Go After Your Dreams

There are few movies that I want to go back and re-watch as soon as the end credits roll. Disney’s overlooked sports drama, The Rookie is one of them. It followed in the wake of the tremendously popular Remember the Titans. After years of the Magic Studio producing forgettable comedies, they finally regained their composure and began a short-lived line of sport dramas.

The Rookie is based off of a true story staring Dennis Quaid who plays aspiring major league pitcher, Jim Morris. After years of moving from state to state because of his dad’s frequent military reassignments, he lands in a little town in Texas where he settles down and takes a job as a science teacher. He is forced to give up his dream of pitching when he injures his shoulder, but when the high school baseball team asks him to pitch for practice, he discovers that he still has a tremendous gift for throwing fast balls – 98 miles per hour to be exact. There are only a handful of people that are born that can throw that fast. So after much debate and wrestling, he decided to try out for the major leagues. He gets drafted, and spends four months on the road as a AAA ball player, waiting for his big break, thinking it will never come.

Folks, I’ve spent the last three and a half years playing in my own AAA league, thinking I wasn’t getting anywhere. My minor league hell had nothing to do with baseball. Instead, I had written a book that grew to be very dear to my heart, and had been shopping it around to agents and publishers for years, only to be faced with over 300 rejections. But a couple of weeks ago, a contract came in the mail and I signed on with a publisher to publish The Man in the Box. Our journey to adopt James is now underway! This is all part of the plan. The funds for my book will help go to our adoption. Now, it could be that it doesn’t do very well, and it won’t be until my next book that we’ll see fruit, but I’m pushing hard for this one.

Any faithful readers of this blog will be doing us a favor by liking The Man in the Box on Facebook. I will be building the page and other promotional tactics the closer we get to its release date, exposing the plot one bit at a time. I am very exited about this book, because I feel like it really pulls in people from all walks of life who are just struggling with making it to the next day, wishing for an escape. Or maybe you’re married to someone who has grown distant and has lost his or her passion for life. If that’s you, you’ll want to keep your eye on this book and be watching for updates on its release. Also, I haven’t forgotten those who prefer fast-paced, pulse-pounding suspense – this book has it.

I look up to people like Jim Morris, who not only took a risk at achieving what he wanted, but he swam through the murky waters of AAA and false hopes and small crowds. Of course, he found himself on the pitchers mound in his Texas hometown surrounded by a packed audience, and struck out the first batter he was up against.

Maybe life has let you down. Maybe you’ve given up on your dreams. If so, take heart, that dreams do come true, but you’ve got to work hard. I mean, really, really hard. Eliminate what’s getting in your way. Include your family in your dream. Talk about it, laugh about it, cry about it. But don’t, for the love of your God-given passions, burry them and pretend that you’re happy with where you’re at in life. God did not make life to be some terrible burden to bear – we did, in the Fall. It is our sin that keeps us from having the enjoyment God offers us in life. Reach into your heart and discover what it is you really want, keep your family close, and together go after it with zeal and passion. Maybe someday you’ll receive a contract in the mail, or a call-up out of the minors and you’ll get your chance to pitch your 98 where it really counts.

 [Image Credit]

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

10 Responses to Go After Your Dreams

  1. James Stratton says:

    I will like your book on fb. I look forward to reading it. Thanks for the blog!

  2. Chrystal says:

    I “liked” on FB! Looking forward to reading more about it.Good luck with ALL your dreams!

  3. Nice post. Thanks for visiting fmpoetry, and good luck with the book. Cheers.

  4. Just liked your page on facebook. If you could do the same for the Greenygrey (www.facebook.com/pages/Greenygrey), a true underdog werewolf, it’d be appreciated.

  5. Lynne says:

    I will also like it on “FB.” Congrats and God bless! :-)

  6. davidbgoode says:

    Can’t Facebook at work (but WordPress is ok?), but will as soon as I get home. Honestly… I could use some inspiration. So far as movies go, I always go back to the Muppet Movie when I need a little push to chase the dream.

  7. deshipley says:

    Congratulations!!!

  8. - says:

    Well said, very inspirational. And, congrats!

  9. btg5885 says:

    Thanks for highlighting this movie, which is one of my favorites. I get teary eyed when he tells his son he made the majors and asks his wife to bring the sports coat to Arlington. Giving the game ball to his estranged Dad is touching as well. Life is too short not to pursue what you love to do and are good at. Malcolm Gladwell in “Outliers” talks about successful people realizing when opportunity is presented and seizing it. Jim Morris and his wife said this is an opportunity and we should seize it.

  10. Pingback: “Stop Nagging Me, Dreams!” « adoptingjames

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,184 other followers

