Growing Up

kids-growing-up-too-fast

Hollywood and the White House push a lot of ideas onto the culture, and the more the culture accepts them, the more liberalistic and popular those ideas become. One major theme running rampant through Hollywood right now is this theme – this idea – to not grow up.

Adam Sandler and his band of sidekicks have helped make the typical thirty-year-old male a victim of life’s realities and responsibilities. I was shocked to see that Grown Ups 2 got the green-light and is now coming out in theaters for a nationwide release. (It’s predecessor received only a 9% approval rating on rottentomatoes. I’ve never seen it, nor do I plan on seeing the sequel… I heard enough fart jokes on the playground to last me while.)

Amongst other movies, another one coming out is about a 29-year-old woman who decides to quit her job and move back in with her parents to relive her youth, shedding the responsibilities of her life.

The government also bows to the yearnings of the youth and the youth-minded, capitalizing and promoting popular themes such as sexual “freedom”, legalization of marijuana, allowing grown men and women to remain on their parents’ health insurance, entitlement. After all, these are the next generation of voters, so the ice cream samples must keep coming, right?

I got in the car the other day and a woman was sitting in the car next to me with her kids and she was blaring 50 Cent from the radio (or someone, I don’t know). She couldn’t grow up enough to play child-friendly music for her kids. You don’t have to look very hard to see parents neglecting their kids in public while they text or play games on their phones.

This generation suffers from an arrested development. I don’t mean the TV show, although I think many people are just as dense and self-centered as those characters. We’ve traded in responsibility and life for meaningless pleasures and selfish gains.

The finger is pointed at me as well. Just the other day I was having a conversation about what movies I can’t wait to show our kids. That seems innocent, but at the heart, it’s a selfish mindset. Next, I’ll be planning out their careers and choosing their colleges. It’s what want.

In what ways can we swim against the current and act in more grown-up ways so that we stand out to our neighbors and co-workers? How can we be more responsible? With the words you choose to use? Your attitude toward bad situations?

Mark my words – the ideas that the culture is embracing will pull us down a drain that dumps us in a nation filled with pot heads, sex addicts, and gluttons, if we’re not there already. I believe wholeheartedly that a zombie apocalypse is coming. But not like The Walking Dead. You can see the early signs of it, can’t you? Tuned-out “gamers” (because of Super Mario Wii, I have been found guilty of this), stoners, tweet-fanatics, facebook junkies, etc.

I’m not sure exactly what I’m saying here. I guess there’s a lot of things that can come into play. Like how we as a people are not motivated to achieve, dream, imagine. We’re simply just a bunch of kids waiting for the next best toy to come around – you know, something else to distract us from life.

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

5 Responses to Growing Up

  1. Great points! One thing that I find difficult as a young adult growing up is figuring out how to blend being a childlike follower of Christ but a mature woman of God in this world. Sometimes children are actually more mature than adults. For example, the trend of not wanting to grow up has little to do with innocent childlike trust, joy, and love. It is rather sad.

  2. I was just thinking today how our culture has embraced so much meaningless entertainment and has made the pursuit of it the goal of Life. Meanwhile we have turned productivity and accomplishment into dirty words. Thanks for clarifying what I was already thinking.

    • “Dirty words.” You’re right, Joseph. We’re getting to the point where achievements and accomplishments are almost frowned upon. It’s very sad indeed.

  3. Did I detect just a pinch of sarcasm in there? I’ll go a step further… movies and TV shows showing extremely advanced monitoring and access to every type of personal information at a keyboard’s distance away is actually showing us what government is planning or already doing. When we find out and complain, the answer would be “that’s just a movie”,… is it Mr. Snowden?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,026 other followers

