Moving Forward

NO LIMITS SIGN BLOG_0Post Christmas blues. December 26th – the most depressing day of the year. I’m sure Ebenezer Scrooge once had this day marked on his calendar with smiley faces and highlights while the rest of the world cried boo-hoo-hoo like the Grinch wanted to hear from Whoville.

The wrapping paper is torn and thrown out, the Christmas cookies are half eaten, the sink is piled up with dirty dishes, work starts back up, and reality sets back in. Through the magic and joy of Christmas, the Curse sets back in and reminds us of our daily duties and responsibilities and the grudges and burdens we carried on December 23rd set themselves back upon our shoulders, causing us to mope and drag our feet with breaking backs.

Last night, as Christmas came to a dreadful close, I made a couple of promises as to how next Christmas will be better than this year. And I perked up a bit because I have an entire 365 days stretched out before me to ensure that I accomplish what needs to be done to make Christmas 2013 a year for Sarabeth to remember for the rest of her life.

It was hard, I admit, celebrating another Christmas without a baby giggling in a crib. But if God allows it, those sounds will ring through our house next Christmas morning, and God will provide a way for us to pursue our foster-to-adopt goals.

Some of you know that we have been keeping Sarabeth’s sister’s two dachshunds for the last fourteen months or so, as she and her husband are over-seas as missionaries. They’ll be back next year, which we’re SO excited for, but they’ll be taking Rox and Syd back. So, not only do I pray we have a baby in the house, but we’ll also have a new puppy.

So 2013, as I have it set in my heart, will be a really great year. Now, maybe relatives will die, and disasters will strike and finances might deplete. We can still rest at peace if we are daily walking with the Lord, because we know that whatever happens this coming year, God has already got it written out, and has permitted to happen.

And everything that happened this past year happened because God allowed it. Maybe you had a bad year, and there are things you want to do differently in 2013. If you’re like me, you’re wondering if you should bother making New Years resolutions. Well, here’s a rule I generally go by. If you keep thinking you ought to make a resolution, that means you probably need to make that resolution, no matter what time of year it is.

Resolutions aren’t something you decide you want to make and live by. They’re generally something you need to make. But make them while looking forward. If you had a bad year – maybe you fell into some nasty habits, or you strayed from your relationship with Jesus, or you haven’t been running from anger or selfishness, or you have been denying your calling – then commit to making this very moment in exactly one year from now, one where you look back and can say, “Some things happened that were out of my control, but overall, I’m more refined by God because I allowed Him to do a work in me that needed to be done.”

Wouldn’t that be beautiful? Wouldn’t that be a great moment? I should say that that would definitely make up for the Christmas blues!

Or maybe you had a great year. Then I still say, make next year even better. How can you be more loving to your family? How can you spend more time with the Lord? How can you be more kind to others?

“But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 3:13-14

[Image Credit]

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

9 Responses to Moving Forward

  1. minisculegiants says:

    This was one of the merriest Christmases I’ve ever had, but I still feel the need to make things better for next year, too. Last night I set two very personal goals that I can get done in a few minutes every day. My plan is to do them every day (starting last night) until next Christmas Eve, re-evaluate my progress and present that as a sort of gift to my Creator. I think lots of people do this, so it’s not that unique–but still. I know what you mean about wanting to make every year better.

  2. Amen, there’s nothing wrong with making a resolution to spend more time with The Lord and/or family! Great post!

  3. Pingback: 5 Tips for Making New Year’s Resolutions « adoptingjames

  4. Thanks for the follow! I love this post (actually quite a few I’ve read). Obviously since you’ve been to my blog you know this definitely hits home for me as well. Looking forward to a better Christmas, and a better year :-) I also wanted to mention, I read you are trying to foster-adopt. My husband and I did this as well after struggling for 8 years to have another child – in fact December 2011 was our finalization on a sibling group of 3 (we also have a biological daughter who is 15). I will be praying for you and your wife, that 2013 bestows upon you the blessing of parenthood as well! I know I am a little late on the book challenge (I hope you did well!) – but I have purchased the Kindle edition of your book as well, look forward to reading it!

    • Nope – not late on the book challenge. I will always be happy to have more people purchase and read it, and I truly hope you love it. I’d love to hear more of your adoption story. If you would be interested in sharing it, could you write me at adoptingjames@aol.com? Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,327 other followers

