Victory Through Tragedy

2013-08-19-Baker_911_1

On this particularly difficult day in America, I’d like for us to take a moment and pray for those who were directly affected by the 9/11 terror attacks twelve years ago.

Pray for their hearts, wounded and salted by this anniversary.

Pray for their courage as they seek a nearly unreachable forgiveness.

Pray for their kids whose questions grow more difficult each day.

Pray for their parents who may have only known the love of one child.

Pray for their hands, that they allow others to reach for them in grace.

Pray for their souls, that they would be open to receiving the love of God in their lives.

Pray for their souls some more, that they would be able to discern the works of Jesus versus the works of man.

Pray for their souls yet some more, that they would hear the voice of God calling out to them in their pain.

Pray for their souls continually, that they will soon enter into a Place where their tears will be wiped away, and their pain will be felt no more.

And rejoice. When a soul is found by God through pain, who turns mourning into joy.

And that, my friends, is the ultimate victory through tragedy.

“You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.” - Genesis 50:20 (Joseph to his brothers who beat, and betrayed him)

____________________

Tomorrow: Please be ready to welcome Kristy Mapp of Oh-mag.com as she weighs in on a previous post: “Here’s the Great Thing About Abortion.”

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

14 Responses to Victory Through Tragedy

  1. Rana says:

    Reblogged this on The Villain Authoress and commented:
    This is so eloqently put, that I have nothing further to add other than God bless America. <3
    Rana

  2. Beautiful. Thank you. DAF

  3. An absolutely beautiful set of prayers.

  4. rowdyroid says:

    the most sincere way to put a loss such as 9/11 in a prayer

  5. nodimlight says:

    I cannot explain how this prayer moved me. Even to the point of goose bumps. I am going through some difficult healing right now, and today was especially difficult. The verse you quoted spoke right to my heart, and God intended for me to hear it. Its amazing what He will do to reach His children. God bless you. I will be praying for these victims.

  6. Terri says:

    Absolutely LOVE this! Reblogging, if you don’t mind…

  7. Terri says:

    Reblogged this on I Love Life and commented:
    I wasn’t sure exactly how to commemorate the 12th anniversary of 9/11, but Andrew has written a beautiful prayer guide for today. I think one of the best ways to say “I remember” is through recognizing the struggles that those left behind STILL face, even so many years later, and praying for them to be lifted by God.
    I also pray for those whose lives were lost; may they be at peace now and, although their lives were taken through a pure evil act, have comfort now in the arms of Jesus.

  8. Pingback: Hear our Prayer – For our Country | I Pray 4 U

  9. ipray4ublog says:

    Your prayer inspired my prayer. Thank you for your inspiration and your prayer.
    http://ipray4ublog.wordpress.com/2013/09/12/hear-our-prayer-for-our-country/

  10. Reblogged this on mugendainoyume and commented:
    sugoi

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,320 other followers

