How We Celebrate Halloween

Halloween is just a week away. In our house, we don’t celebrate it with bats and monsters and sugar-rushes (okay, maybe we get our sugar-rush). But because we don’t advocate for celebrating death and The Fall in general (for that’s what Halloween is essentially celebrating), we gather around the TV and watch It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown  and Luther (rated PG-13 for very brief disturbing images of violence). 

No, I’m not talking about Martin Luther King Jr. (as I thought the Southern Baptist community was referring to for months when I first joined). Martin Luther is best known for exposing the sins and lies of the Roman Catholic Church, thus spearheading the Reformation. He denounced the Catholic adage, “Scripture Alone” as the Catholic’s belief in saving faith and took up in its stead, the rally cry, “Faith Alone” (Sola Fide).

For those of you unfamiliar with Martin Luther’s story, trust me when I say that you are much deprived (as I was for most of my life). He is one of my biggest historical heros, and I wish so much that I could have the faith and conviction he had. The book I’m about to recommend below truly is one of the most fascinating, entertaining reads I’ve come across in the last several years.

The reformation took place in the sixteenth century, and the reason we celebrate Martin Luther on Halloween is because it was on October 31, 1517 that he nailed the famed 95 theses to a church door in Wittenburg, Germany, thus sparking the Protestant Reformation.

So for Halloween this year (or, Reformation Day), do as the Toys do and shake things up a bit. Stay in, get your Snoopy on, bake some candy corn cookies  like Sarabeth does, rent Lutherand by all means, put Here I Stand by Roland Bainton on your Christmas list! It truly is the best Christian biography I have ever read, next to Born Again by the late Charles Colson.

Get your copy here

[Image Credit]

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

10 Responses to How We Celebrate Halloween

  1. ariesgrl23 says:

    In our house, it is officially Halloween when the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown and the others are on television. It is our tradition.
    Even though I am familiar with Martin Luther’s story, I have never seen the movie. Wishing you a Happy Halloween!
    ~Ariesgrl

  2. The high school girl I mentor just wrote a paper about Luther. I feel like I should know more about him. After reading this article, I’m adding it his biography to my reading list :)

    • You will not be disappointed. I know there are lots of versions of his biography, but take my word for it – and the overwhelming amount of reviews – that this book by Bainton is the best you’ll get your hands on. It’s entertaining and even very funny at some parts! Happy learning!

  3. kindism says:

    I’ve been to the church where Luther nailed his 95 theses, and a museum which houses relics of his day. I think he’d be disappointed with how his legacy has been handled: his monk’s habit is enclosed in a glass box elevated on a pedestal (he was a rather short fat man), there was paintings and statues of him everywhere and a little indulgence box. He preached against relics and indulgences and yet here is an entire museum dedicated him and his stuff.

    I happen to have the movie Luther on DVD, it is a favorite of mine as well, however, they’re being generous with their portrayal of history. Luther wasn’t that cute!

  4. jetr1 says:

    I too am not a fan of Halloween, I stopped by candy a long time ago. i just don’t celebrate and my children follow the practice. Thanks for the post.

  5. hatthapp says:

    Oooh, I love “Born Again.” I have a friend who’s hosting a Reformation Day party, but I don’t think I am going to be able to swing it, with the NaNo kick-off and my daughter’s birthday on the 2nd! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,322 other followers

