“Stop Nagging Me, Dreams!”

I am sure many of you have seen the Disney movie The Rookie, starring Dennis Quaid. If not, stop reading this post, get on over to Netflix and order it. After you watch it, you really ought to read the book, because it tells the story of Jimmy Morris’s life preceding the events in the movie (read a post about the movie here). He wasn’t always as gentle as Quaid portrays him, though he does a great job reenacting his personality and easy-going demeanor. And it wasn’t as easy to get to play in the big leagues as only a two hour film can fit. The movie only hints at the fact that Jimmy Morris had wanted to play baseball since he was a kid – try three years old! It took him thirty-two years to accomplish his dream and pitch in the major leagues before thousands of people.

I’ve only heard of few stories where the dream achieved was an easy road. Are you on that road? Is it bumpier than you expected it to be? Has it taken many detours and wound more mountains that you thought existed? If so, you’re in good company – planet earth! The world is filled with dreamers and wannabe achievers. We’re all trying to accomplish goals in our lives. Some of us are just trying to make it through the next work week without getting fired (or giving up), and others are trying to pluck away at the childhood dream we’ve had since we were kids that just won’t let us alone no matter how hard we try to ignore it.

I’m one of those people. Ever since I was old enough to breathe on my own, I have wanted to tell stories. If I had any possible way of telling a story, I would. I used to sit in my room for hours and record myself on a cassette player narrating, voice-acting, and even humming the music to my stories. I must have filled up dozens of tapes with silly ramblings and disjointed plots that only a nine-year old could come up with. Then I decided I liked to draw, so I would constantly be making comic books for my friends to read, about forest animals getting into all sorts of adventures (one of them was up to 300 pages long). When my friends grew out of reading comics, I then started making movies, and including them in the fun. I’d spend days plotting out a new story for us to act out in front of the camera, and I’d revel in putting together premier nights at our church for people to gather and watch our newest movies.

After school I drifted from all of that, and decided that was all just a dream – wanting to be a movie director or a famous cartoonist… but as I wound my way through life, I found out that I couldn’t stop writing. I would write stories and plays and little devotionals (yes, I’ve even tried my hand out in poetry for a brief stint). At the heart of who I am, what I want to be, is a storyteller. So much so that it’s gotten me in trouble, as I have been prone to excessive lying or exaggerating, something that I’m still trying to overcome.

I’m constantly studying moving films and popular fiction to find out what makes those stories come to life. My poor wife patiently endures my ramblings after we watch a movie together as I dissect its contents, pondering aloud how and why I was so moved, or what made it come to life.

Jimmy Morris, the author of his autobiography, hardly ever thought about anything else but baseball, even when he tried not to think about it. What is your dream? What is that one thing that has followed you from childhood that just keeps nagging you, nagging you, nagging you? Maybe it’s nagging you for a reason. Maybe you should give it a shot, and go for it. Small steps to start off with, of course, you know, just get your toes wet and see what happens.

Three years ago I dipped my foot in the uncertain waters of dreams and I ended up writing my first novel. I didn’t even have a guarantee that it would be published. Yet, now it is going to be, and it should be released by the end of this year. Another dream of mine (and Sarabeth’s) is that we have wanted to adopt a child for quite a while. This is another place where we are just testing the waters, but know we need to jump in and trust God to watch over us (and our prospective kid). We’re hoping that some of the proceeds of my book will go toward our adoption. I’m writing my second novel right now, in case this one falls through. But hopefully it won’t.

If you like biographical dramas, read and watch The Rookie. It will inspire you to go after your dreams, as foolish as it may sound. If you like pulse-pounding, adrenaline-pumping adventure, follow my book, The Man in the Box, on facebook, and watch for updates. I’ve been posting segments online for those who might be interested in purchasing it when it comes out.

[Image Credit]

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

9 Responses to “Stop Nagging Me, Dreams!”

  1. johnedoe says:

    have you posted any pics of your artwork????? if no, will you???????

  2. dianeroark says:

    You are right nothing comes easy in life at least for me. It takes a lot of hard work which is exactly what you must be doing on your blog and writing a novel. WOW! We love the movie The Rookie. He had to give up a lot of time away from his family to follow his dream. It was his passion or dream because it was all he could think about. When God places something on our hearts, it maybe difficult but you will not stop thinking about it and trying to accomplish it. To everyone who has a nagging dream, GO FOR IT! Blessings, Diane http://www.recipesforourdailybread.com

  3. rainey says:

    “The Rookie” is one of my all-time favorite “feel good” movies! Congrats on the publishing of your 1st novel. Did you go with a publisher or self-publish? I will check it out on facebook!

  4. senatorbrett says:

    Love the movie… as a Texan and as someone who loved going to Durham Bulls games.

    Good luck with all you lay your hands to.

    http://www.senatorbrett.wordpress.com

  5. cindyhfrench says:

    I would tell you that if have gone to the Lord as I did with what you want a child and you’ve asked him him for an answer, you should expect one. OUR GOD is a gentleman,if nothing else, but really we KNOW H e is so much more.
    What have you done to act on this desire to have a child?
    Certainly you would be right to check out the ways open to you, our friends all knew of our desire to adopt a child.
    So go do that! You might discover your child right there waitingcde

  6. ianforyou says:

    semiotic roland barthes.. :D

  7. Pingback: Christmas Wish List Part 3 « adoptingjames

  8. Pingback: The Best Book I’ve Ever Read is… | adoptingjames

  9. Pingback: From the Big Leagues to the Big Screen: The Story of Jim Morris | adoptingjames

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,186 other followers

