Journey with Bilbo

hobbit-bilbo-baggins-home-610x428I’m not sure if it was my love for Shire music, hobbits, Tolkien-ish themes, semi-theology-based storytelling, or all of these combined, but The Hobbit took me for an emotional ride that I was not prepared for. It could also have been that seeing it in the wake of the Sandy Hook massacre made it so wonderful and glorious to see good triumphing over evil time and again throughout the movie.

Sarabeth and I were fortunate enough to have my publisher treat us to a 3d viewing of Peter Jackson’s latest masterpiece – and it did not fail to deliver in every way that Peter Jackson typically does.

But, as most movies do, it got me thinking. It got me thinking about my own journey and unwillingness to oblige my calling. Gandalf the Grey shows up unannounced to young Bilbo’s “hole in the ground,” and after he has been asked to join up with the several dwarves who have invaded his home, and he declines, Gandalf says, “Since when did you start caring more about doilies and dishes than about love for adventure?” ( last part paraphrased).

I feel like the Holy Spirit asks me that on a regular bases. At what point did I trade sleeping in for morning devotions? When did I start caring more about catching up on the latest episodes of The Office than engaging my wife? When did having a whole pizza pie to myself become more appealing than throwing a pizza party – just for the heck of it?

Want to know a secret? If money were no issue, and I were given a chance to go to France for a year, I would be hesitant, because I wouldn’t want to leave behind my DVD player, my bookshelves, and Mexican food. Don’t get me wrong! If you feel it in your heart to send Sarabeth and me some plane tickets to travel overseas, you would not be turned down (hint, hint)!

But still, that hesitancy would linger. I’ve grown accustomed to my comforts, and at times (most times) I worship them. It’s easy to lay in bed and dream about exciting scenarios where I fight off armed robbers, offer the last morsel of food to someone else in an apocalyptic setting, travel the world to spread the Good News like some unstoppable Super Christian…

But I still wake up the next morning, turn on the space heater, read a chapter of a book, jot down notes for things to do that day, write my blog post, wake Sarabeth up, feed the dogs, turn on Fox and Friends, and get to work.

But if God called me overseas, would I go? Sarabeth and I have talked about how we would love the opportunity to smuggle children out of trafficking networks and set up orphanages… but we’re still here, in Louisville, KY. Writing blog posts and going to the movies and making grocery lists.

There’s nothing wrong with any of that. I understand mortgages must be paid, children have to be provided for, and toilets need to be fixed. But the question is, if God were to ask you, would you be willing? Would you be ready? Or would you fight it, and waste years of your life fighting something you’re only destined to give in to in the end anyway?

Life is supposed to be an unexpected journey. But we set everything in place to prevent it from being so. “It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door…” You wonder: will you come back? Maybe not. “But if you do, you won’t be the same.”

At least take a look outside to see if God is standing there, knocking, waiting, calling.

And answer.

Please help us get one step closer to adopting a child, and purchase a copy of my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box.

[Image Credit]

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

10 Responses to Journey with Bilbo

  1. Virginia says:

    Sometimes, the challenge is being ‘available’ for unexpected journeys (say, like just going across to the shady part of town, or being pushed out of our comfortable routine zones…) ‘Tis grand to serve God overseas, but as Oswald Chambers once said, you can’t do something where you’re not, that you’re not doing where you are. (slight memory paraphrase!)

    As a long time Tolkien groupie (reading LOTR 1/yr every yr since 8th grade!) i can’t wait to see The Hobbit!! Thanks for this review -

    grace, peace & unexpected journeys – Virginia : )

  2. But but but… isn’t it Bilbo? and not Biblo? hmm

  3. Jane Sadek says:

    God calls all of us to different jobs. I remember as a teen that I wanted to get called to the mission field. Friends of mine were doing that and receiving multiple accolades, but try as I might, God wouldn’t give me a green light. That’s because my mission field was here – in offices, waiting rooms and hotel lobbies. I’m not one of those folks that carry around tracts and witness to everything moving, but God brings folks to me – frustrated people, hurting people, angry people – and I just happen to be there when their world falls apart. Then I find myself quoting them Scripture I didn’t know that I knew and sharing parts of my life that I thought I’d probably keep secret – until I found myself sharing it with a stranger.

    Our God knows us – the good and the bad. Now that I’m old enough to know myself better, I think God knew that I had an issue with pride. If I could point to a specific ministry as my own or had the opportunity to count converts like notches on my Bible, I would have begun to think I had something to do with it. As it is, I’m just an anonymous sower of seeds. I pass through and I have no idea whether I cast my seeds on fertile soil or among rocks.

    Sometimes it’s lonely. I won’t be getting together with my ministry partners for a little Christmas party. They’ll never get up in church and talk about the successes of my ministry or throw me a little dinner. At least not on this side of heaven, but I’m betting when I do get to heaven it’s going to be pretty interesting.

  4. Pingback: My first award: Blog of the Year 2012 « prettywitgla33es

  5. Tolkein had a gift of inspiring readers by showing them that life is greater than they can imagine, and that their roles in life are no less great. I think that’s part of the timelessness of his works. On a more personal level, if I’ve learned anything in life so far it’s that we can never plan or anticipate what our next true adventure will be, or when it will present itself to us. Just being open to the possibilities (as you obviously are) is enough, because the most amazing journeys often start with steps we’ve taken a thousand times. Thanks much for sharing!

  6. Pingback: My Top 10 Favorite Movies: No. 3 | adoptingjames

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,325 other followers

