Last Minute Pep Talk to Writers

I have never met a person who said, “I don’t want to write a book before I die.” Truthfully, I’m sure some people feel that way – but I haven’t met them. Most people harbor a glistening imagination deep in the wellspring of their soul that they are just too afraid to expose. Today, on the eve of Halloween, the brink of NaNo, and on the cusp of the most imaginative and magical season of the year, I would like to dedicate our minds and attention to our inner child… or, our locked-up imaginations.

“Fun is closely related to Joy,” says C.S. Lewis, “-a sort of emotional froth arising from the play instinct … it promotes charity, courage, contentment…” (And I would like to take it one step further for this 21st century audience and add that Fun creates jobs.)

In light of this NaNo contest starting up in just two days, I want to encourage those of you who plan on participating to not be afraid to dive deep into your imagination, as silly as it may seem. When you think your imagination is so far away from mainstream entertainment think of J.M. Barrie who dared to have pirates and Indians coexist on the same star-inhabited island. Think like him, and allow yourself to become inspired by the things that surround you. (And if you don’t know what I’m talking about, cancel your plans for this evening and rent Finding Neverland.)

Think of the guys at Pixar who dared to create a “children’s” movie about a senior citizen and a flying house. Be reassured by the words of Pete Docter, the co-writer and co-director of Up: “There were times when we thought to ourselves, ‘An old man in a floating house? With a Wilderness Explorer and a talking dog? What are we thinking? Who’s going to connect with this?’”

When you start to panic about writing your story, think: A secret world found in a wardrobe… A magical chocolate factory… A cowardly lion and a brainless scarecrow… a man who climbs inside a box (see what I did there?)… these are all really weird concepts. But they work! And yours can too!

As you write, don’t worry about whether people will like it or not. Write because it’s something you want to read. Because, truthfully, you’re not that different from other people. You like the same stories everyone else likes. So, who’s to say your own stories won’t be received well by others?

[Image Credit]

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

10 Responses to Last Minute Pep Talk to Writers

  1. Jane Sadek says:

    I’m laughing at myself, because I had Anthony Hopkins in my head quoting C.S. Lewis and Mr. Depp showed up for Mr. Barrie. I have to wonder if movies have expanded or limited imaginations.

  2. Gave me the confidence to keep writing!

  3. Pingback: Before you tame the NaNoWriMo dragon. | Misadventures of a Would-Be Writer

  4. grannyK says:

    I checked out what NaNo is and I applaud the brave ones doing this! I am too much of a coward to try it, I admit it. Love this post and it is inspiring!

  5. gavinhunter says:

    I have been dithering about aimlessly for the last few months, fear of the great ‘What if’ holding me back. Now, freshly armed with your words and clad in the shinning armour of determination, I will once more sally forth, climbing over the top, to do battle with all my foes,
    Apathy, Fear and Lethargy! What a despicable bunch they are.
    I shall fight them on the sea of my own discontent and claim not one but two prizes from my opponents broken remains, I shall have my book and my game finished!
    Thank you again.

  6. I need pep talks just about every day to keep myself from getting discouraged as a writer, so thanks for this!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,184 other followers

