God and Bigfoot

FINDING BIGFOOT

There’s this show on Animal Planet that Sarabeth and I get a kick out of every once in a while. In Finding Bigfoot, a ragtag team of amateur “scientists”, led by “Bobo” explore the United States in search of the legendary Bigfoot.

I put the word scientists in finger quotes because these guys really don’t use any scientific tools or methods to find his quiet creature. (And, according to the show, there are thousands upon thousands of “squaches” scattered throughout North America.) Instead of scientific methods, the team relies solely on estimations and hypotheticals.

For instance, in one episode, Bobo decides that squaches are attracted to the sound of crying infants. So they get a baby doll with a voice-box that plays the sound of a crying baby, and place it in the middle of the woods late at night while the team camps out and waits for the squatches to come rescue it.

When talking to “witnesses”, the team will attempt to recreate the alleged scenario by playacting what the witness saw on location. So if the witness says he was standing by the oak tree thirty yards away from his backdoor, they’ll have him stand exactly there, and then they’ll run across the glade or valley or road and attempt to walk and act just like a squatch might. They’ll even raise their hand in the air until the witness says, “Yup. That there’s about right. That’s ’bout how tall the feller was when I seen ‘im three yers ago. And he just picked an apple an’ ate it right off muh tree.”

It really is a humorous show, whether you subscribe to the existence of Bigfoot or not. Bobo has a saying that Sarabeth and I use quite frequently around the house: “I’m not a believer. I’m a knower.”

I wonder sometimes if we Christians seem as cooky to the world as these squelch hunters seem to us. I know the Bible says we entertain angels, but I wonder if our neighbors and unbelieving friends just look to us for laughs.

I get a lot of looks and stares from my coworkers when I decline their offer of a cigarette, or pass on a drink. Even my work ethic, because it’s centered around the Gospel leaves many of them scratching their heads in confusion.

And really, even though science points and yells and screams at the existence of God, our unbelieving friends have a hard time seeing beyond the great discoverers and inventions who take all the credit for the universe’s phenomenons.

And just like the squatch hunters, we’re left with an ancient Book and our own personal testimonies to convince people that, though they can’t see Him and He rarely shows up when He’s expected, God does in fact exist.

So Christians, you may be laughed at or mocked or spited, but don’t let that deter you from sharing your faith anyway. Live out the Gospel in everything you do. Show love, mercy, kindness, just as Jesus does.

And maybe – just maybe – our friends and family members will become believers – or “knowers”.

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

10 Responses to God and Bigfoot

  1. I love this post! What a great analogy…I even pictured you on a TV show! haha I also like that believers – knower comment.

    • I first thought of Joey’s misuse of that phrase, then your video. That’s my best bud of old, ladies and gentlemen! Subscribe to his channel and maybe he’ll make more videos.

  2. tistheczn says:

    Finger quotes immediately made me think of Joey. :) I was just talking with my boyfriend about how our Christianity is our worldview–we see everything through it and therefore, we live our lives as such. May it reflect what Nature already mirrors.

  3. mannyg777 says:

    I Peter 1:8-9 :)

  4. My husband and I love Finding Bigfoot! When we are out hiking or camping you can quite often hear us comment on how “squatchy” the area looks. Bobo is our favorite. I also like the connection you make. I am always hesitant to talk to others about the topic of angels, demons, or the Spirits movements. I guess event though I enjoy Bobo’s antics on TV, I really do not want people staring at me and judging my unbelievable stories the same way they look at the big foot hunters. There are plenty of Bobo’s, plenty of knowers out there, but there are also quite a few Ranae’s out there doubting.

  5. Justice Sisters says:

    You made me laugh, thank you for that. When I need a good laugh my husband and I will have to try watching Bigfoot Finders. I love the way you right, thanks for sharing.

  6. shlehora says:

    Luv, luv, luv! I also blogged about ‘Bigfoot’ a while back.
    Good job!

  7. white tiger says:

    those like goliath had not been all killed off as God instructed, but eventually were driven to the high mountains and deep secluded forests and swamps of the world

    their offspring are still around

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,178 other followers

