Summer Books for Your Kids (Part 1)

I consider myself a treasure-hunter. Part of that means storing up treasures for my kids to inherit in the future. This is one of the reasons why I watch so many animated films and read children’s books on occasion. Buried somewhere under all the Harry Potter and Captain Underpants influenza is a Tuck Everlasting , or a Charlotte’s Web. Stories that last for more than the 192 pages printed within the covers. Stories that stick with you forever in some way or another …are treasures. Here are some finds I have come across over the years that you can feel safe having your kids read, or that you can read to them, no matter how young they are.

Special Note: I have listed the following books on the right of this page. If you purchase any through those links you’d be supporting our sponsor and helping us reach our goal with adopting James.

101 Dalmatians by Dodie Smith

Sarabeth and I read this a few years back and still consider it one of the best fictions we’ve come across. This book is a milestone of children’s literature. It is just as engaging for adults as it is for kids. Talking dogs handling real-life problems. It’s a great ride, even if you’ve seen the old movies. There are still plenty of surprises to keep you and your kids on the edge of your seat.

 

 

The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

I’ve never had so much fun giving my brain a workout. This is a highly imaginative book for kids who might be turned off by the girl heroine in Alice in Wonderland. If memory serves correctly, it was the first full-length novel I ever read, and I liked it so much I returned to it as an adult, and had just as much fun. And yes, to those of you wondering, this is the book they rave about in the show Parks and Recreation.

 

 

Peter and the Starcatchers trilogy by Ridley Pearson and Dave Barry

Ever wonder how Peter Pan became Peter Pan? Find out in this adventure book loaded with short chapters and lots of pictures. This would make a good movie. There are four in the series, but I’d say the first and second are the two worth reading. And no, the author is not related to J.M. Barrie.

 

 

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Talk about pure gold. While your boys are immersed in Neverland adventures, pull out this classic treasure for your girls. Even as an adult I find these books to be among some of the greatest children’s literature of our day. It’s yet another book about an orphan who is reluctantly taken in by the Cuthberts, and how she changes their lives and the world of Avonlea for the better.

 

Check back next week for more books you and your kids will enjoy. Tomorrow: Are your eyes fixed on Heaven?

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

5 Responses to Summer Books for Your Kids (Part 1)

  1. justturnright says:

    Excellent suggestions!!!

    There are many, many books that fit this bill, but one in particular would be ‘Gone-Away Lake’ by Enright.
    That story had my two boys hypnotized, two summers in a row (yes, they asked for it again the 2nd year).

  2. Ray Dawson says:

    I agree. There are quite a few books coming out, especially in the YA genre that are disheartening to say the least. One of the ones that I would read at night, when I was supposed to be sleeping, was ‘The Fledgeling’ by Jane Langton.

  3. your selection of books sound quite enjoyable. you mentioned Charlotte’s Web. my favorite along with Stuart Little when i was a child. i’d like to add – good luck in your adoption. i hope it goes successfully. thank you for following me.

  4. deshipley says:

    L.M. Montgomery has been one of my favorite authors; even more so than Anne’s books, I really loved “The Story Girl” and its sequel, “The Golden Road”, as well as other of her titles. (“The Blue Castle” was a lovely romance for adults.)
    “Peter and the Starcatchers” is a great one, as well. I didn’t read it until I was in my latter teens, but I truly enjoyed it.
    I picked up my beloved copy of Howard Pyle’s “The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood” in the kids’ section, too. Very much old-fashioned, but a jolly romp through Sherwood nonetheless. (:

  5. I taught The Phantom Tollbooth every year to my 4th graders! We LOVED it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,554 other followers

