Last Minute Jitters [or] What Will You Be Writing?

Last week I posted about NaNo. I said I was going to do it, and I will. But as you can see by the duel title of this message, I am growing very skeptical – or undecided – about what my subject matter should be.

I had it all figured out until last night. I was going to write a Christmas story that I’ve had planned for the last seven years, but I realized I’m just not ready for it yet. It’s a precious story to me that I don’t want to be rushed.

Then I started thinking about what people have been saying about my book The Man in the Box (coming out Nov. 30th). And it seems I’ve established myself as a suspense/adventure writer. Now granted, my next book is nowhere near said genre (Scroll down here for synopsis), but I wouldn’t want to disappoint fans of the book by deviating from suspense for too long – hence, keeping people in suspense…

Anyway, all that to say, I thought I had my book for this NaNo writer’s contest all figured out. But clearly, I don’t. I’m writing this as an encouragement to those of you who find themselves in the same boat as me. You’re not alone. And (I hope) I’m not alone.

When it comes to stories and books, I don’t want to just wing it. I want to deliver the best plot, the best characters, I possibly can. And I hope you’re the same way. I hope there aren’t many people entering this contest just to write a book, without having any concept of what they want to write. (How many times have you seen an awful movie and wondered, “Did they just make this because they were bored?”) No, I hope you go into November with a clear reason as to why you’re writing a book, and with some concept of what it will be about.

Because if you just start writing something without having any idea where it’s going or why you’re writing it, then it’s very likely you’re going to give up, and you’ll kick yourself and eat a lot of ice cream and you won’t be in any shape to eat a hearty Thanksgiving dinner… hmmm, I think I see why this contest is held in November…

I’m not there yet. But I have four days to get there. And so do you. And remember (as soon as I figure out how) I’m going to have a link somewhere on this blog for you to post your developing stories for all to see. So, stay encouraged, get prepared, and be ready to write the best book you possibly can. NaNo starts November 1st.

[Image Credit]

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

9 Responses to Last Minute Jitters [or] What Will You Be Writing?

  1. I am having the same problem… thought I had all sorts of ideas… then I realized, I suck at writing fiction :P I have my account set up with no novel filled in… 4 days eh? Thanks for the reminder ;)

  2. Good luck with your book and I hope you shake your jitters soon!

  3. Benedicte says:

    I’m hoping to NaNo next year. I did a few years ago, my first real experience of writing, and I started with the bare bones of an idea. To some extent I did wing it, but what I found really surprised me. The ability of a story to take on a life of its own, for characters to lead the way was exciting. And I don’t think I’d have been able to let go, to allow that story to take its own life in its hand if I had planned it more, and if I hadn’t had that 30 day deadline. It was an experiment, an adventure… Next time, I may well be more planned and prepared to start with, but I love the idea that despite my best laid plans, my characters will take me by the hand and show me their story…

    • That’s awesome! Actually, that’s why I’m doing NaNo this year, is to see just how much preparation is important, or if winging it can bring about glorious results. I really don’t know what I’m going to find by the end of November.

      • Benedicte says:

        Enjoy the ride!! I’m a control freak in an out of control life, and learning to go with it… oh the joy of “growing”!. But the ride of NaNo was wonderful, scary, brilliant and dreadful all at once… probably why I haven’t had the courage and energy to go there again – but I’m hoping for next year!

  4. valmcneill13 says:

    I’ve done NaNo the last three years (only successful last year) and I’m looking forward to doing it again. I’m not the best at story telling though, in fact I just lack the attention span to keep myself writing, let alone keep myself writing something that will keep others involved. I’m sticking to what I know, things me (or others) are afraid of, and some shorter what-if stories to go along with them. I’ve found with this blasted rush of NaNo you’ve got to have a good plan, or an assload of material to work with. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,554 other followers

