, no one is completely content with life. We’re all wanting something different – something more. Funerals and broken hearts and hospitals, our real-life monsters and ghouls, make us grow weary with despair. We know, deep down inside that there’s just got to be something better out there… something magical… something… heavenly.

So when you watch The Nightmare Before Christmas, try to see our world in Halloweentown. Understand that we too have labeled everything wrong with this world as normal and commonplace. Sickness is mundane, illegal activities are expected, and death is monotonous.

See also how we’ve distorted nearly every good thing God has given us by our cross jokes or gluttunous behaviors. We’re no different from the citizens of Halloweentown when God tries to present to us good and perfect gifts from above and we twist them into perversities and jokes.

And think about what it is in your own life you’ve been wanting, longing for. Search for it – hunt it out. Like a starving animal, pursue that longing that tickles your fancy in the dark of night. Grab onto it, and study it. For that longing, most likely, is the yearning for a higher place, among the heavenly realms of God’s Kingdom where sickness, and death, and sadness, and monsters, and ghouls have no place.

And tell everyone about it. Because you can bet they’re looking for the same thing you are.

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

23 Responses to We Know Jack

  1. Great post! Love the movie and I love searching and discovering “Christmastowns” everywhere I go. Thanks for the post.

  2. love Nightmare before Christmas.. also love that the Haunted Mansion in Disneyland is decorated like it for Halloween and Christmas… thanks.

    • I love when that’s decorated. Makes an okay ride great! It was because of that ride that made me revisit this movie years ago – because they played the fun music while we were in line the whole time, and it stuck with me.

      • As soon as I saw the title of your post the song came into my mind and I immediately got in a mood to drive to Disneyland, although those days are gone for me and it is no longer a quick jaunt up the road to Anaheim. Love this movie, it is one to watch often.

        • I spent most of my life near Anaheim, but I’m now in Kentucky, and I just told my wife three days ago: “I desperately need a Disneyland trip.” “Someday,” she responded. “Someday we’ll go back.”

      • I mentioned you and this post in my post today. Your post inspired my post and I thank you for that. I woke up today and I had no clue as to what I was going to write for the 31 day challenge I have jumped into. Thank you very much! Appreciate your words today.

  3. Myas says:

    All I can say is my 3-year old grandson can sing this film from start to finish. It has fascinated him since he first laid eyes on it. Where other spooky stuff may startle him, this does not.

  4. Pingback: On Missing a Way of Life… 31 Days of Observing… | dearanonymousfriend

  5. I KNEW there was a reason I liked this film (beyond me liking the macabre style of Tim Burton), and you just deliniated it for me sir! Great insight!

  6. I just liked the movie because it’s a different take on Halloween and the romance between Jack and Sally is very sweet.

  7. Genevieve says:

    I love the analogy that you have made here. It rings so true.

  8. CBurns says:

    Thanks for this post! Timely one for me…. you can bet I will watch that movie with a new pair of glasses! Another movie to watch with this in mind is The Truman Show. Have a loving weekend ;)

  9. Mary says:

    Excellent example of “life” and the “mundane living” for most of us.

  10. Love this movie and alot of Tim Burton’s work!!! So meaningfully and deep. I’m going as the corpse bride Emily for halloween this year, she is a beautiful reminder to me of the blessings God has given me. http://instagram.com/p/fZnRIcicjS/

  11. Atidecrem says:

    Thank you for your post! I very much understand what you meant about the want and longing in life, about searching for it, and I am truly grateful to have found. It resonated in my life so much!

    I hope for all the best as you continue the process of adopting James. Your hearts are truly beautiful, and I can’t wait to read more of your posts.

    Thank you also for following my blog.

    Blessings always,
    Mercedita

  12. Congrats on the fostering and adoption. Many children out there needing love and a good safe home. May you find blessing in this calling.

    Now the review: I liked this it was personal and well considered. Beautifully written.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,265 other followers

