In the Parking Lot of the Hospital

Adoption isn’t always a long drawn out process. This is the inaugural post Caroline and her husband Scott posted for their blog Four Adoptions. They are one of two couples featured on this blog who work for Christian Adoption Consultants. It has been a long road, but they are now doing what they are doing because God planted in their hearts to assist adoptive couples in finding children who need a home and a loving family. Here is their story:

Adoption has always been a part of my [Caroline's] story. I was adopted from an orphanage in Colombia when I was just 2 weeks old. Even at a young age, I knew adoption was a big part of my life. I could not at the time imagine how constant the theme of adoption would be in my destiny.

When I met my husband in 2003, we would dream about what marriage and family would look like for us. One of the major themes that kept coming up was adoption. We decided we would have a few biological kids and then start adopting. Well, wouldn’t you know it, God had a different plan for us. In 2006, we began to try to conceive a child. After being told by a doctor we would probably need a little “help” to make that happen we reevaluated our options. I remember sitting in the parking lot of the hospital about to go in and get all kinds of fertility tests and thinking, “What am I doing here!?!” Although I believe there is absolutely nothing wrong with medical assistance when trying to conceive, I also knew that God was asking us to go a different way. So, I drove home from the appointments without going inside.

After lots of tears, and dragging our feet a bit, we decided we would adopt. However, we decided that we would wait a few years. My husband was in graduate school at the time, and I had a great job and we were just…well…comfortable. About a month later we went to a prayer event in our city. We heard a man speak on adoption and it moved our hearts. His main question to us was, “What are you waiting for!?” And we had to wrestle with that question, what were we waiting for? Finances? We would never have enough money. Timing? We would never have enough time. So, there was really no way around it, we should at least get our feet wet by getting our home study done.

In retrospect, God totally set us up! We decided to leisurely get our home study done and sign up with Christian Adoption Consultants. Little did we know, that the man we heard speak at the prayer event had a sister-in-law who would become our adoption consultant. She gave us a lot of wisdom and education through the really difficult and emotional process of domestic adoption. Unknowingly, because of Christian Adoption Consultants’ connections with several agencies, we ended up on the fast track to adoption! We finished our home study in July, were matched with a potential adoption situation at one of CAC’s agency connections by August, and our first son was born September 25th! Talk about a whirlwind. My husband ended up starting his second year of graduate school a week late so he could go and get his son! So much for our best laid plans!

It is now 3 years later and we just brought home our second son, with the assistance of Christian Adoption Consultants! We were on the waiting list of another agency and ended up going through a failed match.( Basically the young woman we were “matched” with changed her mind about her adoption plan when she gave birth to her son).  After this situation, we decided to sign back up with Christian Adoption Consultants instead of waiting on one agency’s list and we were matched within five days of signing up again! Two LONG months later, (waiting is hard!), we brought home our son. But three months after his birth, we have already finalized his adoption! We are committed to always having a home study ready in case there is a need. People ask how many children we want and we say we are just going to take them one at a time and we will see if they keep coming. The adoption journey is not easy. But it is a privilege.

After our last adoption, I felt a strong feeling that God was asking me to “dream” with him about helping others in our situation. I started thinking about how I could help couples walk through the process that we had been through. This brings my story to this blog, and my job with Christian Adoption Consultants. I can say without question, this is the most excited I have ever been about a job. I get filled with emotion when I think about being even a tiny part of connecting children and families with their destinies.

Thanks for being interested in our journey. Stay tuned for Brooke’s story…It is completely different from mine. But I think this represents how each adoption journey is completely different. And completely miraculous.

How great is our God to create such a beautiful institute as adoption? While people mope about all the evils in the world, God is moving people like Caroline and Scott and Brooke and Aaron to open their homes to children in need as a refuge from the evils of the world. Check out the rest of their blog here, and be encouraged and inspired to move your family toward adoption.

[Image Credit]

About adoptingjames
My lovely wife and I are foster parents, dog owners, home owners, and Christians. I am a blogger, book editor, and author. On my blog you'll read about adoption, faith topics, inspirational thoughts, and a whole lotta Disney/Pixar lovin'! For the most exciting read ever, check out my suspense/adventure novel, The Man in the Box. You. Will. Love it.

5 Responses to In the Parking Lot of the Hospital

  1. Thanks for sharing our story. Praying your family will draw near to God though your adoption process and experience His heart of adoption.

    One of our life verses is Romans 8:14-17

    “For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, these are sons of God. For you did not receive the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out, “Abba, Father.” The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ, if indeed we suffer with Him, that we may also be glorified together.:

  2. Thanks for sharing!! This is a great story. God is good!

  3. Both the person adopting and the adopted child are very lucky to have each other! God will always have his way to fill up our happiness in our lives. Thanks for posting!

  4. dearfriends says:

    Thanks for sharing. Attunement to your Spiritual path is a constant source of inner awareness and a gift to acknowledge. Blessings, Barb

  5. This post just really touched me. Thank you for following my blog so that I found yours. Anyway, I’d always hoped to adopt since I was adopted…but my situation was so difficult and has continued to be in many ways even though I’m 37, I can’t see it being part of God’s plan for us. I’m not a fan of open adoptions…It is so strange because when I was younger I just wanted to give at least 2 children with no one to call Mom and Dad a home, and knowing this isn’t God’s calling on our lives now, well, I am just crying tears of gratitude that there are people like you out there doing what some of us cannot. I’ve felt guilty at times, thinking all Christians should step up and adopt. I hope to reconcile this one day; if not, I’ll hope for a good word when I’m with the Lord forever. Happy Mother’s Day–

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,176 other followers

