Out of God’s Hands

primSomething traumatic happened to our puppy this morning. Something I will have a hard time forgiving myself for.

We live in a loft on the second story. To take the girls potty, we go across the parking lot and to the grass where it slopes up. If I put our youngest, Prim, who is just 11 weeks old, down at the bottom of the grass, she gets distracted by the leaves and sticks on the asphalt and doesn’t bother to potty like she should.

So, in order to encourage her, I have to carry her up the slope where there’s plenty of room for pottying.

She woke me up with her pathetic whimpering a half hour before the alarm was supposed to go off this morning. This isn’t new – in fact, this is a major improvement. I got home from work late last night, so it was extra hard to get up with her.

So I walked her down the stairs and across the parking lot, and in good faith, placed her on the curb at the base of the grass slope. Of course, she hopped down onto the street and starts licking a bug.

Sigh.

So I picked her up and began my weak climb up the slope with her in my arms. Now, there’s a specific way to go up, and that’s off to the side where there are rocks to step on. But I didn’t have the energy to take the eight steps out of the way. So I started climbing straight up. And, I guess the grass was wet with dew.

You remember Dopey in Snow White and the Seven Dwarves? That scene where’s he’s wrestling with the soap while the other six are preparing to wash in the tub? And just when he gets ahold of the soap, he marches forward and steps on his robe and the soap pops out of his hands… well, there was a patch of mud that I didn’t see, and as soon as I stepped on it, I fell face-forward and Prim goes *pop* right out of my hands.

I’ll spare the details of her terrified response. It broke my heart. Here she is, completely dependent on me for stable support and safety, and I go and make a stupid mishap like this and put her in harm’s way. (Falls are especially dreadful for dachshunds because of their sensitive backs.) While I was comforting her, I kept reminding myself of all the parents I’ve known who claimed to drop their babies on their heads. But then when I recalled how most of those babies turned out (my high school friends), I freaked out even more.

Then I got to thinking.

We’re in God’s hands every day. And I’m always thinking that He’s messing up or stuffing me in the bottom of His lint-filled robe pocket, or tossing me aside in His low-priority pile.

I mean, do you ever wonder if God is busy managing other galaxies or is easily distracted by shooting stars? Especially while teen girls are being held in torture basements, racism runs rampant, parents remain childless, and puppies get hurt…

Did God drop us? Has He forgotten us?

Sometimes, I wonder. But then, doesn’t that just spell out pride? Like, I know something that God doesn’t? Like I have some sort of insight into the world that He’s unaware of?

Who am I, then, to question God? Who am I to believe the lie that I’ve somehow slipped out of His hands? After all, I’m the one that’s flawed, the one that trips and slips – not Him.

Guess that’s what it means to have faith. After all, Prim still trusted me to carry her up the stairs. Maybe I could learn to do the same with God.

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

15 Responses to Out of God’s Hands

  1. Cheri L. says:

    I know exactly how you feel. Raising children is much the same. You try your best, but you turn your head for just an instant, or try to go up a steep, dew laden hill, and end up cursing yourself when the outcome is painful to those you love. The nice thing is that most of our mistakes, if we are really trying our best, as pet owners and parents, are minor and don’t produce lasting damage. Then again, sometimes they do. We just have to do our very best, with his help, strength and encouragement, to be as much like Christ as we can. And, cliche as it may sound, we have to forgive ourselves for the rest. God does, when we ask, and as you said, who are we to second guess Him?

    • I second that! Indeed we need to forgive ourselves, sometimes more difficult to do than to forgive another individual. And that’s 100% right, we are never out of HIS hands.

      Thank you for sharing yourself with us. :D

      Blessings,
      Dulcinea

  2. Mai says:

    We are God. We control our destinies. Do not feel as if you have no control of your life. You do.

  3. Reblogged this on Hodgepodge 4 the Soul and commented:
    A post which touched my heart and wanted to share it with all of you – a reminder that I needed to hear today. :)

  4. I know how you feel, but don’t beat yourself up, things just happen. I’ve learned the hard way after raising two girls, two dogs and two cats that things just happen in life. But I understand, because I still hold myself responsible when anything goes wrong when I’m on duty with my grandchildren. Animals use their sixth sense and understand things we can only hope to understand. Your precious puppy lives in the “now” and has forgotten what happened. You too need to do the same and just flow with life.

  5. OH wow … glad Prim is ok … and you too. :) Excellent reminder!!!

  6. Vickie says:

    Even when we think we are alone we are in HIS hands. Forgiveness is a funny thing as it is often easier to forgive others than ourselves.

  7. rflinchum says:

    Hmmmm…maybe I should quit trying to “wake” God up before the alarm goes off. My timing is probably not as perfect as His. Thanks for the post!

  8. Reblogged this on Trees Without Roots and commented:
    i really enjoyed this post.

  9. irishsignora says:

    My heart broke for you as I read this. I’m so very glad Prim is okay. Please forgive yourself as she, and Christ, have already forgiven you! Peace be with you – Kelly

  10. Try not to beat yourself up. You’re doing the best you can.

  11. Bina says:

    It really does feel like God is too busy for us sometimes, but then He goes and does something completely and totally unexpected (like opening up traffic when I’m almost late to work) and reminds us that He still can be trusted. I do think that our problems would disappear if we trusted him more.

  12. Bina says:

    Reblogged this on Harmony Engaged and commented:
    Nice thoughts to remind us that we are not alone in our struggles.

  13. Amen… we trip and slip and sometimes loose sight of God…. but God never, ever looses sight of us and even if we pop-out of His hand… He has another hand still holding us firm…always
    Great post…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,554 other followers

